We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki to your Saves list
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here twice in June. As stated by other reviewers the location is perfect. Our rooms were basic but well-maintained and clean. The beds were very comfortable and there was no problem with noise.The value was excellent because of the summer rates and the restaurant vouchers I received due to my Scandic Friends membership.We had two meals in the restaurant and found the food to be very good, particularly the steaks. We experienced outstanding service from Marjo in reception who helped us with some problems in a very friendly and positive way.
A high recommendation for this hotel, especially with the summer rates.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    301
    115
    17
    9
See reviews for
76
137
71
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Spent 4 days at this hotel for a conference in June. There was nothing remarkable about it and no problems. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Helsinki. The rooms were, as expected, small(ish) but had everything we needed and the beds were comfortable and the shower excellent, so there was really nothing to complain about. The breakfast buffet was quite good with a good selection of items and fresh stuff coming out regularly. The location can't really be beat so overall we felt like it was good value for our money. I would pay this much for a similar hotel elsewhere but everything in Scandinavia is expensive so you have to alter your expectations just a bit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The good thing of this hotel is its location. hotel situated heart of the city. Walking distance from Central Railways and Bus Station. Tram goes to every part of helsinki from Hotel Door.Room is good. but Standard room doesn't have any facility like coffee maker,any Bath amenities but room was well cleaned. Breakfast was nice and testy.there is sauna but due to my meeting timing i could not have the same. Helsinki Shopping and Party life just all around.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel is right in the centre of the city. The view from some of the rooms is over a square outside of a shopping center, not such a good view from all the rooms. Rooms are very Nordic, with pine everywhere. Beds are comfortable, air conditioning works well, shower is hot and powerful.
Breakfast can be very busy because its a big hotel, but the food that should be hot is hot, and refreshed regularly.
The staff are plentiful and helpful.
Beware though, there is a slope up to the hotel. So if mobility is an issue this might not be the place for you.
Most certainly to be recommended though.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterswijk, Nederland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here during the week of New Year, together with friends and family.
Our room was a bit small for two and a baby, although everything was available and the bathroom was very nice.

Breakfast buffet had everything. It was very busy during the breakfast, so getting a table with 4 adults, a 7-year old and a baby was sometimes hard.

We watched the fireworks from the terrace.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I spent 4 nights in this hotel and I can say that it is an appropriate place for a business trip: firstly, it is situated in the very center of the city - 5 minutes away from the railway station, secondly, it is surrounded with small restaurants and, so is not a problem to find a place for dinner, thirdly, they serve very good breakfast and the restaurant is spacious, so there are plenty of seats and you don't have to wait at the entrance. However, the bathroom is poorly supplied, there are no tea facilities in the room and I cannot say that they are keen on cleaning, but all these small deficiencies will not spoil your stay if you are not too demanding.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view to the entrance are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have been in Helsinki for business and this hotel is in a perfect location. From there it is really convenient to reach the station and main tram lines, so for me it was very easy to reach my working place. Other than that it is walking distance to the main touristic attractions, so every evening I could visit the city as a tourist.
I did not like so much the furniture style, that is totally different from the modern style of the lobby and the breakfast room. Altough the room was very clean and confortable.
The breakfast was rich, various and very fresh.
I would definitely go back and recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.