We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Save Saved
You added GLO Hotel Art to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
GLO Hotel Art
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Italia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights (26th-30th April), and it's one of the best hotels we've ever been to. The girls at the reception desk and at the breakfast bar are extremely kind and helpful, and speak english very fluently. Our room was very spacious, clean and functional, with a beautiful black-glass shower (situated directly on the room), parquet on the floor, big TV, very comfortable bed. The location is great, 10-15 minutes walk from the centre, on a quiet road (no traffic and noises at night). The breakfast was very rich, including both sweet (croissants, fruit juices, jams, yoghurt, porridge, etc) and savory (cheese, dried beef, salad, etc). We also appreciated the free wi-fi in the room. A sauna is available at the 4th floor of the building, but we didn't have the opportunity to enjoy it (you have to pre-book it and the cost is 18€ per person). The common areas are made in the style of an ancient castle, while the rooms are located in a renewed modern-style wing of the building. To reach the room you have to walk through a corridor, with automatic doors and some others that open with the electronic card provided as room key, but it wasn't a problem for us. In short, we really recommend it, especially for a romantic trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    283
    87
    28
    8
See reviews for
54
279
70
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My daughter is studying architecture in Helsinki for one semester, her University Alto had a class in this hotel to learn the unique architecture design. The interior is very modern and high quality. The breakfast was included in my stay. Its worth the money. Helsinki is expensive, cup of coffee cost around 4 or 5 euros. If you book your room in US travel website, you can add about $15 for two breakfast. Good deal!

Room Tip: If you like to have a bath tub, make sure to request in advance. most rooms are only with showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

single room for double use, not so sure.
alone with 1 case which get accepted by Ryanair and easyjet will do if you been asked to check this baggage by any of those 2 carrier then take a room single room for family use as your case will take 40% of space.
nicely decorated but lots of unecessarie things such coffee cup and glasses but no mini bar or coffee facilities.
Also plugs on top nor on wall? no desk to work
so pay the extra and get large room, ask at desk.
people very friendly and the deco from entrance vey nice

Room Tip: ask rooms with desk and space for luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Got a superior room, its very spacious and the design is very modern and superb! The spa is also very beautiful and used by its customers a lot, which makes it alive, which is nice! The service of the staff is excellent, they are very friendly and nothing is too much to ask. The location is probably the best in Helsinki, close to everything. The downside of this hotel is the restaurant/breakfast area, which is completely different from the whole hotel concept. The ventilation system was noisy, as other reviewers have pointed out before!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed 6 nights in this hotel. Highly recommending. Very clean, very quiet, excellent location. Check out their sauna and a library! Their staff is very friendly, hospitable and knowledgeable. Book with breakfast included, you will not regret. Food and service is just impeccable. Will stay there definitely during my next trip to Finland.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, over Easter. The hotel is beautiful, especially the Reception area. The staff we dealt with were always helpful, smiling, and very happy to give us advice on the city. Breakfast was plentiful, both savoury and sweet, and I highly recommend you try the strawberry jam: the best I've tasted in a long time! The location of the hotel is great: 10 mins from the centre, away from the tourists and close to some really good book stores and shops.
The room itself was 'compact': I think it would match the size of a a smurf's house. However, the bed was comfortable and the room was very clean.
If there is one thing which was negative about our stay at the hotel was the air con: it was very very noisy and impossible to operate. It would be really good if the hotel installed individual switches on each room, so that one could switch the air con off completely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I wouldn’t recommend this hotel. The door on the bathroom didn’t close. Who wants to do a no.1 or a no.2 with friends listening and perhaps smelling? Urgh. The new room was smaller and smelled of paint. The shower is see-through. Again who wants that? You might have your privates covered by the greyed out section but you are really on show. Urgh. We each showered when the other person was ‘sleeping’. I’m sure if I’d been travelling with my partner this wouldn’t have bothered me but I would defiantly avoid this hotel if travelling with friends or family. Now there were some good points. The location is good and the breakfast is good (as long as you get down early, they ran out of coffee pods for the fancy coffee machine the morning we were travelling). They even have porridge which I was delighted to see.

Room Tip: I would defiantly avoid this hotel if travelling with friends or family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Address: Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new GLO Hotel Art is a unique combination of a 1903-built Art Nouveau castle, with its variety of charming meeting and event facilities, and a new modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GLO Hotel Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.