We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added GLO Hotel Art to your Saves list
GLO Hotel Art
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location and people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The location is good for accessing Helsinki and the staff are very helpful. The breakfast is wonderful and provides a large selection including regional specialties such as pickled herring.
Rooms are modern and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    328
    99
    31
    12
See reviews for
66
319
77
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taghazout, Morocco
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed there during my last business trip to Helsinki. Went with my sister and Father, that were going to the same Tourism trade fair as me. We were positively impressed by the rustic style and original architecture of the hotel. Had to leave at 4 am and staff at reception were very friendly and helpfull. Had a great breakfast before leaving and there tips were just perfect.
Will defo stay there again !!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palacekamp, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Art, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi YounesARABAB!

Thank you for staying with us @ GLO Art! We are delighted to know that your stay was a good one. I´m glad to read that you enjoyed our services designed for the early-birds to get you the best possible start for your day.

Looking forward to have you here again!

Greetings,
Enni Viuhkonen
GLO Hotel Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located within 20 minute walk to/from the main railway station or ferry terminal. Rooms are on smaller side, but have comfy beds. Shower is small, but serves the purpose. Service at check in was very polite and friendly, reception staff is courteous - Leena was polite and knowledgeable. Breakfast is quite large, be there early to get the most for your $$$. Internet service sucks, very poor connection.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are not as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palacekamp, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Art, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Houliganski,

Thank you for your review and your kind words about our staff- I´ll make sure Leea gets your greetings. We appreciate your feedback around internet connection and your words will be definitely taken on account when planning our services in the future.

Greetings to Florida!

Behalf of GLO Staff,
Enni Viuhkonen
GLO Hotel Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Before booking my stay, I was read some comments concerning the long distance between the front desk until the rooms. Indeed, it is not that short distance, you have to pass some corridor, a small external (but covered) space, another corridor, and you reach the elevators. So, it's true, but.... so what? I have very good properly functional arms and legs, so it's is not an issue for me.
I arrived in a Sunday evening and I realized that the lady who was supposed to attend me was making some coffee/tea for someone else. This fact kind of worried me, however in week days there was enough people to give me the attention I required.
The room was also okay, enough space and comfort for one people, clean, with very good LED TV (seems to be around 46 inches or so). Bathroom also clean and very functional (wow, you can watch TV while seated in the toilet sanitary, very useful during the World Cup, if you know what I meant).
The breakfast is between fair to low. The very same food every single day. Not much options of bread and no options of cakes.
Service in general was okay, no concerns.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok if you can walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina_Kaikkonen, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Art, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments about our property and our services, we highly appreciate all the feedback from our guests!
Thank you for giving brilliant example of how strong the first glance can be, I´m reliefed to found out that even though you got some concerns on your arrival, you later got convinced about our service at front desk. I´m thankful for your understanding approach! We truly also understand that the first time journey to our guestrooms can feel a bit long, especially if one´s dragging a heavy luggage and has several hours of travel behind. However, all the doors that are on our guests way (most of them motorized) are there only to make our guests stay a comfortable and secured. If one of our guest has difficulties on moving around, we do all we can to place his/hers rooms in a way that it is easy to reach from the reception.
Your constructive comment about our breakfast selection will be passed on to the people in charge of the food and beverage services.
Hope to see you here again in the near future!


With Best Regards,
Enni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My party of four had two rooms and we felt the size was fine. Unsure why others felt it was small. The staff were most accommodating, (they allowed us to borrow their luggage scale which was most helpful at the end of a two week trip) and the architecture and furniture were all very modern. The distance to downtown is literally 5 minutes, and they are close to many great shops on Frederick street. They do charge for 'extras' like coffee, water. And the 3rd floor coffee/expresso machine was not great. The morning buffet breakfast ok, but had to pay extra for eggs of any type. The best thing though, were their comfy beds!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Cozy hotel is a bit far from the city center. Medium-sized rooms, well-equipped.. Very friendly service. Suitable for urban traveler who wants to walk. The breakfast-room small but nice and the food varied.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Slightly upscale hotel at a reasonable price. Well-appointed, comfortable, nice staff. Breakfast was fine. A little far from the center of town -- but walkable, and there's a tram stop only a block and a half away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Address: Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new GLO Hotel Art is a unique combination of a 1903-built Art Nouveau castle, with its variety of charming meeting and event facilities, and a new modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GLO Hotel Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.