We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights in Cold December” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Preston, Lancashire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“2 nights in Cold December”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were booked into this hotel by our agency for a short stay while traveling back from Lapland to the UK. It looked good on the website and so it proved. We had an 8th Floor room with a view across the rooftops to the Lutheran Cathedral. Couldn't be more central between the railway station and parliament Sq and just off the main shopping street. Spacious King Suite with the common European two beds together style and separate duvets. Comfortably warm despite deep snow outside, but bathroom although a wet room did not have heated floor. Wide choice of breakfasts and a relaxed atmosphere. Would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Highest floor has view across to Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    168
    86
    16
    5
See reviews for
51
77
45
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Second stay in as many months. this time was on the 5th floor and room away from the lift which was nice but much smaller room then last time.

Was ok but no bath and I really wanted a bath on night. Also couldn't get my room to warm up. it was the first couple of days that Finland had snow in winter so was snowing and very cold.

This time went to the restaurant in the hotel was ok for pub type food. next time I will try the Italian down the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siilinjarvi, Finland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

One of the many Sokos chain hotels. Sometimes they've been badly cleaned (poor cleaners asked to do their job in too little time) but this time my (allergy) room was spotless and the bathroom, too.

Wide variety of breakfast choices. Two (or 3?) restaurants in the house, and dozens in the vicinity as it's in the middle of the city center, close to the market palce, the university, the shops, mny museums and other points of interest.

Metro stop and tram stop close, railway station at walking distance.

Friendly staff.

The room was a bit cold.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I just spent 3 nights at Sokos Hotel Helsinki. I got room 410 facing inner courtyard, so there was not any view - just the opposite building about 10 meters away. But while the room lacked any view, it was very very very quiet on the other hand. So I got to sleep very well. My room was a double, but very small. There was a desk, and the bed - no armchair or anything. It was okay, as I was traveling alone. Bathroom was big enough with a shower. But there was no shelf to put your shampoo on while showering.
Breakfast (served at downstair restaurant Fransmanni) was standard Finnish, with good variety. Bacon was not served, however.
Check-in and out was fast, friendly and polite. Free wi-fi was working well and fast.
Best about this hotel is the location in the middle of the city, about 5 mins from main railways station. There is a Mcdonalds just opposite to the hotel.
I am glad to return, should I need a central place with good night sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for inner rooms for good sleep quality: no view but very quiet! Rooms 07, 09, 10 on each floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Busy busy day (Tuska Open Air Festival that weekend) but was able to get to check in an hour early as the luggage storage room was full and I wasn't comfortable leaving my luggage unattended. Location couldn't be better, within walking distance of Central Railroad Station, Stockmans and Lutheran Cathedral. Small room (I had a single) but perfect for 1 to 2 people, very well laid out with everything you need. Bed was beyond comfortable ... I want to go to Ikea to buy a similar extra mattress on top that made it ooooh so comfy. Breakfast buffet was plentiful with delicious food. A couple good restaurants on site and several places near for tasty dishes. Will definitely stay again my next trip to Helsinki!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very conventent to access, from the airport by bus to central station, and 5 Min walk.
Very helpful staff. Free Wifi!
When having just short time for a visit (during a business-stay) you can see the most interesing attractions just by walking around the area,
conference center is also in walking distance (12 Min), many restaurants and shopping area just in front of the door.
Breakfast plenty much, much not very tasteful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed in a standard single room up on the 8th floor and I was disappointed by a few things.

First of all, the bathroom is TINY and the only place to keep my stuff was on the edge of the sink. So, trying to balance my cosmetics/make up bag and hair straightener on the narrow edge was too difficult and I ended up keeping the bag on the floor or on the toilet seat cover. Not nice. Why wasn't there a single shelf or anything in the bathroom? Just adding a simple shelf under the mirror would make a customer's life so much easier.

Then, the tv was placed weirdly. It was in a sort of half wall between the desk and the bed, so that it could be rotated to face the bed or the desk/arm chair. That's okay if you want to watch tv sitting in the arm chair. But, I like to watch tv from bed. The tv was placed right above the HEAD of the bed, meaning I should have moved my pillows to the foot of the bed in order to watch tv. Since the room was small the foot of the bed was right under the window but there was about 15 - 20 cm gap between bed and the wall/window. So I couldn't move my pillows to the other end as they would've dropped to the gap between bed & radiator. I do understand that the building is old and it's not necessarily easy to decorate the rooms in the most practical way, but still...

Good things: well obviously the location is excellent. Very quiet, no noise. Bed comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful, altho why on week-end does breakfast start later than on weekdays? I'm hungry at the same time every morning.

Och på finska :-) Yhden hengen huoneen (8. kerros) kylppäri älyttömän pieni, ei yhtään laskutilaa. Lavuaarin seuralla ei paljon purkkeja mahdu säilyttämään. Miksi ei edes hyllyä peilin alapuolella?

TV oli oudosti aukossa sängyn ja pöydän välillä (sai käännettyä). Mutta kun telkkari oli suoraan sängyn pääpuolen yläpuolella, niin sängystä ei voinut sitä katsella. Kun sängyssä ei ole päätyä, en voinut ladata tyynyjä myöskään jalkopäähän, koska ne olisivat pudonneet 15 - 20 sentin rakoon sängyn jalkopään ja patterin/ikkunaseinän välillä. Toki ymmärrän, että vanhoihin seiniin on vaikea sisustaa moderneja huoneita, mutta tuo systeemi on aika pöljä.

Hyvää: huone hiljainen, ei melua, sänky mukava. Sijainti ei voisi olla parempi. Aamiainen monipuolinen, tosin jostain kumman syystä aamiainen alkaa viikonloppuisin myöhemmin kuin arkipäivinä. Mulla on ainakin nälkä viikonloppuisin samaan aikaan kuin viikolla, piti keksiä tunti tekemistä aamulla ennen kuin sai ruokaa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Address: Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and cosy Sokos Hotel Helsinki is located in the heart of Helsinki, between Ateneum (the Museum of Finnish Art), and the Senate Square. The hotel is located next to the major shopping streets and it is only 300 meters from Helsinki Central Station. All the hotel rooms are designed with fresh, Scandinavian style and have hardwood floors, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a private sauna. There is a complimentary internet point with three computers in the lobby area. The hotel also houses two great restaurants: Fransmanni and Memphis. Fransmanni offers French-inspired cuisine and the hotel’s rich breakfast buffet is served there every morning. Memphis is a more upbeat restaurant with tasty burgers and cool drinks. The hotel is also a great venue for small-scale meetings, and offers two meeting rooms for a maximum of 30 persons. The sauna department is located at the top floor and can also be rented for private use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helsinki Sokos Hotel
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.