We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added GLO Hotel Art to your Saves list
GLO Hotel Art
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel while vacationing in Helsinki. Location, breakfast, staff were all great. Room was fresh and comfortable...but a bit stuffy. During our visit, city was experiencing very hot temps. Probably why AC in room couldn't cool it down. Still, we strongly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina_Kaikkonen, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Art, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi SouixC!

Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled to know that you had good times with us and are honored to read that you are recommending our property! You´re right that it has been quite exceptionally warm days in Helsinki for the past weeks, but definitely we do all we can to keep the comfort level of our guest rooms as high as possible despite the temperature outside. Welcome back someday!

Enjoy your end of summer!

Behalf of GLO Art staff,

Enni Viuhkonen
GLO Hotel Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    360
    105
    34
    14
See reviews for
74
344
79
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The place is a beautiful building and has a lot of potential of being one of Helsinki's nicest hotels.
Unfortunately the service at the reception is average (3 star hotels can be better).
The worst was the room, for the price asked, we checked into a room that although clean, was in poor condition. The comforter was ripped off, the carpet old, even a lamp was oddly standing on the corner, as if a drunken person had pushed it to the ground and tried repairing it.
I was disappointed to say the least.

Room Tip: make sure you get a newer room if this exists...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina_Kaikkonen, Guest relations at GLO Hotel Art, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear chanzoo,

Thank you for your review about our property. I am very sorry to read that you expectations were not fulfilled during your stay with us. We will take a closer look around the issues you faced (and definitely fix everything that needs to be fixed), since the described is definitely not the standard in our guest rooms. Please accept my deepest apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you!

With Best,
Enni Viuhkonen
GLO Hotel Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Set in a beautiful castle like building with a huge wooden door this hotel definitely looks the part.
The rooms are the complete opposite, super modern with a well done out bathroom and great shower.
The staff were very friendly and gave good advice and location was great.
They also offer free umbrellas. A must in Helsinki we discovered!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Very good hotel in a very convenient city centre location. Easy to find and close to many restaurants and attractions.
Room on the smaller side but was very comfortable (lovely bed!!), quiet and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice.
Sauna was extra cost but a nice relaxing way to complete our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleetwood
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel has a lovely reception area and the staff were very helpful. It is within easy walking distance to the center and you have no need of a taxi to get around as there are plenty of nice restaurants and bars in the center. The rooms we stayed in are in the next building and were a little too uniform for my liking, all black and chrome and it was hard to see in the bathroom the light did not seem to turn up far enough. Not a very nice view either but the same is true for a lot of city hotels. The bed was very comfortable though and as we only stayed one night I was not too bothered about anything else. If you go to Helsinki take a trip to Tallinn... well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Good room, clean and modern. Good wifi, though you have to re-log in every 24 hours. Lots of choice at breakfast, though if you're picky about eggs, don't eat the scrambled ones. They're the powdered hotel scrambled ones. Hard boiled are available on the other table.

Showers face into the room with tinted glass. Head and feet are visible but not so much the rest of the body. Fine for couples, though friends might find it a little more uncomfortable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a very good hotel well located 10-15 minutes walk from downtown Helsinki.

After reading other reviews of the hotel we requested a double room that was one up from the smallest size room. The room we stayed in was small but quite functional.

The hotel makes a point of promoting the comfort of its beds, and in our experience this is well justified. The bed were excellent and contributed to us sleeping well throughout our 4 night stay.

The hotel provides an excellent buffet breakfast. This was willingly offered to us outside their normal hours to accommodate our early departure.

Staff were obliging and efficient.

The overall layout of the hotel is a little like a rabbit warren with a number of long narrow corridors.
Happy to recommend the Glo Art Hotel to others looking for well located, comfortable accommodation in Helsinki

Room Tip: If booking for 2 persons request the next room size up from the smallest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Address: Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new GLO Hotel Art is a unique combination of a 1903-built Art Nouveau castle, with its variety of charming meeting and event facilities, and a new modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GLO Hotel Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.