We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strangely no kettle...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki to your Saves list
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Strangely no kettle...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Maybe it's just a British thing, but I do like having a kettle in my hotel room so I can have a coffee whilst getting ready, but there wasn't one. Apart from that the hotel was clean and tidy and very warming to guests. The bar and mini bar was fine, as was the morning breakfast.

Location wise, it's right in the middle of Helsinki, however on a very steep hill (not great for wheelchairs). The rooms are spacious, and the bathroom is really well designed.

Would I come back? Yes, as it's a nice clean hotel with friendly staff.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    289
    110
    17
    9
See reviews for
69
129
69
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hämeenlinna
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel is normal, maybe average. The weather was very warm, so the room was hot in the night. The room were we stayed is opposite the entrance of the hotel, second floor but quiet. The staff was polite and friendly excluding the staff in the restaurant during dining. Maybe they were too busy.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south and west are quiter (?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragoer, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is the place to be if you want to experience Helsinki, location is perhaps the best you can get, the hotel is good, friendly staff, good atmosphere, price ratio is book at a saturday and in good time, so you get the best price, you are close to publlic transportation which is really good to use going around the city (trams), I can highly recommend this.

Room Tip: Get on the 4th floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here for a recent wedding - when we arrived (12:30am) we were told that they only had smoking rooms left - we protested that as an asthma sufferer this wasnt going to be a good nights sleep - the staff placed us in a triple bed room - which really should have been the first option as no one was coming after us to check in at 12:30am. My brother however wasnt as lucky and he and his partner had to be moved to a sister hotel.

Room wise - if your room faces towards the Kampii Centre be sure to avail of the black out blinds as there is one "time square - esque" tv screen that flashes all night long. If your room is on the front of hotel - the Vatican night club will keep up awake until 4am.

Location wise - hotel is in the centre of helsinki, 5 minute walk from the port and the Esplande. Breakfast in the morning is all you can eat.

Room Tip: Room wise - if your room faces towards the Kampii Centre be sure to avail of the black out blinds as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are the size of clown cars. The bathroom and floors were NEVER cleaned during our 7 day stay. The hotel refused to turn on the air conditioning when the temperature outside was 87 degrees F with humidity. Therefore, we had to keep the windows open all night to the city sounds. People parties outside all night long. Buses, trains etc....got very little sleep. Breakfast was ok but I saw many people use their hand to pick out bread, cheese, and pastries so I didn't eat breakfast. Staff tried to be helpful but there were not enough fans for all the rooms. I don't usually stay at hotels like this but we were with a hockey team. My suggestions, TURN ON THE AIR-CONDITIONING! And clean the floors......

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Just a short walk and you are in the shopping district of Helsinki. We think there are some good restaurants close by but as it was Mid Summer holiday, and a Sunday, nothing much was open in the evening. The room was quite small but sufficient and clean. I found the staff at the front desk to be helpful but my travelling companions don't agree as the staff didn't seem to be concerned about helping them to find a place to eat dinner. Even the restaurant in the hotel was closed. It was suggested to them to take a snack from what was on sale in the lobby snack stand - potato chips for dinner. Luckily the buffet breakfast was very good with lots of choice in abundance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

It is very proud of its green credentials - masses of wood in the decor, even the room keys are laminated wood. You have separate your rubbish into paper, vegetable and ordinary grot. The bathroom bin is lined with a brown paper bag.

Downsides - no aircon on the hottest day for 50 years. I think it got to 28/29 C. No tea and coffee making. Upsides - iron and ironing board and a real fridge that you could chuck the minibar goods out of and chill your own water etc. Bathroom was more of a minimalist wetroom, so I was back to a flannel wash as I detest showers.

Breakfast was fine. There was a concession to those of us who can't eat wheat or gluten - rice cakes. I am sure out there there are some people who enjoy chewing polystyrene but I am not one of them. Most gluten free bread substitutzes are to be honest horrid, and a breakfast a bit of fried potatoe with the bacon and egg fills the carbohydrate gap.
The hotel is very peaceful, syet it sits above and in the middle of one of the largest. shopping areas I have ever seen

Apart from being a bit overwarm we slept well

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.