We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accessible, central location, expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Save Saved
You added Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Accessible, central location, expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel alone for work - on my own cost, though. I chose the hotel because of the central location and because I know that Scandic hotels are accessible for a wheelchair user like me.

It was accessible. The location is a bit difficult because there's an uphill from train station to the hotel but I figured out I could go through the shopping centre Kamppi to avoid the hill. The room was spacious and nothing was placed too high for me.

The only disappointment was the breakfast. The hotel was quite expensive but the breakfast was not too varied. I would have liked more choice. I was surprised that the staff wasn't as friendly as in other Scandics.

Scandic has their own program for regular clients. The members get points for staying there and points mean benefits. I was very sorry to hear that this stay of mine didn't get me any points at all because I had made the reservation by telephone and not online. It's unequal because I can't be sure to get an accessible room. I have to make sure I will get it by calling.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    257
    96
    15
    9
See reviews for
64
114
64
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oslo, norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for the second time over the weekend with a friend. The hotel is situated practically next both to the main railway station and coach station in the city, as well as next to the tube and above a huge indoors parking lot. Lots of restaurants, sights and shopping too.
The room was clean and of good size. Beds ok, but the pilows were worn and much too thin. Practical but nothing extra. The receptionist gave a warm and professional welcome. The lounge was packed of tourists so the hotel seems to be popular. Almost too popular I'd say as the breakfast was simply chaotic. All hotel quests seemed to have breakfast at the same time. The tables lie very close to each other so you felt as if you had been in somebody else's party. There was food enough okay, but people in crowds tend to make a mess. I normally sit for a good while and enjoy my breakfast when travelling, but in Scandic Simonkentta this was out of the question.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyväskylä, Finland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

There are several Scandics in the central Helsinki and this is the most centrally located. Also the standard category rooms are here bit freshier than in other scandics in center (Scandic Paasi is an exception, but it is located a bit more off from the heart of Helsinki). However, the rooms are noticeably smaller here. Hotel staff was helpful in managing to fit family of four to standard room. Extra bed arrangement did not leave too much floor space but this was ok as we needed the room only for sleeping. We did not hear any outdoor noise.

The restaurant offers "classic Scandic" menu but this time I was surprised about the price/quality of the food. Especially as during weekends frequent guests receive -20% discount + children get 50% off. (kids even got the same amount of food than grown-ups). Breakfast is the same as in all Scandics: standard and boring but you know what you get.

If you are travelling with car, -50% parking discount during weekends is considerable as in other hotels, the parking cost may be quite high.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Excellent location, very good service, good quality room with comfortable bed. What else you need? There is car park under the hotel and they are offering 30% discounts during week and 50% discounts on weekends. Typical finnish breakfast - a lot of choices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been at this Hotel for business reasons and I appreciated the comfort, the style and the perfect organization. Rooms are large and well furnished and the services are of good quality. Moreover the hotel is located at the very center of Helsinki very close to the train station and to the metro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here three nights. The hotell was overall very good. The location and the helpfull staff is great! The breakfast ladies were a bit slow though. The bread tended to run out. (there was a window that wasn't fully tainted from the bathroom to the rest of the room. a bit wierd when you stay there with friends.)

Room Tip: Ask for a view towards the square; really nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Ok, the location cannot be beaten in Helsinki - good reason to choose if the offer is good!

But, be prepared for smallish rooms that are getting bit outdated. No complaints on cleanliness level, breakfast, service..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.