We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but need to step up on security at the lobby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Save Saved
You added Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good but need to step up on security at the lobby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and pleasant. Staff were quite helpful for general enquiries. Upon the first day of our group arrival, we were required to fill registration cards for the hotel. In a short while, 2 of our colleagues' bags were stolen. Passports and everything was gone. That was the act of a theft gang (couple) roaming around in the hotel lobby. Hotel need to step up on lobby security to identify suspicious persons and also prevent non-hotel guests to be roaming around in the lobby.

Nevertheless, hotel has good control over security for room access. Lift could only be activated with scanning of the room key. Hotel is connected to the shopping mall next door via basement. Hotel is situated in central location within walking distance to the Central Railway Station. One could easily acquire a transit to the airport and other cities. There are many shopping malls nearby. Also walking distance to some major attractions such as the Lutheran Church and even the Uspenski Cathedral and harbour for the Silja and Viking Terminals (if stroll is preferred over bus and tram rides).

Hotel rooms design were minimalistic and clean. We checked in twice throughout our journey. The room for my second check in was very small and cramp.

Breakfast spread was quite good with varieties. Good supply of fruits.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    257
    96
    15
    9
See reviews for
64
113
64
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Nice hotel in the middle of Helsinki. Improved recently breakfast and lobby. Ageing starts to be visible in rooms. If you are using garage pls note that you are not able to drive out from garage earlier than 7 a.m.

Check in is often very busy but other vice lobby is pretty peaceful place. You may enter shop centers located next to hotel by corridor below.

Hotel is build late 90´s so you will not be disturbed by traffic noise.
Price use to be high.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed for one night in the middle of the week, booked only last-minute.

The hotel is nice and very conveniently located, the staff is friendly, breakfast standard for Scandic hotels, and the room a bit on a small side but clean and functional nevertheless. The hotel feels overpriced for what it is, though (we paid 185euro/night). So book early for better price and you'll be satisfied!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The location can't be beat: it's close to the train station, museums, great restaurants (try Gaijin which is a 10 minute walk) and the absolutely fantastic design neighborhood that is a wonderful place to walk around. Rooms are very functional and basic; good outlet placement so you can work in bed plugged in, though the wifi should be faster but all in all it's comfortable. I liked the lounge area in the lobby, the breakfast is fine, sort of standard hotel buffet that caters to business travelers. The gym is small but well equipped with resistance machines, a treadmill, a rowing machine and a stationary bike (no elliptical, though.) A sauna is expected in Finland and it's utilitarian - it could have been a bit warmer and the opening hours are fairly short, odd since it's not staffed.

The reason for the 3 rating is the security seems fairly lax. I checked in in a big group and unbeknownst to us, there were thieves lurking in the lobby, working in tandem who made off with 2 people's stuff - they lost everything: money, passports, credit cards, phones, etc. The hotel didn't seem overly surprised by this and then when I checked out, I left my luggage in their storage room. I wasn't given any claim check or anything. I came back to get it that evening and the desk clerk pushed a button that opened the storage room down the hall. I could have just walked in off the street and said my luggage was there and the door would have been opened, equally, I could have walked off with somebody else's suitcase. They need a better system and a better sense that Helsinki has a crime problem. I would stay there again, but I would be extra vigilant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Reception and check in were very good, room was standard, twin beds, one mattress seemed a little bowed so I used the other bed which was comfortable enough. Decor is minimal. Bathroom was a wet room. Was a little cold at night. Breakfast had a good selection- continental, cereals, breads, porridge and hot (English- there were baked beans!) breakfast to choose from. Staff very helpful; though we had checked out, we were given access to a private area to get changed after our business meeting, before our flight. There is a sauna and gym as well, though i didn't have time to use either. V close to centre with train station, bars, restaurants and shops within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located for the train station and a short walk from the airport shuttle bus. Rooms are a good size, clean and quiet. Staff are good too. Breakfast is always included at Scandic hotels and it's pretty good too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Scandic Simonkenttä is basic Scandic style with great location next to Kamppi shopping center. You walk to the railway station in less than 10 minutes. The rooms are clean, furniture a bit dated tho and staff professional. The breakfast was same as in most Scandic hotels, at least in Finland, it seamed. Something for everyone. We went for breakfast after 9 and it was very crowded. However, the receptionist did say at check in that after 9 it´s gonna be busy at breakfast, and so it was. Our room was facing the Narikkatori square. Even tho we were on the 4th floor we heard some music and other noises from outside. But we were so tired that it didn´t bother us that much.
I can recommend Scandic Simonkettä if you´re looking for a nice basic hotel from the city center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.