We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur Hotel

Save Saved
You added Arthur Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arthur Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
1 review
“Great location and good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night at July 2014. Great location, near the center of Helsinki. Very nice and helpful staff. The room we got was simple and a little bit old, but we didn't spend a lot of time in it.
If you are looking for good located, not luxury but also not expensive hotel, go for it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your pleasant review.

Best wishes,
Ilona
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    203
    160
    59
    22
See reviews for
71
106
106
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noordwijkerhout, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The location of Arthur Hotel is very good, central, near the beautiful Helsinki Railway station, and within walking distance of the Esplanade (shops) and of almost all the interesting sites in Helsinki. The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. Room prices seem reasonable. And the breakfast gives plenty of choice. Free and excellent WiFi.
But oh oh oh the rooms. Small. Paint gone. Uncomfortable creaking and smelly beds. Small bathroom with fungus on the floor and the walls, smelling very badly, and without ventilation. Some bathrooms even lack a shower curtain. It is possible to ventilate the rooms by opening the window. But that is not advisable because of the noise and (petrol) vapor from outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments. It's nice to read that you liked our staff and location.
We are renovating the rooms bit by bit. We do appreciate the comments. It would be good to inform our reception or give us an email of the room number so we could investigate the situation further. Next time I would recommend to reserve a higher class (Comfort or Art Nouveau) room.

With kind regards,
Ilona
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Probably not my choice to stay for a longer period of time, but for a couple of nights it offers a solid tourist class overnighting chance for a reasonable price. Breakfast comes with a good choice of products to suit different nation's taste, as guests come from all countries. Don't expect luxurious rooms though or freshly squeezed orange juice and fancy things :-)

Room Tip: Try to get a room in higher floors and not fronting the street, quite noisy there (buses and trams...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm please to welcome you here another time.

Yours truly,

Ilona
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was in Helsinki for only a day and a half, so I was looking for a hotel very close to the central train station (where the airport bus arrives). The Arthur Hotel looked like a good deal, so I booked it.

The hotel is indeed very easy to find from the train station and offered everything I needed: a central location to be able to see all the sights quickly, good WiFi, a decent single room with bathroom, 24H-reception and a great breakfast.

Now of course it's not a palace. Everything looks a bit old and stuffy, but the place is clean and quiet.

I haven't tried any other hotel in Helsinki so it's difficult to judge, but I was pretty happy with the Hotel Arthur. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for the response. We'd be happy to have you as a guest next time you're in Helsinki.

Best wishes,

Ilona
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Well..
Positives:
1. Good location
2. Ok breakfast
3. Nice tv on our room
4. Great stuff which speaks good english
5. Ok internet
Negatives:
1. Old hotel is one thing - but there is possible to make an old place cozy. Dirty floors with some hairs didnt felt right with a small baby on the floor. The smell of urin in the bathroom was very strong and showercurtain should be changed a few months ago (it costs 2 euro in ikea- is it so difficoult?). I have never seen so dirty windows.
2. No air condition
3. Some kind of insects attacked us in the night. It was moskitos and something else (we know cause my husband is alergic so we can see the difference). It went on a baby too! I just hope we dont bring it home with us from this place
4. Feels like living in a hostel, not hotell when you see your room. Deffinerly not worth your money
5. No air condition - we couldnt sleep and it was a nightmair for the baby too
I give it one point (5 positives minus 5 negatives gives zero but its lowest with one..)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize if the room wasn't cleaned properly. It's quite dusty in the city center so after two days having windows cleaned they normally look the same. Also we are situated next to the park so some mosquitos might come in, commonly it's not a problem.
Next time I would recommend to book The Art Nouveau room with an air conditioning and more renovated look.

Kind regards,
Ilona
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

It is in a good location.The first 5 nights I stayed on the 4th floor and it was in the older wing and not as nice as the 7th floor for my final night in the Arthur Suite floor.The receptionist did help me with calling the airport shuttle, advising me on places to visit and even helped me with sorting out my payments at the restaurant in another place because I thought I was charged wrongly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear MelodyMaine,

thank you for your review.

Best wishes,
Ilona
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Staff were very friendly and efficient. Pity about the room itself.

The room was big, which was a plus, but that's where the good finishes. The floor was tatty (not carpet), the bathroom wasn't as clean as it should be, with a terrible shower and toilet blocked by the aids for the disabled - no idea how they could use it either.

The black out curtains didn't, and at the time of my visit, Helsinki gets no real darkness at night

Room Tip: Avoid disabled rooms - bathrooms are almost unusable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are always recommending to discuss with the reception staff on spot if you are not happy with the room. There are only two rooms for disabled people at the hotel.
I'm glad that you liked our service.
Hope to see you again here some time!

Warm regards,

Ilona
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arthur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur Hotel

Address: Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arthur Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Arthur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.