We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and spacious rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki to your Saves list
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Kaivokatu, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location and spacious rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We appreciated the spacious room with wooden floor even if the interior is all in all somewhat worn out. A big plus is also the location: it could hardly get more central. The service was friendly. Breakfast was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    102
    36
    20
    6
See reviews for
23
77
34
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuopio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel has a perfect location in the middle of everything, elegant rooms but in desperate need of a brush-up. Breakfast was delicious and served in the beautiful restaurant. Also Bar Socis was nice with live music.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latvia, Riga
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

As usual in old hotels there is that strange smell in passageway.
Furniture in room was black with lot of big mirrors. I felt like in some scary movie.

Bathroom was so tiny. Probably the smallest bathroom what I have seen.

The only good thing is the location of hotel. It's located right across the street at central station.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelSeuHP, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dier Viesha

Thank you very much for your feedback. We collect these kinds of reviews for future plannings.

The bathrooms in some of the rooms are indeed quite small. Our house was build 100 years ago, when guests had different needs. The building is also protected by Finnish Museum Authority, so major alterings can't be done. In the future renewings (as before) we always try to find the best solutions that respect both the history and the modern needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlshamn, Blekinge Län, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

+ : location (very close to the Main Street and also the central station), cleanliness, ability to choose your own pillow, interior.
- : some of the staff (some of the breakfast staff not so polite, more acting like polices that wants to make you feel stupid) and the breakfast overall - bad quality.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelSeuHP, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Dino J

Thank you for your review. The problems in service have been discussed with the breakfast staff.

I am sorry that the quality of the breakfast didn't satisfy you, we try to aim better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuusula, Finland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a night as we were attending a concert in central Helsinki. The hotel is in a very good location as it is situated just opposite the central railway station of Helsinki. We booked a club room and were very pleased with the size of it. The room was very clean. However even though it was a bigger room the bathroom seemed tiny, not quite what I would have expected for the price I paid for the room.
Our room had adjoining door to the room next door and we could hear people talking thought it. I found that quite disturbing, luckily there was an older couple staying in that room so they didn't make too much noise.
The hotel is old and it meant it also had old windows. I could feel the cold air coming in though the windows, luckily the weather outside wasn't that cold. Our room was facing the street and the railway station so could hear the noises coming from that traffic. That didn't bother us although if you are a light sleeper then you should ask for quiet room.

The breakfast was adequate although I have had better in other hotels. The interior of the restaurant was beautiful. We didn't spend much time in the hotel so can't comment on other venues the hotel has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelSeuHP, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Mintsi73

Thank you for your review!
You have indeed thought through your hotel experience - the review is helpful for both us and the future customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Perfect old building situated near the hot spots in Helsinki. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and nice decorated, the food was excellent (very diversified) and the drinks as well. Overall, a great experience!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelSeuHP, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Calina M

Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased that your overall experience was so pleasent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were looking forward to staying in this hotel in December as a family. I was very disappointed to receive an email stating they were cancelling our booking and could move us to the Holiday Inn or Crowne Plaza. No explanation and no word of apology. I have had no reply to my email by return and can only suggest you avoid this hotel as they have no concept of customer service, and not even a degree of common courtesy. They also liken themselves to HI and CP when they seem to be promoting their more established style on their website

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelSeuHP, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear sir
Thank you for your response. We are sorry for all the resentment.
I regret the impression that was given to your in our announcement concerning our temporary closure. I also appologise the lacking hotel's response to your first mail because of a misunderstanding.
We did try to give an optional choise in the best hotels possible, convenient high class HI in the city centre and the top hotel in Helsinki - CP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Address: 12 Kaivokatu, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki is a high class, tasteful business hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Historically over 170 years old Seurahuone is one of the most traditional hotels in Finland, and can be considered even internationally a state of the art hotel.Filled with a warm atmosphere Hotelli Seurahuone is a combination of the old time sophisticated spirit as well as modern high standard service. In addition to the individually appointed rooms the feeling of quality continues in the restaurant, the bar and the banquet floor.The hotel’s 118 accommodation rooms feature individual alternatives; Standard and Club room classes as well as four different, attractively furnished Junior Suites. Rooms are equipped and decorated in a way that successfully blends current trends and history. The beautiful furniture and surfaces are combined with wellfunctioning, up-to-date services. All rooms are equipped with, among others, a kettle and ironing point, wi-fi, a flatscreen TV, and the Pillow Menu guaranteeing a good night’s sleep.The roof and the attic renovation, as well as the renovation of the courtyard façade and window switching will be carried out in the property during the dec 2013 - Dec 2014. These works are aimed to be done as customer friendly as possible, but may cause some inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.