We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmospheric hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added GLO Hotel Art to your Saves list
GLO Hotel Art
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good atmospheric hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with business.

One of the better hotels that I have stayed in in Helsinki and would have got 5 out of 5 for not the constant 'extras' like better wifi / bottle of water in room / bacon at breakfast.

Having said that as long as you are savvy then no issues what so ever. Breakfast apart from the bacon was good and varied - proper orange juice which for me is always a test of how good a hotel is.

Good location within walking distance to some excellent cheap restaurants and cafes, and about 10 mins from the main Station - get the Finnair bus from the airport for only €6.30 and walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    404
    129
    39
    15
See reviews for
96
400
87
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel looked amazing from the outside. One of the best looking hotels I have ever seen. The staff spoke great English and were helpful. Unfortunately we took a taxi to the hotel from the airport and it cost so so much. We wouldn't do that again. It's in a pretty good location although a bit closer would have been nice! We are staying there 1 more night as a transfer later in our holiday and am pretty disappointed that they will not transfer the booking to their sister hotel which is at the airport. They said its because we didn't book directly. Our travel agent did. Not a good enough excuses. Inside the room it was lovely. Extremely extremely small but we didn't mind at all. It was very modern and lovely. Breakfast was underground it was awesome. Although I ended up eating toast with butter not a lot for my taste but my husband loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel building is nice, old, obviously historical, made of stones. Art nouveau. Stylish lobby, restaurant furnished with good taste. The hotel rooms represent standard level and are comparable with any other hotel in Helsinki city.
The equipment in the room is basic, what I was missing, was a water boiler and possibility to make a cup of coffee/ tea in the room. Lightning in the room was poor, simply not enough light. Due to dark ceilings, the appearance was dark. No place for luggage. The service was in principle also average.
What we found strange was, that the personnel in the reception and breakfast room did not greet you. Nor did they smile. If greeteed, they greeted back, but no smile. That gave a pecualiar, even arrogant, impression.
Breakfast, slightly below average, nothing special, same breads, sausages and cheesees as in any hotel. Perhaps a lilttle bit more limited than in other Helsinki city hotels.
As a summary, this hotel was ok, but I think I have no reason to come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Campania, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I spent only one night in the hotel, in the end of October. The building is beautiful but the room was small. There was dust (not a lot, but still) around the room. However the sheets were soft, fresh and of great quality. We didn't eat at the restaurant of the hotel but we had a breakfast, the food was good and abundant. Staff people are polite and kind. The price is usual for hotel in Helsinki, the position of the hotel is central and not far from the central station (approximately 500m).

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had four lovely nights at the Glo Art during a recent visit to Helsinki. We wanted convenience, a bit of funk, a good price and comfort - we got it at Glo Art. The hotel is quite central, an easy walk to the main attractions and central city area, a supermarket is across the street and there are numerous restaurants if you want them. Our room was small (but we knew it would be - that's what we booked) but it had everything we need, except a kettle (but you could hire one). The room, and most of the hotel was a "Glo - ing" expression of Finnish design, modern and funky and cited in a castle. We would defiantly stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nice attractively decorated hotel, modern clean smart rooms, bathrooms, located right in the middle of numerous bars, cafés and restaurants, 5 mins walk to the port and 10 mins walk to the train station and shopping arcades..
However, no mini bar or tea/coffee facilities in room, hotel has nice food a pleasant bar and relax/reading area,
Other hotels do offer more like pool, gym etc for a similar price but I wouldn't have any problem with staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a dinner with 5 friends in the Hotel restaurant, we had previously dined in the same companies restaurants with great experience.
The food was not too complicated but still very delicious and tasty, I would specially recommend the catch of the day. The wines were great and the bill was a positive surprise as well. All in all very good value for your money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Klaus K Hotel
#11 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Address: Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GLO Hotel Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.