We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Marski Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Marski Hotel to your Saves list
Scandic Marski Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00101, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel in downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Another sample of scandinavia-wide hotel network.
Rooms are good and big enough. But staying in new building makes it tricky - you have to change an elevator which is difficult if you are staying with children or lots of luggage.
As hotel is in downtown and close to railway station - be prepared for lots of visitors during breakfast. Find vacant table takes time!
Breakfast is OK but basically same meatballs/mached eggs/beans etc as in any other of scandic hotels.
Esplanade and Stockman store are just cross the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    243
    110
    36
    7
See reviews for
94
129
47
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enschede, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and we both liked this hotel. It has everything you can expect from a good hotel, with the following things that stick out:

On the plus side:
+ Great location.
+ Computers available in the lobby with possibility to print things (for free)
+ We stayed on the first floor (as in, one floor above ground floor) on the street side. Noice isolation was very good. You could of course always here a few things, but that's normal in a city.
+ Breakfast was outstanding. Lots of choice, food quality very good.
+ Friendly helpful staff

There aren't downsides really. Only thing is that the room looks a bit outdated (old colours) and because of that the room doesn't look as clean as a modern room. But it was clean, so that's no problem at all.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Standard room in older part of the hotel was very nice and stylish. New TV. Bed is ok, but pillows are small. Bathroom is spacious made of interesting marble plates. Restaurant serves good quality food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

If you plan to stay outdoors most of the day, this hotel is ideal because of its great location on the main street -Mannerheim- of Helsinki, The bustling sea-side market area, the high end Norweigian design outlets, the Railway station and the tourist information office are just a few minutes walk from the hotel. I guess that accounts for the complacency of the Scandic group and their neglect of the rooms. The room we were in overlooked an interior dreary small opening. The bedcover was torn at places and the overall appearance of the room was rather bare and somewaht shabby. The bathroom was worse with only a shower -no bath tub- and the glass partition was hardly of any use. The whole bathroom became wet when one took a shower. The hotel has pointedly provided a floor wiper and the guest is supposed to wipe the floor dry. No coffee/tea making provision in the room, no shower caps or moisturisers. Please carry your own unless you want to spend unreasonable amounts buying them from the hotel shop.

Room Tip: You could ask for a room facing the street, because the inside rooms can feel a little claustrophobi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have stayed at Marski every time i have been in helsinki. Good value, good service. And GREAT sauna!!! theres really good breakfast, and needful things in the reception in case luggage didnt join you from the airport..

Room Tip: We were two friends, and the double bed was too bouncy for us two. We kept each other up all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

First! The staff were very nice and I can't fault them for anything that was wrong during my stay. But this is not a hotel I would be eager to stay again. The room was dated. The bathroom so small that when I opened the door it slammed into the toilet. If you want slippers you have to purchase them, a first for me at what I thought was at least a four star hotel. I can't tell you about the mini bar since it stubbornly remained shut no matter how much I jimmied with the key or pulled at the door. The television was a very nice flat screen with excellent picture. Breakfast was good but limited and only available between 08:00 and 11:00, but it was a holiday so maybe those were their holiday hours, in fairness, I didn't ask. The free internet was a decent speed.
I was in a room across from the stairs and elevator, but let's not blame the hotel for inconsiderate guests, who spoke in voices one usually reserve for when speaking at a football game! But the door if better fitted and thicker may have help muffel the noise.
There are multi wings to this hotel. I asked to be away from the main street and was placed in the back (addition) wing. A bit of a hike but not so bad or it wouldn't have been if there were bag handlers available to assist guest with their luggage. I'm disable and had to pull my medium size suitcase and carry on from one elevator to another old fashion one in the back to go to the other levels of the hotel. Many times (four times during my stay) someone would leave the door of the old elevator open, forcing other guests to carry their suitcases down many flights of stairs. But again one can't really blame the hotel for the inconsider guest but I can for not installing a modern elevator or even putting a bigger warning sign or buzzer (guest are already having to listen to the other noisy guest anyway, so what the heck).
I wouldn't mention any of this if I was paying 60 euros a night or even 70, that would be a fair price. But I paid 117 for one night and 108 for each of the remaining nights. A 4-5 star price for a 2- 3 star hotel is what compelled me to write this review. Having paid 112 for a very high standard 5 star hotel only two weeks before makes me feel even more obligated.
If being close to the center of the city is important to you than this hotel is certainly very close and perfect for you if you don't mind paying a high price for medium level hotel. I would research others in the area before staying at the Scandic Marski on Mannerheimintie again.

Room Tip: If you book this hotel, think and expect Days Inn experience and you will be happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Although I had requested a non-smoking room with a queen/king-size bed when I made the reservation, the only room they had available when we arrived with a queen/king-size bed was in a smoking room. My fiancé and I decided to take the smoking room anyway since we figured it should be fine as long as we open the windows or turn on the air conditioner. Lo and behold, the windows did not open and the air conditioner in the room was broken! The hotel did not offer anything to compensate for any it.

Since we were out for most of the time we were in Helsinki, we didn't get a chance to try the breakfast (which was included) and the sauna (which was free).

The location was both a positive and a negative. It's right smack in the city center so it was easy to get around to all the sites, shops, restaurants, and parks. But for the same reason, we were woken up by construction at 8:30 on a Saturday morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Marski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Marski Hotel

Address: Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00101, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Marski Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Hotel in a modern multi-story building in the center of shopping & business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Marski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Marski Helsinki
Hotel Scandic Marski

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Marski Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.