We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come back for next stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki to your Saves list
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Will come back for next stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I wasn't staying in such clean and nice hotel in Helsinki for a while. So it rooms are spacy and clean, a bit strange paintings, but as many opinion as many people. Clean bathroom, maybe you could expect some vanity sets for such hotel, but shower gel was there. Huge, breakfast, around 8 it was quite crowdy, so some food was missing. Next morning we went later and it was excelent.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    427
    162
    25
    10
See reviews for
125
206
90
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
S.E. PA
Level Contributor
247 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Because of the snow there were plows running in the plaza outside at 4 in the morning. Very noisy. Trash trucks as well. Rooms are standard size for Helsinki. Decent business hotel. Lobby bar is nothing special. Getting a taxi can be a challenge in the morning. Suggest you book one in advance if you can.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

I chose this hotel for my first Helsinki visit after trawling reviews and finding a great price on it. I stayed for four nights last week and I'm still grinning about the whole experience.

After a long train trip from Kuopio lugging a 20kg suitcase, it was a breeze getting there as you only need to take the 3T-Eläintarha tram one stop from the station to Simonkatu, and you're on the doorstep. When I got there and asked if I could leave my bags to go out, reception automatically offered to check me in instead, though it was two hours early.

Everything about the hotel is stylish, spotlessly clean, modern and polished, from the rooms to the sauna and gym. The included buffet breakfast is large, Nordic-influenced (think blueberry soup, mini Finnish rice pies..), and good.

But to me, the real winning factor about this hotel is location, location, LOCATION. It's less expensive than the hotels which are right by the train station, yet the 3T tram, one of Helsinki's great sightseeing routes, is right at the door along with several buses. And that's only the beginning of the convenience, because the hotel lift opens straight into the big adjacent Kamppi Shopping Centre if you take it to the bottom floor. That gives you easy access to shopping, food, Kamppi Metro Station, as well as an easy route to/from different blocks of the city such as Fredrikinkatu, Annankatu and Salomonkatu. I was able to duck in and out of the hotel for short breaks from sightseeing or to pick up stuff I forgot without wasting any valuable time, because it is just so central and well-linked to the city. I was able to go on spur-of-the-moment tram cruises or walks around the city whenever I so wished.

This is a great hotel in a great city. I can't wait to stay here again, and I highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Perfect location in the center of the city - walking distance to shopping and attractions, as well as bus and train stations.

Large breakfast buffet with something for everyone.

The reception staff were not overly helpful, but we didn't need much, so that was ok.

The beds were extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

A great hotel with great rates (via Booking.com). Easy to find and a very short walk from the station and Finnair bus.

The only downside was the bar prices.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Just got back from a weekend away to Helsinki, and stayed at the Scandic. The hotel is in a good central location near plenty of shops/restaurants.
Hotel itself is clean, modern and the staff are very helpful. The rooms are a good size, and comfortable.
As with the other reviews the breakfast area does get very busy on weekends, but there was still plenty of choice and we always got a table. (It was much quieter on Monday)
I would recommend this hotel, particularly, as we paid £55 per night B&B, and would stay here again.
The only thing to watch out for is a sign behind reception which advertises discounted taxi rates. When I asked about booking a taxi to go back to the airport I was told I needed to book 24 hours in advance (the sign makes no reference to this) However, the Finnair bus to the airport is only by the railway station, and a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, NZ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

The hotel is a short walk from the railway station which is also where the Finnair bus stop is. A short walk to the harbour and cathedrals. Rooms are larger than average and have good views. Wifi worked well. The breakfast room was always crowded but maybe that is just a sign that the hotel is popular. Restaurant food was good but service while friendly wasn't as professional as I would expect for this level of hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
GLO Hotel Art
#13 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 917 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski Hotel
Scandic Marski Hotel
#33 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.