We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Marski Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Marski Hotel to your Saves list
Scandic Marski Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00101, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Marski is quite an old hotel, done up in the last 5 years maybe. Excellent location. 5 min walk from the Markets, great cafes just near by. Check in was quick and efficient, we were able to get into our room early. Room was ok, clean when we arrived. We had a jug and mugs but no tea or milk, coffee only. Cleaners didn't tidy up the room between our 2 night stay. Free wi fi. Quiet room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    298
    131
    40
    8
See reviews for
111
147
58
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boa Island, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

1. Command English of the reception stuff not in par with the international hotel standards.
2. The key to unlock a mini-bar was missing. After lengthy communication with the reception desk, it took almost one hour before someone from the stuff has finally appeared with the spare keys
3. Restaurant on Sunday evening was closed, therefore we could not use our vouchers (2nd floor). When we tried to redeem it on Monday morning, staff limited our choice only by the sandwiches and beverages (that never happened before in any other Scandic hotels where any stocked food was allowed to be taken). The assortment was extremely poor and was not fully stocked as we could noticed by some empty spots in the cooler. Namely, the sandwiches were looking extremely "dead" with the same-day expiration date or with the taste and fillings which were not acceptable for us. The diet drinks (cola light, pepsi max, whatever) were not presented at all. All-in-all "thank you" very much for extremely nice and thoughtful management regarding the guest vouchers.
4. The room was terrible, looking old and tired as general impression.
In details:
5. The floor of the bathroom was covered by long black hairs
6. The bed covers underneath the mattresses were old with the scuffs and holes.
7. The breakfast. I can not complaint about the food and how it's stocked, it's great indeed. But unfortunately you can not find a place to sit to enjoy this food. We could not find the place at 8.00, later at 8.30, at 9.00. We only could get a seat at 9.40 (just 20 minutes before the closure time). Absolutely unacceptable.
The Hotel has perfect location and not welcoming attitude.
We usually stay in Scandic Park Helsinki which is just great. And despite the fact that Marski is the same chain, it looks like you downgraded from 4 stars (at Park) to no-stars (at Marski).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We ordered two nights on the Scandic Marksi hotel as the first place to stay on a week's visit to Finland.

We arrived on an early morning flight, and reached the central railway station by airport bus, carried our luggage about 10 minutes to the hotel and arrived at about 7 am. No problem - there was no room for us, but we checked in and left the suitcases in the luggage room until we returned from the city in the afternoon.

The hotel in in an excellent location - near four shopping centers where we could find all our needs, and within walking distance (10-20 minutes) of all attractions of central Helsinki.

As we were four persons we ordered a room for four, which was a bit crowded with little space for storing our luggage or moving around the room. However, it was equipped with a refrigerator and a hair dryer and enough power outlets for all our gadgets. There was an ice maker in the corridor, just opposite the room. The only equipment that we missed was an electric kettle, as we like to prepare a cup of coffee when we get up, before breakfast. The room was clean.

The reception staff were very nice and helpful.

Breakfast was included in our order, and was very good. We also received tho vouchers for the hotel bar, and enjoyed a beer in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to attend a business event so we received a very good rate for the rooms because the event also used several of the conference rooms in the hotel.
My room was on the 7th floor, I asked for a room away from the busy road outside and it was quiet facing the inside of the building so no view but it's worth it for peace and quiet to me.
The room was comfortable with 2 single beds joined and plenty of hanging space and drawers. I would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room but there were none.
The bathroom was very clean but also very compact.
I ate in the hotel restaurant and found the service and food quality both to be excellent. I was also pleasantly surprised that the hotel menu was very reasonably priced so don't assume because its a hotel the meals are expensive.
The only disappointing feature with the dining room was the breakfast, there was no one to allocate tables, you had to find one yourself then find cutlery. The food at breakfast was varied and good quality but supplying fruit to cut up yourself using quite a large knife was I thought a bit risky! Please ask the kitchen to provide ready prepared cut fruit.
Reception were very helpful and everyone spoken fantastic English - thank you!
The hotel is in an excellent location to explore Helsinki and only a short walk to the harbour where you can catch a variety of ferries to different destinations.

Room Tip: If you don't like road noise ask for a room facing the inside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We spent two nights here on a brief trip to Helsinki.
The hotel is very central: ten minutes walk from the central railway station and the airport bus terminal. It is very easy to walk around the city using this hotel as your base: you can get to Helsinki Observatory (the most Southern point of the city) in about twenty minutes and many trams stop just aside the hotel.
The Scandic Marski itself is very clean and the staff are friendly and efficient. We had a deal that included breakfast which had a really good variety to choose from.
There are several saunas which are gorgeous. If there was one disappointment for us it was that the saunas weren't open in the mornings on weekdays but that is a very minor issue.
Good value, great location, lovely people.

Room Tip: 7th floor terrace, 8th floor sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here two nights. The room was dated and in need of refurbishment but the staff were very helpful, the cost was reasonable, the location excellent as was the breakfast. A good place to stay in Helsinki without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We arrived here not expecting much but found a very nice room, with great curtain (needed in the summer), ac that worked well, a nice shower and a wonderful breakfast.

The reception is extremely busy but they were still able to answer our many questions as well as try to help us deal with lost luggage.

We would strongly recommend as the location and breakfast are close to perfection. It is true that there is no coffee stuff in the room

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Scandic Marski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Marski Hotel

Address: Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00101, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#26 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Marski Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Hotel in a modern multi-story building in the center of shopping & business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Scandic Marski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Marski Helsinki
Hotel Scandic Marski

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Marski Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.