We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location with stunning restaurant views over the private beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa to your Saves list
Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kalastajatorpantie 1, Helsinki 00330, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Paisley
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous location with stunning restaurant views over the private beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stunning location across towards Helsinki centre and surrounding islands. The sight of a frozen sea and snow on the beach only added to the atmosphere. A very friendly hotel in a quiet location made a comfortable stay. Lovely buffet breakfast in a relaxed environment.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments!

We are thrilled to hear your had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the hotel. The views are beautiful indeed in winter and just as much so now in summer, so we hope you have a chance to come back to see how it has changed. Thank you also for your positive feedback about breakfast.

We are glad you chose our hotel for your stay and hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    197
    49
    9
    4
See reviews for
71
145
40
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hollins, Virginia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed for one night on business. The trip was arranged on short notice, so I didn't have much time to consider options.

This hotel was actually on the wrong side of Helsinki relative to my business purpose, but that was not really an issue since I had a rented car, and the rate was cheaper than other hotels closer to the airport anyway

I was really surprised by the nature of this property. Although it's not far from central Helsinki, I almost felt that I was in the countryside. And the building itself is very quaint - not a big giant slab as some of the big urban hotels, and especially Hiltons, seem to be.

To that point, if you are looking for urban excitement and night life, then this is probably not the place for your stay.

Sleep quality was excellent - I had the feeling that the hotel was completely empty, although it was not at all.

And the buffet breakfast was excellent. Not a huge selection, but high quality items.

I would (and likely will) gladly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feeback here on TripAdvsior!

Despite the distance to your work location we are glad to hear that our hotel provided a pleasant stay for you. We are indeed fortunate to be located by the sea, surrounded by nature but sill close to the city. Our beds have recently been renewed to ensure our guests will have a good nights sleep so I am pleased to hear this was your experience. Thank you also for your comments about breakfast.

Thank you for your stay with us and we will gladly welcome you back another time!

Yours sincerely,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've stayed here many times partly due to its close proximity to the office but also because it's a quiet hotel. It's close to a tram stop so it's not difficult to get downtown. There's a grocery store about a 10 minute walk from the hotel for any provisions you might require. It's close to the water and if you get a seaside room, you're in for a nice view. I wish the wifi in the room wasn't so pricey but the connection is solid and there's no lag. Breakfast buffet is nice with a wide variety of food. It is located in a residential area so it's very quiet with no traffic noise if you're sensitive to that. Overall, a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a seaside room if you can. Make sure your room rate includes breakfast. If it doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor!

Great to hear that you have enjoyed several stays with us. The location is indeed perfect if you wish to be close to nature and away from traffic. We appreciate your comments about the breakfast, it is an important meal in the day and we aim to provide something for everyone.

Thank you for your repeat business with us, we hope you will be back soon!

Best regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a very nice Hilton property. Make sure you get the water view rooms across the parking lot. The room was spacious, clean and modern with all expected amenities. What an amazing view out the window. I took 10 minutes to walk out on the ice. Don't miss breakfast it was very well done compared to a normal Hilton breakfast. Cabs are always out front waiting but we walked most days to the office. This was a beautiful property I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for water view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We are very pleased indeed to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us! Great to hear that you enjoyed the room at our Seaside wing, the view really is beautiful both in wonter and in summer. Glad to hear the Hilton breakfast offered a good start to your day as well.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will be back again soon!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riihimäki
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is a some disctance away from the city center and is good for business meetings. Would most likely not stay there on holidays as some distance to downtown Helsinki. However I was told that the tram is an easy way to get to downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordintor at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us!

We are glad to hear you found the hotel to be good for business purposes. The tram connection is indeed convenient and will take you into the city center in 20 minutes. We hope you will be back to try this option in the future!

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have stayed here a few times for work and always find the stay pleasurable.

The service is very good, the room very scandanvian and pleasant on the eye and the view across the sea (frozen at this time of year) is lovely also.

Room Tip: Go for the "seaside" wing" - 5th floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordintor at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor!

We are very glad to hear you enjoy staying with us. Great to hear you like our rooms and it was especially nice to read your comments about the service provided at our hotel.

Thank you for your loyalty and we hope you will be back soon!

Yours sincerely,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have been several times at Kalastajatorppa Hilton hotel. I have not yet been disappointed, and I can be "an impossible customer". There is enough space in the rooms, at least in those on the sea side. The furniture is well-kept and the rooms are clean. Buffet breakfast is the best in Helsinki, and the service is very good. Overall the hotel staff is very helpful and friendly.
The restaurant (in the sea side building)
The hotel is located by tram around 20-30 minutes away from the city centre. By taxi it takes about 15 minutes and it costs ca. 20-23 euros. The hotel area is nice both in winter and summer time.
If you don't mind that you have to travel to city, I can really recommend the Kalastajatorppa.
There is only one thing that I "miss": there are no shops around and no "kiosk" in the hotel. Sometimes you might like to buy some newspapers, soft drinks, etc. Then you must go to the shops that are about 10-15 minutes away by walking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordintor at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you fro your kind comments about your stay with us!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoy staying at our hotel and find the facilities and the staff to add positively to your stay. Great to hear you are also happy with the breakfast and enjoy the surrounding, which truly are unique all year round.

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next stay with us!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa

Address: Kalastajatorpantie 1, Helsinki 00330, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.