We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute boutique hotel needs more "umph".” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added GLO Hotel Art to your Saves list
GLO Hotel Art
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cute boutique hotel needs more "umph".”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The look of the hotel was lovely from the outside. The interiors are unique and pleasant to the eyes. Rooms however needed a bit more to toiletries- like toothpaste, and space.
The windows were great, I could open the windows and smell the fresh air. The hotel guarantees you a good nights sleep- they right. The beds are comfortable and the pillows were just right. Reception gives you a selection of pillows.
The toilets are small, but it's typical in Finland. The toilet didn't have a fan extractor so airation didn't work well. There is a mini radiator that I could use to dry some of my small garments. Location is ideal. It is away from the busy streets and there are nearby shops (pharmacy, mini-market tattoo parlours and restaurants) that are within walking distance. Around the corner, there is a flea market too.
The staff were Smiley, beautiful and friendly. However, management could inject more staff. I saw why you couldn't because your reception desk is small. Glo art is a popular hotel- there were lots of people checking in. Having extra staff may benfit.
Breakfast was worth it. I loved the salmon and the homemade jams.
It's a convenient hotel to stay in and enjoy the interior design. It's great to stay for a few days- but not long stays.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    382
    114
    35
    15
See reviews for
82
371
82
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

FWIW room size and hotel location are fine! It reminded me of being at some weird place w notes all over telling you when to do things and costs for each thing(that's included other places) short sighted policies in a city where the niceties are included in this price range

It's not the fault of the staff but the mgmt (according to staff) put in place new policies that "nickel and dime" or euro and euro you to deathHotel glo art
Broken(a hole in wall tile) tile in bathroom
18e brekkie plus more € for eggs
18€ for 1 hour use of sauna other place

3e water
5e for use of robe
€ more for high speed internet

Entire place had feel of a room with little notes all over in contrast to other hotels in this region this really had the feel of nickle and Diming you (or euro and euro You)

Sadly I decided it wasn't worth it to spend last few days of a great trip like this
It was
As if a manager owner decided to charge one rate for bed then thought "look at all the money I can make by charging for everything else" €18 for brekkie ? 5€ to use a robe? €18 for a 1hr sauna use at another building??



It leaves you with a bad feeling
Room itself was ok but when I added everything up I actually (for the first time ever booked another hotel in the city where things like those mentioned above were included and forfeited the $ I'd spent on this hotel ! Try the Scandic if you want to feel like your business is appreciated!



coming back at night the area was quiet, though I saw three separate incidents of drunkeness
People vomiting, people relieving selves on street)

Room itself was ok but the experience wasn't good ;
the person at reception was nice and even called a museum to see if it was open.
if you don't want breakfast or other amenities this might b ok, but other hotels in this city are a better choice.



Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The location is good for accessing Helsinki and the staff are very helpful. The breakfast is wonderful and provides a large selection including regional specialties such as pickled herring.
Rooms are modern and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taghazout, Morocco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed there during my last business trip to Helsinki. Went with my sister and Father, that were going to the same Tourism trade fair as me. We were positively impressed by the rustic style and original architecture of the hotel. Had to leave at 4 am and staff at reception were very friendly and helpfull. Had a great breakfast before leaving and there tips were just perfect.
Will defo stay there again !!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palacekamp, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Art, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi YounesARABAB!

Thank you for staying with us @ GLO Art! We are delighted to know that your stay was a good one. I´m glad to read that you enjoyed our services designed for the early-birds to get you the best possible start for your day.

Looking forward to have you here again!

Greetings,
Enni Viuhkonen
GLO Hotel Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located within 20 minute walk to/from the main railway station or ferry terminal. Rooms are on smaller side, but have comfy beds. Shower is small, but serves the purpose. Service at check in was very polite and friendly, reception staff is courteous - Leena was polite and knowledgeable. Breakfast is quite large, be there early to get the most for your $$$. Internet service sucks, very poor connection.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are not as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palacekamp, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Art, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Houliganski,

Thank you for your review and your kind words about our staff- I´ll make sure Leea gets your greetings. We appreciate your feedback around internet connection and your words will be definitely taken on account when planning our services in the future.

Greetings to Florida!

Behalf of GLO Staff,
Enni Viuhkonen
GLO Hotel Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Before booking my stay, I was read some comments concerning the long distance between the front desk until the rooms. Indeed, it is not that short distance, you have to pass some corridor, a small external (but covered) space, another corridor, and you reach the elevators. So, it's true, but.... so what? I have very good properly functional arms and legs, so it's is not an issue for me.
I arrived in a Sunday evening and I realized that the lady who was supposed to attend me was making some coffee/tea for someone else. This fact kind of worried me, however in week days there was enough people to give me the attention I required.
The room was also okay, enough space and comfort for one people, clean, with very good LED TV (seems to be around 46 inches or so). Bathroom also clean and very functional (wow, you can watch TV while seated in the toilet sanitary, very useful during the World Cup, if you know what I meant).
The breakfast is between fair to low. The very same food every single day. Not much options of bread and no options of cakes.
Service in general was okay, no concerns.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok if you can walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina_Kaikkonen, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Art, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments about our property and our services, we highly appreciate all the feedback from our guests!
Thank you for giving brilliant example of how strong the first glance can be, I´m reliefed to found out that even though you got some concerns on your arrival, you later got convinced about our service at front desk. I´m thankful for your understanding approach! We truly also understand that the first time journey to our guestrooms can feel a bit long, especially if one´s dragging a heavy luggage and has several hours of travel behind. However, all the doors that are on our guests way (most of them motorized) are there only to make our guests stay a comfortable and secured. If one of our guest has difficulties on moving around, we do all we can to place his/hers rooms in a way that it is easy to reach from the reception.
Your constructive comment about our breakfast selection will be passed on to the people in charge of the food and beverage services.
Hope to see you here again in the near future!


With Best Regards,
Enni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My party of four had two rooms and we felt the size was fine. Unsure why others felt it was small. The staff were most accommodating, (they allowed us to borrow their luggage scale which was most helpful at the end of a two week trip) and the architecture and furniture were all very modern. The distance to downtown is literally 5 minutes, and they are close to many great shops on Frederick street. They do charge for 'extras' like coffee, water. And the 3rd floor coffee/expresso machine was not great. The morning buffet breakfast ok, but had to pay extra for eggs of any type. The best thing though, were their comfy beds!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Address: Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GLO Hotel Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.