We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glo hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added GLO Hotel Art to your Saves list
GLO Hotel Art
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Glo hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights with my partner for his birthday.

The hotel is so beautiful. The reception area is lovely with seating areas shared with the bar.

We had a good sized room in the new building. The bed was comfy although I am used to more pillows.

Our bathroom door jammed a few days in, it was never fixed although it was acknowledged by staff. The bathroom doesn't give much privacy, but not being able to close the door for 2 days was a bit awkward.

The hotel is in a great location. We wanted something quiet but close to attractions and found we could walk most places.

Considering the bars and restaurants local to us the hotel bar was responsibly priced, although we never ordered food.

Overall we loved our stay, but the bathroom door could have been resolved quicker...or at all.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina_Kaikkonen, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Art, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi cglachan,

Thank you for your review, we highly appreciate your time and effort on posting you thoughts for other Tripadvisor users! Please let me apologize for the inconvenience caused to you about the maitenance matter with your bathroom door, I am sorry about the obvious communication failure that happened to our team members when it comes to fixing the issue you had. However we are happy to acknowlegde that your stay was not completely ruined for the trouble and you found our property overall enjoyable.

Hopefully we can welcome you to GLO Hotel Art in near future!

With best,
Enni Viuhkonen
GLO Hotel Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    308
    96
    32
    9
See reviews for
62
304
75
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The old-styled building hosting the hotel entrance appears as a surprise in between the modern buildings nearby Kamppi area. After entering, first sight is for the nice old small hall and really cool living area on the room aside, then moving to the guestrooms area of the hotel modernity comes by, showing brand new refurbished hallways. The room we were was simply gorgeous, stylish, modern, functional and cozy. Everything worked perfectly, room service was perfectly performed and caring. Nevertheless, don't forget to include the bathroom slippers and robe set in your reservation, as they also work perfectly. All of the hotel Staff was absolutely kind and supporting for every request.
Breakfast was included in our room price and worth it, as it was a perfect quality mix with continental and scandinavian tastes.
Considering the nice and relaxing mood of this city, this hotel provides the perfect completion for your stay. Kiitos to everybody!

Room Tip: Road side rooms preferrable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It was perfect for what we needed it for. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful. Can't complain. If we were to stay in Helsinki again, we would book here. Staff were friendly and helpful. It's a lovely hotel for what we needed. Sleep and breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights before a 38 day adventure through europe, after a long flight from Australia this was exactly what we needed, easy to find and very comfortable in Helsinki's design district, very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed at this hotel at the beginnng and end of a tour and it was our least favourite hotel. Some things were good: the location was great, quiet but close to the centre, staff were polite and tried to help, breakfast offered a range of food and drinks.
However, I agree with last reviewer's comments about trying to get money for everything. The worse thing for me is that they left a soft toy on one of our beds with a label saying we could have him for 27 Euros. I pity the poor parent having to take that away from a tired toddler - fortunately my son is 18 so coped with the situation! We Ignored all the warm drinks with price tags on them and used the 24 hr supermarket opposite.
As for the rooms, I had an allergic reaction to the feather bedding - not their fault but I had to ask a couple of times before it was changed. The air con didn't work as it wouldn't cool the room and it took several hours for someone to locate a key for the window. The shower cubicle was smoked glass and there were gaps round the doors so not good for privacy. The lighting was subdued and useless for putting make-up on etc. I asked for non-allergenic bedding for our return trip, in person and by e-mail, but the room wasn't ready when we arrived at 4. They said they wanted to ask me about the carpet but they could have done this days earlier or just replied to my e-mail. They gave us a room with an opening window, as requested, but no air con.
We wanted to use one of the six bikes they have for our last morning in Helsinki and they refused to reserve them. I called reception in the morning to request the bikes (as the night reception advised this would be acceptable) but they wanted me to get up and dressed before I could book them - everything felt difficult and not customer friendly. When we got the bikes (for 7 euros a day or part day) they were very nice and Helsinki is a fantastic city to cycle round so we'd recommend this.
As I said before the staff did try and help and when our airport transfer didn't arrive they called a taxi for us. Not enough positives to make us stay there again though. There must be more user-friendly hotels in Helsinki.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The look of the hotel was lovely from the outside. The interiors are unique and pleasant to the eyes. Rooms however needed a bit more to toiletries- like toothpaste, and space.
The windows were great, I could open the windows and smell the fresh air. The hotel guarantees you a good nights sleep- they right. The beds are comfortable and the pillows were just right. Reception gives you a selection of pillows.
The toilets are small, but it's typical in Finland. The toilet didn't have a fan extractor so airation didn't work well. There is a mini radiator that I could use to dry some of my small garments. Location is ideal. It is away from the busy streets and there are nearby shops (pharmacy, mini-market tattoo parlours and restaurants) that are within walking distance. Around the corner, there is a flea market too.
The staff were Smiley, beautiful and friendly. However, management could inject more staff. I saw why you couldn't because your reception desk is small. Glo art is a popular hotel- there were lots of people checking in. Having extra staff may benfit.
Breakfast was worth it. I loved the salmon and the homemade jams.
It's a convenient hotel to stay in and enjoy the interior design. It's great to stay for a few days- but not long stays.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Address: Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new GLO Hotel Art is a unique combination of a 1903-built Art Nouveau castle, with its variety of charming meeting and event facilities, and a new modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GLO Hotel Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.