We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value in an expensive city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Marski Hotel

Save Saved
You added Scandic Marski Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Marski Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00101, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Newfoundland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good value in an expensive city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location for just about anything, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room on the 6th floor was like an oven (and this was in May so we can only imagine what it would be like in August!). Fortunately there was a room available on the 4th floor in which the airconditioning worked. The room was quite large and comfortable and located away from the street so it was nice and quiet. We stayed there a week, our second stay in 2 years and were pleased to see that some of the problems that existed earlier e.g. poor internet service have been corrected. Also, it seems that the people working at reception are more knowledgeable than were those we encountered a couple of years ago. The breakfast was quite good but after 7 mornings we were getting a bit tired of the same thing day after day. A wee bit of variety in the offerings from day to day would be nice. All in all, this is a very comfortable hotel that is ideally situated.

Room Tip: Avoid the 6th floor unless you enjoy sleeping in an oven!! We were told that someone had been in to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    221
    93
    32
    4
See reviews for
81
106
42
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed in this place with my collegues last weekend for one night. Hotel have great location right in center of Helsinki almost opposite Stockmann store, in 5 min. of walk from central railroad station. All the attractions, stores, bars, restaurants within walking distance.
This is very big and modern hotel, have a several buildings and any kinds rooms. We got 5 standart rooms on different floors but in the same building. The rooms were very big and comfortable, everything is new and clean inside. In addition to the standard set of furniture like beds, table, cabinet e t.c. we had armchairs, little journal table and iron with ironing board in the rooms what was very nice and give a plus.
Bathroom is also was nice, spacious and have shower with bath inside. In my room had a toilet together with bath in one room but i saw they have a rooms where it's separated.
It was about pluses.
Unfortunately our good impressions from the rooms were spoiled service of this hotel. We came very early on the morning train, around 10.00. We knew check-in in 14.00 therefore we put our baggage in luggage room, got the breakfast and left to walk. To our surprise we could get check in only in 17.00 after 2-3 unsuccessful attempts and only after disturbance. They explained it like maid is only one and she have not time to clean all the rooms. Only one maid for such a big hotel??? Very strange...About reception. It is very little, just 2-3 persons on the place, a lot of people in the hotel and they have not time to serve everybody, people need to wait long time. If you have a lot of questions like we are and you don't understand something, they staying rude. I think is bad idea for 4 stars hotel, Scandic system in center of Helsinki and high price. I was living in hostel and got better service than here...
Just only one appologies we got, they gave to us several tickets for free coctails in hotel's bar. Personally me didn't got it though i got more rude from service than my collegues.
About breakfast. When we just came we are decided to take it in the hotel and we are paid 17 euro per person. It was pretty diverse but nothing special therefore i think 17 euro is overcharge, you can get the same for 10 euro in another place.
In my opinion and the opinion of my colleagues, we were very disappointed, we were waiting better service for money what we have paid. I'm sure my next time in Helsinki i will choise another hotel and im sure it will be not worse exactly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great location! Comfortable bed. Good service. Excellent breakfast! Could have been a little more clean for my liking. The toilet smelled very bad.

Walking distance to lots of shopping, great restaurants and the market. The gardens nearby were in full bloom.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Nebagamon, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A beautiful, friendly and comfortable hotel in the center of Helsinki. Easy walking distance to the train station, the market and the waterfront. Restaurants and shop are in every direction. I would definitely return here on my next visit to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

One nice hotel with the best location, Scotmaan is right opposite, all the best facilities and value for money. If only menu options in restaurant were more . Overall a real pleasant stay. Staff is very friendly and English is known, you can rent bicycle or call a taxi . Recommend

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Decent enough hotel on a main busy street in the city centre. Reasonably near to Stockmann department store and the railway station. A bit more of a walk to the harbour area but Helsinki is a compact city so a leisurely stroll will soon get you to most central places from here.

Staff pleasant enough and food more than adequate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at the Scandic Marski, only because my regular choice in Helsinki, the Scandic Simonkentta was sold out. The hotel is conveniently located with easy access to the central station, buses and trams. The usual Scandic amenities are available - good breakfast, high speed wireless Internet and restaurant/bar.

The rooms are a bit old and worn out (seems to be a common Scandic problem) and need renewal. I was alotted a room facing the main road and the traffic noise during the day & night was terrible. The gymnasium is also very small and gets cramped if four or more people decide to exercise at the same time.

Generally a suitable choice for business travellers.

Room Tip: Request for a room away from the main road as the traffic noise is unbearable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scandic Marski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Marski Hotel

Address: Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00101, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Marski Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Hotel in a modern multi-story building in the center of shopping & business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Scandic Marski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Marski Helsinki
Hotel Scandic Marski

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Marski Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.