We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and very good situation near the train station and in the Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Marski Hotel

Save Saved
You added Scandic Marski Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Marski Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00101, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel and very good situation near the train station and in the Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Very nice Hotel, clean, the stuff is very polite. The restaurant is not open Sundays, so hard to find something good openedthat day. Try the Kamp Restaurant, expensive but very nice food.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    201
    89
    28
    3
See reviews for
72
96
40
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

If you want to be in the heart of the city, stay in this hotel. Everything is nearby to this hotel - Kaampi center, Railway Station, Esplanade, and Cathedral, all at walking distances. The hotel itself is like a hotspot of the city, even for visitors who just stop-by to have a cup of coffee from its cafeteria. From business discussions to waiting for colleagues to arrive, all happen in its ground floor cafeteria.

Now comes the stay part. Well it was also quite nice. Being in the heart of the city provides you half of the facilities that you want. Rest all is provided by its good staff crew. Wi-fi is amazing and free (even for outsiders). The food is continental, though elegant. Overall, a nice stay and recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Very nice staff, food is fantastic, breakfast is mmmmm.room very comfortable and the location is perfect for the shops.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

I have spent 6 nights stay in this hotel for my business trip. The stay was pleasant. Let's look into the pro and cons to help you up for making decision to stay in this hotel or not.

Pro:
Great location as it situated at the heart of downtown, you can easily get restaurant and shopping malls within a 5 min walking distance. Clean and quiet room. Fresh and good breakfast. Free drink vouchers worth 6 euro per night (if you are Scandic Marski Member). Taxi stand and tram station is just in front of the hotel. 5 min walk to the Helsinki train station. Friendly and helpful front desk staffs.

Cons:
No complementary toiletories. The ineffective trousers iron. Boring cable TV program. Long checking in time as you have to fill up a form although advance booking has been
made.

I would definitely coming back to this hotel as the location is superb and the bed is comfortable. I have good sleep quality from this hotel. Off course, they provide soft and hard pillow, depending which one you need to get a good sleep.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Stayed at the Marski for three days. We had a superior family room and it was very large, although a pretty long walk from the elevator. Scandic prides itself on being kid friendly, with playrooms, surprises for childrend when checking in and other extras. Turns out that the playroom was a couple of video game terminals in the lobby, the surprises are only in the summertime (I guess the surprise is on them that some child would come to Finland in October, but the front desk staff put together a bunch of origrami paper, coloring pages and pencils for our son). The childrens' menu in the restaurant "wasn't valid" whatever that meant, but there was plenty of food that was interesting to the kids. Housekeeping was very late, our room was cleaned sometime after 4pm one day. The bed was terribly soft and the pillows even softer.

But...

All of this is made up for by the brilliant location, proximity to the Stockmann's deli and the large and quiet rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Location is right in the centre. Tram Line stop outside the door. Really good staff and great breakfast. No problem with extra towels. Free use of sauna and gym.
When we arrived reception gave us vouchers for €42 which we could use in the shop or restaurant. We had booked a superior room -smoking. We got the eight floor and the ventilation in the room was terrific- no smell of smoke. Very large room with fridge , Tv and free wi fi. What a view from the window. We watched the sun reflecting on the crosses of the orthodox cathedral every evening. They literally shimmered.
We had dinner in the Restaurant, using our vouchers and it was very good also. Over\all a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed for 1 night with my bf. We had standard room facing the yard, room was ok for our needs.
Though we we´re shocked by the lack of amenities in the bathroom ; only one all-around shampoo witch smelled bad and cheap. Also there was very little other stuff in the bathroom either ( towels etc. ) . Maybe that´s just our problem because we are used to see that line there of little bottles of bathroom products in EVERY other hotel we´ve been, in Finland or any other country. Now be had to go shopping right away.

The staff was superb, except one staff member who answered when I called reception at 11pm to ask for room service and told me that kitchen is closed ( scandic website says it closes at 11.30 pm ) , with malicious tone... she even laughed at me!
Quite unprofessional, I´d say.

Other staff members were friendly and professional, and when booking, they fulfilled all the wishes we had about our room ( location, smoking-option, bathtub, bedtype etc. ) , so no complaints there.

Little info about the hotel ;
* they have both smoking and non-smoking rooms ( we had smoking room, as wished)
* room service fee is 10 eur, pay-tv 14 eur ( incl. all the channels, also adult material :-) )
* adult channels can be blocked if you want... :-)
* breakfast can be very crowded, especially at weekends, so be patient. Some people just don´t know how to stand in line..
* standard rooms are ok by european standards, travellers from US I´d recommend to book a bigger room than standard to avoid claustrophobia.


All in all, nice hotel but not great.

Obviously we just have gotten used to too high service levels at other hotels.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scandic Marski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Marski Hotel

Also Known As:
Scandic Marski Helsinki
Hotel Scandic Marski
Address: Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00101, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Marski Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Hotel in a modern multi-story building in the center of shopping & business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Scandic Marski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Marski Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.