We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Arthur Hotel to your Saves list
Arthur Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Helsinki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Average hotel. Very helpful staff at reception. Old décor. Very hot. Not very clean hotel but clean towels and sheets. Good room size. Central location very good for trains and bus to airport. Convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. As we are a very old hotel it is true that our premises are not modern, but nice to hear you agreed that our staff is very friendly as it should be. In Finland we don´t have ari conditioning especially in old buildings as we have this kind of heat once in 15 years :-) In our new rooms in 9th floor we have air conditioning.
We warmly welcome you to stay with us again.
Best regards
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    224
    173
    67
    22
See reviews for
78
116
118
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
eindhoven
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Three of us stayed there two nights. Comfortable room, clean. Friendly staff. Breakfast was very busy with several coach loads also staying in the hotel, but there was enough and good food. Parking in local underground car park, bit expensive, but we knew that in advance. Hotel has terrific arrangement that you pay for the parking at the hotel, which turned out cheaper as well as really convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your feed back. Happy to hear that you were happy with our service and hotel and hope to see you again as our guests!
Best regards
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in this hotel - this was our second time and were very happy to stay there again. The staff are very helpful, the rooms are big and furnished in Art Deco style. There's no air con but windows open to get some air if needed. The breakfast is good and offer both hot & continental options not to forget some typical Finnish dishes. Location is also excellent as near the station and centre.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay again and you were lucky to get one of our new rooms which are really nice.
Hope to see you again here!
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night at July 2014. Great location, near the center of Helsinki. Very nice and helpful staff. The room we got was simple and a little bit old, but we didn't spend a lot of time in it.
If you are looking for good located, not luxury but also not expensive hotel, go for it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your pleasant review.

Best wishes,
Ilona
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijkerhout, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The location of Arthur Hotel is very good, central, near the beautiful Helsinki Railway station, and within walking distance of the Esplanade (shops) and of almost all the interesting sites in Helsinki. The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. Room prices seem reasonable. And the breakfast gives plenty of choice. Free and excellent WiFi.
But oh oh oh the rooms. Small. Paint gone. Uncomfortable creaking and smelly beds. Small bathroom with fungus on the floor and the walls, smelling very badly, and without ventilation. Some bathrooms even lack a shower curtain. It is possible to ventilate the rooms by opening the window. But that is not advisable because of the noise and (petrol) vapor from outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments. It's nice to read that you liked our staff and location.
We are renovating the rooms bit by bit. We do appreciate the comments. It would be good to inform our reception or give us an email of the room number so we could investigate the situation further. Next time I would recommend to reserve a higher class (Comfort or Art Nouveau) room.

With kind regards,
Ilona
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Probably not my choice to stay for a longer period of time, but for a couple of nights it offers a solid tourist class overnighting chance for a reasonable price. Breakfast comes with a good choice of products to suit different nation's taste, as guests come from all countries. Don't expect luxurious rooms though or freshly squeezed orange juice and fancy things :-)

Room Tip: Try to get a room in higher floors and not fronting the street, quite noisy there (buses and trams...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm please to welcome you here another time.

Yours truly,

Ilona
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was in Helsinki for only a day and a half, so I was looking for a hotel very close to the central train station (where the airport bus arrives). The Arthur Hotel looked like a good deal, so I booked it.

The hotel is indeed very easy to find from the train station and offered everything I needed: a central location to be able to see all the sights quickly, good WiFi, a decent single room with bathroom, 24H-reception and a great breakfast.

Now of course it's not a palace. Everything looks a bit old and stuffy, but the place is clean and quiet.

I haven't tried any other hotel in Helsinki so it's difficult to judge, but I was pretty happy with the Hotel Arthur. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for the response. We'd be happy to have you as a guest next time you're in Helsinki.

Best wishes,

Ilona
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arthur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur Hotel

Address: Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arthur Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arthur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.