We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and clean with a helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki to your Saves list
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simple and clean with a helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed here one night in May on a business trip. I joined Scandic Friends right after the hotel was booked. I phoned ahead and asked for a tea kettle in my room. Everything was provided as requested. The breakfast was excellent. As a Scandic member, I received a coupon for money off on a beverage from the mini bar or store. Great value. Room was quiet and the window could be opened. Very convenient location. Room was larger than most European hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    290
    110
    17
    9
See reviews for
69
129
69
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Spent the weekend based at this hotel,the location is perfect just off of the main road,within 3 minute walk of the main train station (where the airport bus terminates), 2 minute walk to the main bus station and within 10 minute walk of the harbour. The hotel is a large city centre hotel but all of the staff made me feel as if they knew me and I mattered to them. The room was a reasonable size and well furnished. The breakfast was very good with a large choice to cater for all tastes. Beware the restaurant is closed on Sunday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

One of the best advantage of the hotel is location - just few minutes walking from the main railways station. The room were big and nice. I was surprissed by amanities in a bathroom. You could find besides shamoo, shower gel also hair cinditioner or body lotion. The biggest disaventage was a lack of a free mineral water in the room. The breakfast was good but really crowded - almost impossible to find a free table. The staf was friendly but in a cold way - I could not feel expected or welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikkeli, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have stayed at Simonkenttä a few times over the past year and have always had a pleasant stay. The hotel is modern, staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are more than adequate. We stayed on the 7th floor this time, in a room facing the inner courtyard. The room itself was standard and quiet, all we needed for one night's stay. The soap dispenser in the bathroom had not been filled though, and we did notice the floor underneath the beds was dusty when looking for a lost piece of jewellery. Frustratingly, the rooms always only have one extra pillow in the cupboard so we had to call for another one to be delivered. But again, this was done promptly so all good in the end. The 7th floor has a balcony overlooking the marketplace which is ideal if you are a smoker. Breakfast was good - plenty to choose from and enough staff to keep everything running smoothly. It did get very full around 9am though so worth going earlier if you are able. Checking out is always easy and pleasant. The location of this hotel is brilliant and with tram stops and a taxi rank right outside, it is a great base when exploring the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was gorgeous and in a good location in regards to being close to restaurants and shops. Note thought it is a bit of a hike on foot from the train and bus station as it is up a steep hill. Overall, the hotel staff was kind and helpful. However, the bar and restaurant seemed to have odd hours by American standards. The bar was closed all day on Sunday. The hotel itself was quite modern and comfortable. The sauna was fabulous and the gym was more than sufficient (several machines and free weights). There is a great outdoor balcony on the seventh floor overlooking a square.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel would be fine and with excellent location, if it wasnt ranked as 4 star and wouldnt ask from cca 150 euro a night. The value for money is poor and the room/service is adequate only to a good 3 star hotel.

Rooms are spacious, but very dark, often on the inside circle of the hotel, so facing a wall of other rooms or reception.
The facilities in the room are quite limited- virtually no storage facilities, so if you stay for longer time (we stayed for a week), you wont be able to unpack. There is no kettle and in the bathroom you will find only two towels and a soap (forget about all the other little things you normally get in hotels as part of the hygiene pack). Our safe was broken as well.

The room was clean when we came, but the room service is extremely limited, so after a couple of days you live in dirt. The cleaning lady never washed the basin, the shower, or cleaned the floor in the bathroom. She basically did the bed, vacuum cleaned randomly for about half a minute the room and left.

Breakfast is nice, even though you can get only black coffee. If you want lets say cappuccino, or anything else, you have to pay extra. Have never seen that anywhere in the world.
To use a lift, you will need your room key, which never works in the lift. Be ready to spend cca 5 minutes every time you try to use the lift to get to your floor. These are smaller problems, but get on your nerves after a while.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room, which faces the city rather than other parts of the hotel- might be a bit lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

I don't come to Helsinki very often, but when I do, I stay at this hotel. Modern, nice rooms and a very central location allow me to see a bit of Helsinki even if I stay only for one night. In walking distance to shops and sights as well as easy to get to from the airport (30 min by taxi).

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.