We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located and stylish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki to your Saves list
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bedford UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“well located and stylish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We booked in advance and got a reasonable rate. We were in a standard room , I booked a quiet room and we got one. However we were not aware of any loud noise around the hotel at all. Perhaps the disco is not operating now?
The breakfast is a Scandinavian buffet with a wide selection of foods.
Our room was compact with a double bed, bath/shower but only one comfortable chair and another desk chair. The toiletries comprised the Lux squeegie shower/shapoo/soap dispenser common in hotels now. There were not many drawers. No kettle. An in-room safe (small) and TV with multi channels. Free Wi Fi. Mini bar/fridge. Staff helpful.
In the lobby you can buy coffeee 24 hours and snacks, which was handy as we had a quick turnaround at one point.
The hotel is stylish. It is in a good central location, and a very short walk to a supermarket (sited by the Metro station).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    395
    147
    20
    9
See reviews for
111
183
78
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

I have stayed at the Scandic Simonkenttä for two nights this summer. I had reserved a superior room and was given a dark room facing the taxi stand (btw make sure to check out the Scandic website when booking, since they have a lot of specials going on, but they're well hidden). Clearly not very superior. When I complained I was quickly given another room, now facing the Kamppi square. I would soon regret that change of rooms!

The rooms facing the Kamppi side (other side than main entrance) get a brutal noise treatment at night. There's a night club on top of the adjacing buiding (the new central bus station), called "The Tiger". And it sure roars! You will hear the bass going boom-boom way until after 4 o'clock in the morning. And that was not on the weekend. The windows cannot be opened, so there's nothing to be closed that will protect you from the incessant rhythms.
Tired from the trip I did fall asleep anyway on the first night and was hopeful that the loud music might have been due to a single event. But the second night was the same.
Don't get me wrong here. I'm in my late thirties and a total music freak. But especially when travelling with a child you need a little rest at night.

When I complained upon check-out I asked whether that club had newly opened. But the guy at the front desk told me that it had been open for several months. And that there had been many complaints, already!
So why the heck don't they have the decency to tell people in advance what they're going to experience at night? Nor will they give you a discount or at least a proper apology. They really gave me the feeling not to care a lot about it.

So, if you choose to stay at the Scandic Simonkenttä and you want to have a good night's sleep, STAY AWAY from the rooms facing Kamppi square.
Or choose any other hotel downtown that at least will give you a proper treatment.

The room itself was ok. It was bright, clean and spacious enough for the price. Some rooms are very dark and only have small windows.

The breakfast buffet was extremely crowded and we escaped without eating or drinking there. The food didn't look very appealing nor was there a big variety, especially not of warm food.

The location is very central but so is the night club nearby...

Internet access (WLAN) was avalaible for free. Make sure to get an access code in the lobby which will give you free access for 24 hours.

It could be a nice hotel with a great location. But since they don't treat their guests with respect I will never choose it anymore. Luckily there's enough equally priced alternatives downtown.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

This is a crisp hotel with good finishes and friendly staff. Clean and modern with comfortable beds. Good location near transport, shops and restaurants. Stayed for two nights prior to side trip to St Petersburg, and again on return. Happily stowed luggage and helpful. Great range of breakfast fare. Very pricey if booked at short notice but bargains are available well in advance.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

I've been wanting to stay at the Scandic Simonkentta since I visited Helsinki for the first time in 2003 because of its excellent location in the center (and underground connection to Kamppi and Forum shopping centers) and its modern looks. I finally could stay there for two nights in July 2009 with my wife and 8 months old baby thanks to an incredible 55 euros room/night offer breakfast included. The stay met all my expectatives. I can't find any downside! We liked everything, especially the very comfortable beds and the free WLAN internet. Breakfast was very good too, even tough some of the things were finished by the time we got to the restaurant. But that's our fault, 'cause we are always late... :)

Absolutely recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

stayed there for 5 nights. Very good location and modern rooms with ironing facilities. However: Not really clean, really cold for a Mediterranean citizen like myself (reception said no heat is provided during spring as the Finnish are used to this weather!!!), breakfast is rich but only adopted to the taste of Scandinavian travellers(lots of fish, poor cheese and ham, no pastry).
Overall ok, but really, it could be better

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
245 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

If walking around Helsinki it seems that you come upon either a Sokos or Scandic hotel every couple of blocks, no your mind is not playing tricks on you. The start of our Baltic tour started at a Sokos, so we decided to end it at a Scandic.

The Scandic was the fanciest of the hotels we stayed at. The lobby was airy, well-lit and bustling with activity. Not very common with other hotels, the hallways leading up to the guestrooms are actually situated along the outer walls of the hotel such that the halls are well illuminated by the windows. The guestroom is an interesting enigma. Though in reality quite small, the room appears more spacious than it really is thanks to that all-too familiar Scandinavian decor.

One night in a triple here was €125. Breakfast and wifi internet access are included. The hotel location is great. It is right by the Kamppi shopping center, 15 minutes from the central train station, and 20 minutes from the south harbor. It's a shame we were here for one night only.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

I stayed here 2 times for work. The location is fantastic if you want to experience Helsinki. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious. Everything is new.
The breakfast buffet has a big variety and the restaurant has a great view over the open square. People watching is perfect!
Walking to the main street takes less than 5 minutes. Shopping is just around the corner literally.
Staff were extremely helpful and gave us a lot of guidance on what to do and where to go. Good value for money by nothern european standards.

May be a bit pricey for private vacations without an offer package.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
GLO Hotel Art
#14 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski Hotel
Scandic Marski Hotel
#29 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.