We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Marski Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Marski Hotel to your Saves list
Scandic Marski Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00101, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I recently spent my 3rd visit this year at the Marski and again was more than happy with their hospitality. I recommend this to all European visitors to Helsinki. Excellent hygiene. Breakfasts were brilliant. The bar prices were extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    256
    114
    38
    7
See reviews for
101
136
50
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
asserballeskov
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Typical Scandic hotel. The location is perfect for shopping, bars restaurants etc. My room was clean comfortable and well maintained. Even though I was on the street side of the hotel I could not hear any traffic. The breakfast was first class and the staff friendly and helpful.
I ate in the bistro in the evening and the food was well prepared/presented and reasonably priced for Helsinki (One of the more expensive Nordic cities)
I rounded off my evening in the bar and as I am a single malt whisky fan it was a pleasant surprise to see the large selection and to be served by someone who knew a little about the product she was serving.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

It is not the first time I stayed in the Scandic Marski, and this time I stayed for 4 nights.
The hotel is in the center of Helsinki, everything is at a walking distance.
The breakfast is very good, and the bar too. The staff at the reception are very eficient and very nice.
The hotel has renovated rooms and some that are rather small and runned down.
My room was very good, good size and well decorated. The bed was very good.
The bathroom has only a shower which is suficient, however the water runs straight to the floor. As the inclination of the floor is not enough, the water spreads all over the bathroom floor. It dries out rather quickly but is not nice.
The bathroom floor is heated but has no regulation, so the batroom is rather hot. In the morning it feels like a sauna.
Anyway, the hotel is a good value for the price your are asked for, I fully recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. The staff were friendly and the breakfast were really good.

The rooms on the other hand are in a real need of an update. If the were to redecorate the rooms like other, newer Scandic hotels, this would be one of the best choices of hotels to stay in when visiting Helsinki.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenah Valley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Scandic Marski is located near the social heart of Helsinki. Not far from the train station or the docks and close to the main shopping areas it is a great hotel to base you visit to Helsinki.

The rooms are quite variable so I would suggest that you ask for a room with a view of the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Location, location, location... the Scandic Marski Hotel is right in the best comercial area of Helsinki, right in front of Stockman department store and within walking distance to most of Helsinki main attractions. Breakfast is excellent, the restaurant is superb. Rooms are spacious with classic scandinavian modern décor. Very helpful staff. I would really stay there again.

Room Tip: To reach the rooms with sauna you have to take the lift to the 3rd floor, walk a long corridor and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nice rooms, and if heading to Mannerheimintie, the wiew is nice. And especially at Vappu time (1st of May, and day before). We had room in 5th floor and no noise from the street.
Breakfast is standard Scandinavian, good.

Room Tip: I would take on the street side if you stay in samoe 4th floor higher, as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Marski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Marski Hotel

Address: Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00101, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Marski Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Hotel in a modern multi-story building in the center of shopping & business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Marski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Marski Helsinki
Hotel Scandic Marski

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Marski Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.