We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Finnish Jugend Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki to your Saves list
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Kaivokatu, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Örebro
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A beautiful Finnish Jugend Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a good example of Finnish Jugend. This hotel was Helsinkis "Societes hotel" in the early 1900th. The restaurant is very beautiful and also the Bar Socis. A lot of jugend elements everywhere. Vey tasty breakfast in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    101
    36
    20
    6
See reviews for
23
76
34
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This little bit old-fashioned hotel is situated in the perfect city center, near the railway station and close to main shopping centers. We stayed here just for one night and did not have problems of any kind. The service was very good, all the personnel was very competent and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean with big LCD television, the bed was comfortable and also the bathroom, although bit small, was clean. The breakfast was also very good. I would recommend it certainly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was my first stay in this hotel and I was looking forward to it. The location is very central. Service was very friendly. The lobby is small and dark and the reception desk is also small. Bar was closed - an interesting decision in the middle of the busiest tourist season! Our group had four rooms so I was able to peek into different rooms. It appears that the (standard) rooms (and their bathrooms) are all different in size and shape. The room I stayed in was small and the bathroom (with bathtub) was very small. Bed was comfortable, but it was slightly too small for two people, as was the sheet. There was only pillow per person in the room. If you need extra pillows you have to get them from the reception - not something you wish to do when you are all ready to go to bed. There is no A/C so you have to open the windows to cool down the room. There is no minibar in the room so you better BYO. The sound insulation in the rooms is poor - you can easily hear noise from neighboring rooms. There is a nightclub next door, which is open to 4 a.m. In the rooms on that side of the building you can hear the disco bump through the night. TV has a good selection of channels - except CNN, which is listed but does not show. Breakfast buffet was ok, but the selection of hot foods was limited. As there is a wide selection of hotels in the same price category with better rooms and services in the center city of Helsinki I will not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper floor and away from the night club next door so you may be able to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent our a couple of days at the Seurahuone celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. The junior suite facing the railway station was fabulous - well-appointed decor, beautiful bathroom (including a jacuzzi), and space relax in. The staff was very attentive and professional. The breakfast was sumptuous. In addition, the location was as central as it gets in Helsinki. Everything was within a walking distance. We had a fantastic experience and can recommend the Seurahuone without hesitation! We'll be staying at the hotel in the future as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imatra, Finland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I knew that this hotel very nice and rankink even better that regular ranking of this hotel.Nice old faschion rooms and athmosphere ,beautifull dining room with nice decorations everywhere like in old fashion casttle.Breakfast also good and staff nice and polity too.
Good food and good service in restaurant with reasonable price...if takink in to the consideration
local center prices.Ounly bad thing like usual or me ...no parking places.

Room Tip: Upper floors and not traffic sie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

what was good: comfortable beds, fantastic pillows

the design of the rooms is fantastic and they are quite large.

staff were very friendly and accommodating when we needed to change rooms (see below)

what was bad: there is a (might be two) nightclub near the hotel which was so unbearably loud that it kept us up until 2 AM. (we were facing the courtyard on the 3rd floor.) If you can't tolerate noise, I WOULD NOT risk booking a stay here. We tried 3 times to call the front desk to complain but no one answered so we had to get dressed and go downstairs to the main desk which was extremely frustrating.

That said, the hotel check-in lady was very apologetic and moved us to a quieter room.
quite a long queue to check-in as there is only one person at the desk.

There is only one very very old lift which makes for a bit of a wait sometimes (it serves 5 very tall floors and we were at the top)

Room Tip: if you think you might be susceptible to being kept awake by the thumping bass from the club nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at this central hotel for a few days before starting on a tour, and enjoyed the slightly old-world charm and friendly hospitality. Other recent reviews tell it pretty much as it is, and we would agree with those who commented on (a) the need to open windows to keep cool, as there is no control over the air conditioning; (b) the value of an inside room for having a quiet night; and (c) the delightful decor of the ballroom converted to the breakfast room.

I could not make the wifi work, but a cabled connection in the room meant that was not a problem.

The ice machine on the third floor made lots of noise (not audible in the rooms) but no ice.

My wife cannot speak too highly of the quality of the gluten-free options available for breakfast. The bread was good, the bread rolls were very nice, and the chocolate muffins were out-of-this-world. And that is from a connoisseur of many places that do not succeed in this area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inner courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Address: 12 Kaivokatu, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki is a high class, tasteful business hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Historically over 170 years old Seurahuone is one of the most traditional hotels in Finland, and can be considered even internationally a state of the art hotel.Filled with a warm atmosphere Hotelli Seurahuone is a combination of the old time sophisticated spirit as well as modern high standard service. In addition to the individually appointed rooms the feeling of quality continues in the restaurant, the bar and the banquet floor.The hotel’s 118 accommodation rooms feature individual alternatives; Standard and Club room classes as well as four different, attractively furnished Junior Suites. Rooms are equipped and decorated in a way that successfully blends current trends and history. The beautiful furniture and surfaces are combined with wellfunctioning, up-to-date services. All rooms are equipped with, among others, a kettle and ironing point, wi-fi, a flatscreen TV, and the Pillow Menu guaranteeing a good night’s sleep.The roof and the attic renovation, as well as the renovation of the courtyard façade and window switching will be carried out in the property during the dec 2013 - Dec 2014. These works are aimed to be done as customer friendly as possible, but may cause some inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.