We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location, Friendly Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Marski Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Marski Hotel to your Saves list
Scandic Marski Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00101, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Central Location, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Scandic Hotel Marski for a second time and were happy with our visit, again. The hotel has an excellent location, good parking facilities and very friendly and smiling staff!

The breakfast buffet had a lot to offer and they did continue bringing fillings until it was 11 am and the time to close the breakfast buffet. This was a big plus. The ladies cleaning the tables were very good humoured, too, like all of the hotel staff.

The room was spacious, the beds comfy. Some of the furniture and the bath room fixtures looked perhaps a little shabby but this didn't bother us since the room was well cleaned. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and slept like babies - but we have also overnighted in a room on the 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    243
    110
    36
    7
See reviews for
94
129
47
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Central location - business trip so really didn't get to explore - but room fine - clean, spacious, good wifi and comfy bed. Asked for top floor as though it might be noisy but slept well.
Breakfast good and wide choice.

Ate in the bar 1st night as arrived late - good friendly service and burger was good value for Finland at around £15.

Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molndal, Sweden
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Scandic Hotels are usually good value for the money. Marski is one of the better. Modern, good service, free wifi, good breakfast (fresh bread!) and food. As central as it can get with the railway station and many sights within walking distance and Stockmans department store across the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights, rooms are nice, large, clean rooms. Very central location. The breakfast isnt that great. Stale bread, danishes and crissants. The salads looked old and dry and everything open so people coughing on the food. That seems to be normal over here though. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel is in brilliant location on the main stree in the city center. So everything just few steps away or if want to go/see something that is bit more far all public transportiation is really nearby as well.
The hotel itself is bit worn (our room was on "old side" so do not have any experience on the "new side", but still OK and kept well clean.
Service in the reception was really good all the time, in check-in, -out and also between.

Like said our room was on fourth floor of the old side facing the main street. There was some noise especially from trams that you can hear, but not that much that it would have bothered us at all. Room was really spacious (superior family room) likewise bathroom as well. Not the newest design etc, but in rather good condition still.

But hotel restaurant was a disappointment. Service was not too good, there were some waitresses that did not really speak finnish (what you would kind of expect in Finland...). Also food was really not that good. and the problem is not in the menu as I have eat in other Scandinc hotel restaurants which have exactly the same menu and food on those (e.g. in Oulu) is really totally on other scale on every aspect.

So as a summary, the hotel itself is good and at least especially the price we paid the value for money was excellent. Then if price would be on par with some other more recently built/refurbished hotel I would propably not choose this one. But if you get it at good price go for it. Only thing is that I do not recommend the hotel restaurant as, there are many many restaurant close by which I believe are better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have stayed at this place more than once and in fact swear by Scandic, I refuse all other chains when in Finland when I have a Scandic to choose from. The hotels are clean and the staff are friendly, mannerly, helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel has the perfect location on one of the main Helsinki streets close to shopping, bars, restaurants and the bus and train stations.
On arrival and check out there were queues but the staff dealt with them quickly and efficiently. Whilst this hotel does have an excellent location I found the rooms slightly dated but they were warm and comfortable. The Wifi on 8th floor was hit and miss but fine in the reception area. I don't think I would stay here again I'd prefer the Scandic Simonkentaa around the corner simply as it's a newer hotel and a more modern.

Room Tip: upper floors facing away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Marski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Marski Hotel

Address: Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00101, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Marski Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Hotel in a modern multi-story building in the center of shopping & business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Marski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Marski Helsinki
Hotel Scandic Marski

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Marski Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.