We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely my favourite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added GLO Hotel Art to your Saves list
GLO Hotel Art
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely my favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

We were searching on internet for a nice hotel with a decent price and good location in Helsinki and found this hotel. We simply trusted the information on the website that we were booking on and made a reservation.

I must say, it was like winning on a lottery. I am a frequent traveller and stay at a huge number of hotels every year, both privately and in my prefession. This is absolutely one of the best hotels I´ve ever stayed at.

The main building is a wonderful art noveau palace from the beginning of the 18th century, which they now have renovated into the most cozy lobby area I have ever seen. The location is good in a nice area of the Helsinki city, only 5-10 minutes walk from the hectic restaurant- and shopping area

The rooms are modernly designed with all necessary amenities that you would need.

We are quite demaning customers and the staff were really meeting up to all our expectations. Nice, friendly and extremely helpful.

If you are looking for an international type of hotel like the HIltons or the Sheratons, forget this hotel. If you are looking for a special hotel with a very unique touch and an extremely good personal service, go for this hotel.

I can strongly recommed this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    361
    105
    34
    14
See reviews for
74
347
79
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kaarina, Finland
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2007

The hotel name for Finnish means castle but the rooms are in 50 years old building. There is a lobby and the breakfast is served in main building that looks like a castle. Our room was very small, no place for suitcases. Bathroom was also tiny and look little bit out of date. Also no view from the room windows.

Breakfast was nice, not so many options but good quality.

Location is ok, 5 minutes walk for all the best sights.

I would not return this hotel if I would not get a great deal.

Overall good 3star but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

I found the Palace when I first researched my trip 3 years ago. Although the room rates had increased significantly during that time, I was determined to stay there. The architectural details are certainly worthwhile and the rooms are extremely comfortable and plush. For the average tourist I felt it was a bit remote with minimal ammentities nearby. What was concerning was that while Internet connections were available in the room, there were no mentions of a computer for public use. When I explained to the front desk clerk what I was looking for she couldn't even recommend a specific Internet cafe, rather "there might be something on xx street". After searching up and down that street with no luck, imagine my reaction when I walked back into the lobby and saw a public computer in a sitting room off the lobby. All I got from her was the equivalent of "oops". All in all, a bit pricey for the location and lack of detailed service.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viareggio, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

I spent four nights at Linna Palace Hotel on business travel. The hotel is centrally located, far from the ugly railway station area and few minutes' walk from the main attractions. The hotel has a very good look as soon as you step into. My room was essential but confortable, with Finnish design that can also be found in the breakfast room with a special ambience and wide selection of good food. I did not try the reataurant because it served French dishes while I preferred to try Finnish dishes.There is a sauna for € 18.00. The reception staff is very helpful. Maybe you spend a bit more than other Helsinki hotels but you get service and quality, don't risk to finish in some bad three stars as some colleagues happened.
Hotel to be strongly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2005

My wife and I arrived in Helsinki from Australia at about 0700 local time. The Hotel staff very kindly arranged for an early book-in and we were made especially welcome. The room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. The morning sauna was especially welcome and very clean. But breakfast!! what can I say, but that it was quite possibly the best food I have experienced in my years of travel. The sourdough bread, for which the hotel is famous, is unbelievable.

It is our intention to travel back to Helsinki later this year, and we will certainly be staying back at the Lord.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2004

Stayed at this hotel with three children for a few nights during summer 2004. Great central location - just a 5-10 minute walk from the city centre. We had adjoining rooms which was great for the children, with two bathrooms and a whirlpool bath. Breakfast was plentiful, buffet style. We are looking forward to staying there again - not cheap but good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Address: Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GLO Hotel Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.