We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Save Saved
You added GLO Hotel Art to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
GLO Hotel Art
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nice attractively decorated hotel, modern clean smart rooms, bathrooms, located right in the middle of numerous bars, cafés and restaurants, 5 mins walk to the port and 10 mins walk to the train station and shopping arcades..
However, no mini bar or tea/coffee facilities in room, hotel has nice food a pleasant bar and relax/reading area,
Other hotels do offer more like pool, gym etc for a similar price but I wouldn't have any problem with staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    290
    90
    30
    8
See reviews for
56
286
71
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a dinner with 5 friends in the Hotel restaurant, we had previously dined in the same companies restaurants with great experience.
The food was not too complicated but still very delicious and tasty, I would specially recommend the catch of the day. The wines were great and the bill was a positive surprise as well. All in all very good value for your money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed our stay at the GLO Art Hotel and would recommend this to other travellers. The staff were friendly and helpful - Jusa and Johanna went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. They made good suggestions for where we might go to eat, explore etc. The breakfasts were fantastic too. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palacekamp, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Art, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Psy_d0c,
Our team is excited to read that you have found our service helpful to make your stay a pleasant one. Your kind words are recognized by our management and both Jusa and Johanna as well. It would be amazing to have you here again when you return to our capital.
Greetings to Sidney from whole GLOstaff!

Best Regards,
Enni Viuhkonen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Glo Art. Nice location, very accessible and safe. Helsinki is a pretty compact city, so everything is close and many things are within easy walking distance. Desk staff speaks perfect English and was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is a nice basic spread, above average for a hotel breakfast but nothing special. We'd certainly stay here again, but not on the 6th floor. The rooms there are very nice, quiet, and isolated, but you have to take a circuitous path involving two different elevators to get to them !

Room Tip: Skip the 6th floor, it's quiet and isolated, but hard to get to !!!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Down in the quieter, cooler, but easy to reach and enjoy "design district", this landmark Deco mini-palace has been converted into a medium-sized hotel by annexing the non-descript modern block next door. The rooms can only be described as "bijou", the decor as highly practical, and the curious roomkey-driven "airlock" system that copes with guest security and Helsinki's winter climate takes a day or so of getting used to. If what you want is generic and plastic, book somewhere else. If what you'd like is a comfortable, convenient and reasonable bolt-hole right in the heart of the primo knick-knack shopping area, several idyllic parks, the occasional theatre and museum and just a couple of hundred steps from the "6" tram, try it for size. Staff fine, breakfast ok, cleanliness good. Just to the left is an independent excellent bar with some of the finest bar food I've ever eaten, equally excellent music and primo beer. And the harbour is just 5 mins walk down the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at GLO Hotel Art while on a weekend break to Helsinki and loved it. It is quirky and original and made for an enjoyable and memorable trip. The staff were lovely and the room was very comfortable. I would definitely recommend it to my family and friends.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Glo Art hotel with 3 friends last weekend. It's a great hotel, fabulous decor in the old part of the building & fresh, clean, simplistic lines in the bedrooms. The location is wonderful for (very expensive) shopping & sight-seeing.
What wasn't so good was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room - apparently, we were told on leaving(!), we could have had them if we'd asked (& at an extra charge of €5). Also the heating in the rooms could not be altered - but then again it wasn't very overheated.
Having said all that ... I'd stay there again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Address: Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new GLO Hotel Art is a unique combination of a 1903-built Art Nouveau castle, with its variety of charming meeting and event facilities, and a new modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GLO Hotel Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.