We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meeting room and terrace on the 8th floor....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki to your Saves list
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Nice, France
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great meeting room and terrace on the 8th floor....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Central business come weekend tourist hotel. Its modern, open and informal in that typically Scandinavian way with no frills or anything plush or particularly memorable. I recommend taking a free bike if you have the time and the weather is clement. Helsinki is compact & plenty of cycle paths but be aware that some of the bikes do not have lever breaks (reverse pedal to brake) so the first few kilometres may be hair-raising! Great meeting room on the 8th floor with terrace and bbq facility should you need it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    333
    126
    19
    9
See reviews for
84
155
72
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warwick, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights. It is in a great location for getting around helsinki. The buses and trams are nearby and the main shopping (Kamppi) is right next to hotel. The room was clean and tidy and the beds comfortable. We ate in the restaurant which was pricey (aren;t they all in helsinki) but the food was excellent. Breakfast was included in the price and it was fresh and plenty of choices both hot and cold. The staff were not very friendly but were efficient when asked a question.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

I've always had good experiences with Scandic hotels. Scandic Simonkentta was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is extremely well located, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast very satisfactory. The staff were attentive. I had a problem with my luggage at the airport and got aid by hotel staff, with the exception of an employee that I don't remember the name. There is a shopping mall next to the hotel. If you go to Helsinki I certainly recommend this hotel.
I emphasize that it is a hotel for those who will make tourism, walking through the city. Certainly at the end of the day you will be able to relax in your room. The restaurant was very good also.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I am a frequent traveller to Helsinki, and If compared to other 4* hotels Scandic Simonkentta delivers the worst service in the city, and the price is no single cent lower. 1) Upon arrival quite late we found our rooms incompletely cleaned. 2) In the Easter night some children started playing hockey in floor's hall - no reaction from front desk until we called concierge twice (!). 3) At breakfast the restauarant constantly ran out of deserts, well, it was Easter, but it's natural, that there will be more people staying at the hotel. 4) a piece of food was left unattended for 4 hours in hall outside our door.
Moreover, at check-in we were asked if we booked 2 rooms, and we
clarified to the front desk man, that this was incorrect - we booked
only ONE room. So I was very frustrating to get messages from my travel agent and bank infoming me about charge-off a penalty due to NOSHOW - NON-STAYING IN THE HOTEL. It's absurd. Both me and my wife spent several hours putting letter to the hotel management to solve this problem, yet the only answer we got was "Thank you for your email. I see that you were here then and booked two rooms from booking.com. These rooms were *** and ***. We have no info of any penalties. This is basically all we know."
So, it's totally mismanaged hotel, and I do suggest to find other places to stay in Helsinki with same price but much more hospitality.

Room Tip: Don't ever stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I wasn't staying in such clean and nice hotel in Helsinki for a while. So it rooms are spacy and clean, a bit strange paintings, but as many opinion as many people. Clean bathroom, maybe you could expect some vanity sets for such hotel, but shower gel was there. Huge, breakfast, around 8 it was quite crowdy, so some food was missing. Next morning we went later and it was excelent.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.E. PA
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Because of the snow there were plows running in the plaza outside at 4 in the morning. Very noisy. Trash trucks as well. Rooms are standard size for Helsinki. Decent business hotel. Lobby bar is nothing special. Getting a taxi can be a challenge in the morning. Suggest you book one in advance if you can.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

I chose this hotel for my first Helsinki visit after trawling reviews and finding a great price on it. I stayed for four nights last week and I'm still grinning about the whole experience.

After a long train trip from Kuopio lugging a 20kg suitcase, it was a breeze getting there as you only need to take the 3T-Eläintarha tram one stop from the station to Simonkatu, and you're on the doorstep. When I got there and asked if I could leave my bags to go out, reception automatically offered to check me in instead, though it was two hours early.

Everything about the hotel is stylish, spotlessly clean, modern and polished, from the rooms to the sauna and gym. The included buffet breakfast is large, Nordic-influenced (think blueberry soup, mini Finnish rice pies..), and good.

But to me, the real winning factor about this hotel is location, location, LOCATION. It's less expensive than the hotels which are right by the train station, yet the 3T tram, one of Helsinki's great sightseeing routes, is right at the door along with several buses. And that's only the beginning of the convenience, because the hotel lift opens straight into the big adjacent Kamppi Shopping Centre if you take it to the bottom floor. That gives you easy access to shopping, food, Kamppi Metro Station, as well as an easy route to/from different blocks of the city such as Fredrikinkatu, Annankatu and Salomonkatu. I was able to duck in and out of the hotel for short breaks from sightseeing or to pick up stuff I forgot without wasting any valuable time, because it is just so central and well-linked to the city. I was able to go on spur-of-the-moment tram cruises or walks around the city whenever I so wished.

This is a great hotel in a great city. I can't wait to stay here again, and I highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.