We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 nights at HelpHostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helphostel

Helphostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helsinki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Helphostel
Save
You added Helphostel to your Saves list
Linnankatu 3, Helsinki 00160, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“5 nights at HelpHostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed at HelpHostel for 5 nights and had a nice and comfy stay.
Location: Great, near the stunning Uspenski Cathedral, very close to downtown literally 5mins from Market Sq and the Harbour on foot. Senate Sq is like 7mins on foot and the Central Station - where bus n.615 that links Vaanta Airport to the city centre stops- is 10mins walking away. There's a K-market a couple of mind walking from the hostel ( in front of the Cathedral).
Tram n.4 stops 2 mins walking from the hostel.
Hostel: Mid-sized hostel, quite, ideal for families, definitely not crammed like many bigger properties. There's a communal kitchen very well-stocked with all you need to cook your own meals, a breakfast room and living room.
The only downside is there's only one toilet (one for males and one for females) and one shower for the entire hostels. This may be a negative feature of the hostel tough I honestly don't recall any long wait. Both shower and toilet were very clean.
There are also 2 (or 3 I don't remember) fridges where you can stock your stuff.
Room: I booked a private single room which comes with a single bed, desk, chair and bad table. Small and basic but comfy and very clean. The only problem is it does have very thin walls therefore you can easily hear other guests snoring in the room next to yours. I don't have a clue about the dorms, the only thing I know there were some beds literally on the corridor in front of mine and other private rooms just covered by a curtain.
it might not be pleasant for them poor folks having to put up with people passing by, closing/opening doors. You certainly need to be an hard sleeper to manage to actually sleep there.
Wifi connection: very important to me as I have to check my work emails every day. Not the best connection, it went down completely for 2 days then I was given a new access which worked well.
I definitely recommend this hostel to anyone who is on a budget but doesn't want to compromise on cleanness and privacy. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will surely come back when popping in lovely Helsinki next time.
A special mention to Ika whose kindness and care didn't go unnoticed. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
4
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We only stayed at the hostel for a night but we wished we had stayed longer! We were welcomed by super nice receptionist, Ikka! Our room was very clean, bright and spacious (we had a double room)! You can find everything that you need for cooking in the kitchen and again, spacious open kitchen! Anyways, we asked Ikka for some information about the city and how we could get the most out of our two days trip there...Ikka came back with maps, all the must see, must eat places circled with clear explanation! We really had a great stay and experience there! The only thing that did not work that well for us was the ONE shower for the whole hostel...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikkeli, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Location is the key with this hostel - roughly 10-15 min walk from the main railway station and close to some of the main sights of Helsinki. Also in a quiet neighbourhood which we at least felt safe in. Travelling as a large group for a hen party, we took over most of the hostel so had the hospital-like room divided by curtains and two private rooms to ourselves. This was fine as we were together but if traveling with a smaller group, I would definitely want one of the private rooms. It is true that the locks are hardly sturdy and the walls are paper thin but at least you have some privacy. The hostel is basic but very clean. They have a male and a female toilet and one shower for the whole hostel. Fun when you have 20 girls trying to get ready for a night out... not. But all in all, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend the hostel for anyone on a budget, who wants to stay centrally and doesn't mind possible noisy neighbours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

It's a shabby hostel in an old building, where rooms are locked with keys that look like those with which you usually lock table drawers, and walls made of cardboard (there is also a chance to rent not a room, but a bed behind a curtain), which is a bit unexpected. But it's cosy, it's clean, and there is an informal, but effective way in which issues are held (like when you arrive in the middle of the night, and staff is not there, they e-mail you code to the door on the first floor, and the code to the door on the second one, and leave this funny key in an envelope at the reception desk). Good value though, and it's really better than unkempt and crowded Eurohostel down the same street.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

On the up side, the room I stayed in was clean and the location isn't too far from the Central Market. It is a small hostel but the facilities (internet, tv, kitchen) are decent.
On the down side, beds in the large dorm room are squeezed in like battery hen cages and as far as I could ascertain it has only one shower for the entire hostel. One. Good luck with that.
Worse still, they have a lock-out on check-ins. If you have not arrived by 6pm they deem you a cancellation and will charge you accordingly. Helsinki is also a town where hostels frequently book out, so unless you follow their rules to the letter you could be left on the street with nowhere to stay and they will keep your money with scant regard for your welfare. I don't consider that to be fair business practice in this day and age. Let alone the fact that it leaves the hostel with no human security or cleaning services between 6pm and 10am. There are better options available to you in Helsinki and I recommend you choose them.

Room Tip: In another hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Small hostel. Very good service in this price. Neat, clean, new, deciplined, well decorated. Staff is very welcoming and helpful. Very good speed wifi internet. Free tea and cofee.

Room Tip: If you want to have private space ask for the private bed in dorm with curtains. It feels like the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helphostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helphostel

Address: Linnankatu 3, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Helsinki
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helphostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.