We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but there are catches.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki to your Saves list
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Kaivokatu, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great location, but there are catches.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Located directly opposite the central station, this hotel is a perfect place to explore this fascinating city from.You could equally walk from the ferry terminus if you arrive this way into the city.

The hotel is old, classically designed and full of charm. It has a warmth that many more modern properties so desperately lack and in Helsinki it does add something to a city that can be brutally cold during the long cold winter.

My room was on the 4th floor, accessed via the old elevator or a classical stair climb, it was quite compact and the bed sat sideways, but was comfortable. There was a nice seating area too to relax in.

Bathroom was very tight, but again beautifully equipped.

Breakfast was good, a decent selection of foods, hot and cold and fruit. Not the most extensive but perfectly fine.

I would suggest that whilst this hotel has good business facilities with free wi-fi, it is probably best suited to the leisure market looking for location over form and style, but it does work for all markets.

Only other thing seemed to be a lack of air conditioning, but to be honest for most of the year, this is hardly going to be a major issue.

All in all, a lovely hotel and one I would consider if I were travelling with the family.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floors for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    110
    42
    24
    6
See reviews for
27
86
35
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a club room in March 2013, it is our second time in this beautiful Hotel and we are sure to come again and again as for us it has a remarkable aura of old good times and it is very different from modern chains of hotels, it is so special! It is special from the Reception area to the stairs and a high ceiling really big room with a view to Rail Way Station square which looks like it never sleeps and people are always there...

The renovated restaurant looks even better than in October 2012 - very carefully made renovation emphised the dignity of this place and the food selection is amazing for any age and taste.

The Hotel Team is friendly and helpfull

It is the right choice for your stay in Helsinki be you a businessman or a tourist!

Room Tip: Club Rooms are worth extra pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip in February 2013.

I would recommend this place to any business professionals who are heading to Helsinki, although I would have happily taken my fiance. Nice decor, warm bed (could have done with a thicker duvet to be fair but wasn't enough to put me off returning next time), central location right by the train and tram connections. Breakfast was good too although there was some restoration and development being done on the hotel at the time so the dining room was a little temporary.

My overall impression is that people in Helsinki are AWESOME! Such a friendly city. I was coming back from an exhibition and didn't have any Euros for the bus, then this kindly lady offered to buy my ticket. I actually think she saved my life as it was so cold (-18C) and I had no Idea how to get back, I think I'd have died of exposure.

Would love to see it again once the dining room is ready. might get a 5* next time. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed three nights in a double room in February 2013. I loved the hotel, finally not another modernized hotel. Classical tasteful furniture, but with a modern bathroom. Good sized room with a good bed. The room had a pillow menu, good idea; I could order the right pillow for me. Breakfast was ok. I asked for a room with a nice view, but the big concrete building on the other side of the street was maybe not the nicest. Very good location, 100 m to the railway station, 300 m to the National Museum and in the other direction the Museum of Modern Art, Kiasma, close to shopping, bars and restaurants. Even though my room faced the street I could not hear noise, but I stayed there during the week days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with our 4 year old son. The breakfast buffet was great,with a wide variety of healthy options. It even had soft boiled eggs and a choice of bread so our son could have eggs and soldiers. The breakfast area has recently been renovated and is quite lovely. We found the staff friendly and helpful and the hotel well run and clean. It is also very conveniently located close to the railway station, lake and shops and quite secure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel was under renovation and very few things worked as it should, and besides that the hotel really needed a renovation very worn , but besides that I got a good room but with a lot of noise and lights from the streets outside the railway station..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Address: 12 Kaivokatu, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki is a high class, tasteful business hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Historically over 170 years old Seurahuone is one of the most traditional hotels in Finland, and can be considered even internationally a state of the art hotel.Filled with a warm atmosphere Hotelli Seurahuone is a combination of the old time sophisticated spirit as well as modern high standard service. In addition to the individually appointed rooms the feeling of quality continues in the restaurant, the bar and the banquet floor.The hotel’s 118 accommodation rooms feature individual alternatives; Standard and Club room classes as well as four different, attractively furnished Junior Suites. Rooms are equipped and decorated in a way that successfully blends current trends and history. The beautiful furniture and surfaces are combined with wellfunctioning, up-to-date services. All rooms are equipped with, among others, a kettle and ironing point, wi-fi, a flatscreen TV, and the Pillow Menu guaranteeing a good night’s sleep.The roof and the attic renovation, as well as the renovation of the courtyard façade and window switching will be carried out in the property during the dec 2013 - Dec 2014. These works are aimed to be done as customer friendly as possible, but may cause some inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.