We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki to your Saves list
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent location and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Scandic Simonkenttä has a good price and quality relationship. The location is perfect and hotel has a nice bar with a view to central Helsinki. Rooms are just basic but clean and have wooden floor. Service is efficient and unfortunately a little distant.

The breakfast buffet did not meet up to the same standard, selection was cheap. The view saved allthough a lot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    294
    110
    17
    9
See reviews for
71
129
69
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed in Simonkentta for a weekend and really enjoyed it. The hotel has great location: you can walk there from the train station in 5 min, but the area is already calmer that just around the station.

We chose a room with private sauna and it turned out to be a delightful experience. The sauna is easy to operate and heats up in less that 30 min. Besides, the room was located on the upper floor and the sauna had a window, so you can enjoy warmth and the view on city lights at the same time... It was a perfect final of every day in winter Helsinki.

The room itself was modern and clean, although not spotless: small stains on the carpet, everything else OK.

Nothing bad to say about breakfast. Good selection, both cold and warm, including a few typical Finnish things like smoked fish, rye and rice pies, berry soup (tasty alternative to packaged juices which I personally don't like =)

Tip 1. If you book your room on Scandic site 28 or more days before arrival and prepay, you have much better price. We paid 137 euro per night. I checked the price for our dates a few days before our arrival, and then it was 200 euro.

Tip 2: We had a kettle, bathrobes and slippers in our room but not all room type include them. All the amenities for each room type are listed on Scandic site, so look it up if this is important for you.

Room Tip: We had a room with private sauna and never regretted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

No one on reception when I arrived. Air con you cannot turn off so you have a constant hum all night. Beds with thin top mattresses which aren't comfortable. Uninspiring decor in room and hotel in general. Bathroom looked like it should have been in a hospital. Breakfast average but room was too overcrowded. Service not that friendly. Won't stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel during the Travel Fair Matka in Helsinki in January 2014.

I was met by friendly people behind the reception who told me that I would have to pay another € 20,00 per night if I wanted a room with a bath tub. This was a so called superior room, but for the rest there was nothing superior about it. There was a mini bar, two soft single beds, a tiny desk and a small bathroom. Everything OK, but absolutely no feeling of luxury.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well placed if your means is to be in the center. 3 minutes walk from railway station, that's where shuttle from airport arrives too.3 minutes walks to the biggest department store and pedestrian street for shopping.The services in the hotel are good, the sauna is very nice and they also have a small workout room. Rooms are comfortable enough with basic amenities. Free WiFi throughout the hotel

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The location of this hotel is just perfect if you want to go shopping, museums, theatre, cinema or walk round the Helsinki city center. There are plenty of restaurants, bars and night clubs nearby. Check in was fast and front desk staff were nice and polite. My room was clean and quite peaceful, there was some noise from the street below but didn’t really bother me. There was a minibar in the room. The bathroom was somewhat smallish but okay for one person. Horrible pillows and the room got cold during the night. Breakfast was okay but it has had the same variety for years now (the same old same old). I would like to seem some changes every now and then. During the weekend breakfast room was really crowded and it seemed that there wasn’t enough staff to clean the tables etc. Trays and egg cups were not washed well, that was somewhat unappealing. During week there was plenty of room and everything seemed to run much more smoothly. The Hotel bar is okay for an evening drink but it is really expensive even in the Finnish standards, it is just a lobby bar, nothing fancy. So, I don’t quite get the high prices. Tried the restaurant. Food was okay but the service was slow and poor. Why the hotel bar and the restaurant are closed on Sundays? And I wonder if anyone from the hotel management reads what’s said here in TripAdvisor, since it seems the complaints are the same year after year but nothing happens.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Yet another successful trip to Helsinki and a very pleasant stay with one of the best hotel groups in Scandinavia. I have been a frequent guest member with Scandic since 2010 and it is one of the best decisions I have made. I'm sure their many other members feel the same.

Scandic Simonkentta as rightly said by many other travelers in their reviews is a very centrally located hotel with easy access to the central station, trams and bus stops. It is surronded by various restaurants offering a wide variety of cuisine. The hotel restaurant also has some tasty treats to offer.

The hotel has a huge breakfast spread which is included in the price no matter which room you book and yes at times it is a little busy but I guess that only shows how popular the hotel is.

Normally I book a room facing the Kamppi square as it becomes a little dull for me on the other side but I guess if you looking for some quiet time then that would be your choice. The rooms one can say are not huge but big enough. Some have a couch, some with bath tub and some even with steam sauna's. The rooms are very clean and you can opt to have the room cleaned everyday of your stay. The room amenities include a big screen TV, mini bar, safe, ironing board etc. The hotel also offers free wi-fi.

I travel to Helsinki frequently for business and have used Scandic Simonkentta many times now. It is like a second home to me. The staff is very welcoming and friendly and try to make your stay very comfortable. Vera and Marjo at the front desk are very helpful. Special mention for Julia and Jyri for taking care of the smallest needs. I thank you all for taking such good care. I'm sure Scandic credits its staff for its success.

Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: If you are looking for some quiet time then opt for the rooms facing the hotel entrance, others who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.