We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki to your Saves list
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Kaivokatu, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Perfect old building situated near the hot spots in Helsinki. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and nice decorated, the food was excellent (very diversified) and the drinks as well. Overall, a great experience!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelSeuHP, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Calina M

Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased that your overall experience was so pleasent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    104
    39
    21
    6
See reviews for
25
81
34
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were looking forward to staying in this hotel in December as a family. I was very disappointed to receive an email stating they were cancelling our booking and could move us to the Holiday Inn or Crowne Plaza. No explanation and no word of apology. I have had no reply to my email by return and can only suggest you avoid this hotel as they have no concept of customer service, and not even a degree of common courtesy. They also liken themselves to HI and CP when they seem to be promoting their more established style on their website

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelSeuHP, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear sir
Thank you for your response. We are sorry for all the resentment.
I regret the impression that was given to your in our announcement concerning our temporary closure. I also appologise the lacking hotel's response to your first mail because of a misunderstanding.
We did try to give an optional choise in the best hotels possible, convenient high class HI in the city centre and the top hotel in Helsinki - CP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau-d'Olonne, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Experience was OK but considering the value for money-ratio it was definately not worth the relatively high price. Location is good if not excellent but the hotel is old. The venues for the bar and the brasserie are beautiful but the rooms and hallways just look plain and worn-out leaving the over-all impression lame.
Breakfast buffet was definitely nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelSeuHP, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. These kind of remarks are valuable to our future planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Southern Finland, Finland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

One of the oldest hotel in Helsinki with nice 1900th century atmosphere. In the lobby the interior was old fashioned. Rooms were big and clean and quiet. Beds and pillows were extremely nice. They have exceedingly fine looking dining room. Service was excellent. All and all money well spent

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelSeuHP, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words.
I am happy that your experience meets with our ambitions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Best thing about this hotel is the location - could also be a bad thing as no A/C in the rooms hence windows need to be open.

1st night room was on the back and 4th floor - next to next doors A/C units so noisy all night. Got updgraded to a Club room for further 3 nights and this was on the front overlooking station. Still noisy with people and trams but OK.

Breakfast not as good as other Helsinki hotels in my opinion and ran out of croissants 2 days out of 4 which wasn't good.

OK for the rate that we got it for though........Would stay again at the right rate!

Room Tip: Ask for 4th or 5th floor, back left rooms as you come out of lift - from memory those around 411.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelSeuHP, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
We are sorry for the trouble with the first room and the incomplete breakfast product.

Thank you also for giving a good tip for our future customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capital of the World
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a very cool prestige hotel from back in the day. They claim to be the oldest hotel in Helsinki, and I think they might be right. When you walked into the bar lobby the bar tender and the one old man in there stared at me as if they were ghosts. 80% of us slept bad for our enitre stay, each night. Perhaps there are some old haunted parts. Or maybe it was just the noise from the street, the awkward sideway placed bed. The breakfast gentleman is far from friendly and should not work in hospitality.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the court yard iso the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelSeuHP, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We regret the poor quality of your sleep and the attitude of some of our staff members. Your feedback has been processed in our staff meeting.

By the way - a legend tells that this house indeed has a ghost of it's own...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good old times. You can still feel the early 1900th atmosphere. ... but the rooms are very modern and clean. Excellent club rooms. Good menu in the restaurant. Breakfast quite good.
Even the hotel is close to main railway station, it is safe place to walk. Helsinki is safe and clean town.

Room Tip: Choose club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Address: 12 Kaivokatu, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki is a high class, tasteful business hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Historically over 170 years old Seurahuone is one of the most traditional hotels in Finland, and can be considered even internationally a state of the art hotel.Filled with a warm atmosphere Hotelli Seurahuone is a combination of the old time sophisticated spirit as well as modern high standard service. In addition to the individually appointed rooms the feeling of quality continues in the restaurant, the bar and the banquet floor.The hotel’s 118 accommodation rooms feature individual alternatives; Standard and Club room classes as well as four different, attractively furnished Junior Suites. Rooms are equipped and decorated in a way that successfully blends current trends and history. The beautiful furniture and surfaces are combined with wellfunctioning, up-to-date services. All rooms are equipped with, among others, a kettle and ironing point, wi-fi, a flatscreen TV, and the Pillow Menu guaranteeing a good night’s sleep.The roof and the attic renovation, as well as the renovation of the courtyard façade and window switching will be carried out in the property during the dec 2013 - Dec 2014. These works are aimed to be done as customer friendly as possible, but may cause some inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.