We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Arthur Hotel to your Saves list
Arthur Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Staff were very friendly and efficient. Pity about the room itself.

The room was big, which was a plus, but that's where the good finishes. The floor was tatty (not carpet), the bathroom wasn't as clean as it should be, with a terrible shower and toilet blocked by the aids for the disabled - no idea how they could use it either.

The black out curtains didn't, and at the time of my visit, Helsinki gets no real darkness at night

Room Tip: Avoid disabled rooms - bathrooms are almost unusable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are always recommending to discuss with the reception staff on spot if you are not happy with the room. There are only two rooms for disabled people at the hotel.
I'm glad that you liked our service.
Hope to see you again here some time!

Warm regards,

Ilona
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    217
    170
    64
    22
See reviews for
76
111
115
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a good place to lay our heads after exploring Helsinki and this was perfect. Clean room, great breakfast, nice front staff made our trip worry free. It is close to the railroad station, major sites and tram lines. If I am in Helsinki again, I will definitely come back here. Nothing fancy, but we aren't fancy people.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Rob,
thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to welcome you here on your next visit.

Best regards,

Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I recently stayed here for two nights and i believe that if i had to stay any longer, i would have checked into a different hotel. I was here with colleagues (in different rooms) after attending a conference in the city of Jyvasklya and we were staying here before getting our flight home.

Positives: Good wifi, comfortable bed (even though it was just a single bed) and good location.

Negatives: Shower (if you wish to call it that) directly beside toilet to the extent that when you are using the shower you wet the toilet and have to remove the toilet paper in case it gets wet. I am a small person and had difficulty maneuvering so i can only imagine what it would be like for say a grown man. My colleagues had a room on the 7th floor which was obviously the renovated floor, for example they had key cards while i had a standard key. They had an acceptable shower (very modern bathroom overall) with fancy settings etc. However when they showed me the room (as we were talking about this at dinner) the smell that greeted us when we entered the room was unbearable, they were too shy/polite to complain. Also weirdly i had a kettle and teas/coffees and they didn't, perhaps trying to make up for the room i got!. We paid virtually the same price for our rooms.
Also I was right beside the lift so heard every noise so was woken up many times during the night.

Neither the hairdryer or the TV worked and the window wouldn't open.

Regardless of the room however, it was the incident on the second morning at breakfast that was the major issue. I was having breakfast with a colleague and he gave me a few blueberries that he had picked up from the market the day before (i have a special diet and the main things i could eat at breakfast were the fruit options on offer). A waitress (young with blonde hair in a plait) shouted to us from another table that we could not bring our own food. We were having a prepaid breakfast so i fail to see what the issue was. Also nowhere in the hotel booklet do they illustrate a policy for this. Both myself and my colleague were embarrassed as a number of guests saw this happening (particularly my colleague who is a conservative man in his late 60's). Her rude and aggressive tone were unacceptable. Also herself and two other members of staff emerged from the wardrobe room a few minutes after the incident and they looked down at us which only leads me to conclude she had told them about what happened, it wasn't nice as both myself and my colleague are quiet people who do not want to cause trouble. When we were leaving she crossed my path and nearly bumped into me (i had to stop), she never said "excuse me" or apologized for what was her fault. so rude.
I would not recommend a stay here, regardless of the price, manners cost nothing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Patrick,
thank you very much for your feedback.
There are 14 different room types in Hotel Arthur.
I'm sorry you weren't happy with the room. The building is old and we are renovating the rooms bit by bit. Maybe your colleagues were upgraded but it's hard to say without seeing the actual reservations.

For the restaurant: My deepest apologies on behalf of my colleague being rude. According to Finnish health and safety regulation rules it's not allowed to bring any unknown food products to the place where food is prepared and served to the clients.

I hope we can continue to serve you better in the future!

Kind regards,
Ilona
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

If you want a convenient hotel in the middle of Helsinki close to trains, trams and city centre this is the place to go.
Budget hotel with reasonable rooms and smallish bathrooms.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
The buffet breakfast had a large selection of cold cuts with bacon, sausages, boiled eggs and what could only be described as a large slab of 'scrambled' eggs. As there were a large number of people access to the food became crowded and a bit disorganised.
Good Wifi in rooms, with windows that opened.
Recommend to the budget minded traveller for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Alan,

your review is highly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

For a relatively budget hotel, this one is hard to beat. The location is excellent, bag dragging distance from the station and right next to tram and metro stops. The staff are friendly and there is free wi-fi throughout. Great breakfasts, so go down hungry. Rooms are also quiet but not so spacious and the bathroom is tiny. Nevertheless, it's clean and serviceable. Bit of a rabbit warren to find your room but nice high ceilings and large windows with decent curtains.

Room Tip: room facing the inside court area. Although I think most rooms would be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind feedback!

Best wishes,
Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed in this hotel with my family of two adults and two children. Was not expecting too much from a three star European hotel but was pleasantly surprised. Although not modern, this hotel is clean and comfortable. Our quad room was spacious and had a sitting area with chairs and tables. The shower was possibly the best part of the room. Although the drainage wasn’t great, a hot shower with plenty of water is a great treat after long days of exploring. Beds were really comfortable and the summer sunlight all day (and night!) long was well blocked by the curtains in the room. This was a great start to our holiday in Finland, thank you Hotel Arthur.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, it is really nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us. Hope to see you again as our guests!
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Arthur is an older hotel suitable for budget-minded travelers. This doesn't mean it's cheap -- just that it's cheap for Helsinki! It is well located in central Helsinki and in walking distance of the waterfront, railway station, and all the major attractions. There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel, and a computer and printer are available in the lobby for a charge of 3 euros per half hour -- handy for printing out airline boarding passes, etc. Oddly, there is also a freezer in the lobby with (not very good) ice cream for sale.

The rooms are comfortable and clean but basic. Mine had what might have been a mini-bar but it was locked and my key wouldn't open it. There is a TV with limited standard programming, but you can get BBC and Euro News. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and adequate. The included breakfast was good, with a hearty selection of items. The hotel won't win any prizes for style or refinement, but it is a very good choice for a basic, pleasant place to stay in Helsinki.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Nice to hear that you were satisfied. It is true that we are an old hotel but comfotable as you said and very well located. We warmly welcome you to stay with us again!
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arthur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur Hotel

Address: Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arthur Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arthur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.