We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good "budget" hotel in a very expensive city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur Hotel

Save Saved
You added Arthur Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arthur Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Good "budget" hotel in a very expensive city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Arthur is an older hotel suitable for budget-minded travelers. This doesn't mean it's cheap -- just that it's cheap for Helsinki! It is well located in central Helsinki and in walking distance of the waterfront, railway station, and all the major attractions. There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel, and a computer and printer are available in the lobby for a charge of 3 euros per half hour -- handy for printing out airline boarding passes, etc. Oddly, there is also a freezer in the lobby with (not very good) ice cream for sale.

The rooms are comfortable and clean but basic. Mine had what might have been a mini-bar but it was locked and my key wouldn't open it. There is a TV with limited standard programming, but you can get BBC and Euro News. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and adequate. The included breakfast was good, with a hearty selection of items. The hotel won't win any prizes for style or refinement, but it is a very good choice for a basic, pleasant place to stay in Helsinki.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Nice to hear that you were satisfied. It is true that we are an old hotel but comfotable as you said and very well located. We warmly welcome you to stay with us again!
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    201
    159
    59
    22
See reviews for
70
105
105
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel is very closed to Central Station and shopping centers. Hotel room is comfort, big with sitting room and separate bathroom & washroom. You may enjoy budget lunch buffet which costs < €12.00.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We´re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we warmly welcome you to stay with us again!
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed in the hotel last week for four nights during a congress. It's very close to the city and thus central station, bars, restaurants etc.... The hotel ist quite old-fashioned, although it seemed to me that they tried to put some new furniture in the rooms. The bed was surprisingly comfortable. The staff was also very, very friendly. But still, I would not recomend this hotel for this price - my collegues stayed in other hotel for pretty much the same amout of money and there hotel was better. My room was dirty, it looked like the windows had not been cleaned for ages, the wooden floor was stained and some (not ignorable!) bread crumbs and hair were lying on the floor.Also the shopping bags of some person staying in the room before me were still lying in one corner. The shower and toilet were integrated in one small room, for me it was hard to actually shower: It was so small, I could hardly turn around ...and I am quite a skinny person. Also, it was not possible to not flood the room while showering. But the most disgusting thing: urine stains on the toilet seats, which MUST have been discovered if the room would have been cleaned before my arrival...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. My apologies that the cleaning has failed. I can promise that we are trying to do it better in the future.

Kind regards,
Ilona
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

A pleasant clean hotel, homely rooms which are very spacious. Quiet location for night. Great included English breakfast in the mornings. It is very central in the city, everything is walking distance and there are many restaurants close. Highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Helsinki!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you here next time you are in Helsinki!

Best wishes,
Ilona
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Arthur hotel is very well-positioned for visits to the city center and to connect to the public transport network. We were staying there on recommendation of event organisers as the event itself took place on the premises. Having stayed previously in Helsinki in much higher ranked hotels, this was certainly a challenge.The hotel is conceptually nice but in a serious need of a major restructuring if it wanted to meet standards for its current rating (and prices). The room was basic with literally a single bed and a minute bathroom where shower was not separated and after taking a shower you pretty much can't use the bathroom any more as it is all wet. There was no minibar in the room. The breakfast was nice and varied and served in a nice restaurant. Staff was friendly and helpful. Suitable for tourists seeking to stay in a decent place on a restricted budget.
P.S.: There were road works nearby starting from 6am, after which it was almost impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. Hotel Arthur is renovating the rooms bit by bit and although the hotel rates were quite high in June they were still in the low end compared to the rest of the city.
I would recommend you to reserve Comfort or Art nouveau class room next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brugge
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

we had a reservation from Belgium.
when we came in the hotel we just could not beleve our eyes .
hotel is disquasting . very dirty the reception looks like a night shop.
so
they send us to a room at the 8the floor. and what we saw was just shocking .
the room was dirty everything was dirty and it had the look of a prison room. we went down they and told them this is not acceptable . they gave us some other room wich was even more disquasting the mattress was full of blod and urine stains . so ofcourse we went back and got realy angry . so they send us to a third room wich was their best . and there where shamehair on the bed .
so this is not a hotel . this is a past soviet prison with the staff still the same form that time.
it is the most shocking and disquasting hotel in the world and anybody going there must be mad or just not use to normal hygiene.

plz stay a way form this disquasting hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry we couldn't meet your expectations.

Kind regards,
Ilona
Sales depatment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Excellent location for transport links (bus and train stations), historic sites, shopping and for ferries to Suomenlinna, the 'Fortress of Helsinki, a must-see attraction.

Helsinki is an expensive city and although the compact, basic room I had was not cheap it represented good value and I have rated it accordingly; it gave me all I needed for a two-night stay, although a picture or two on the walls might have made it a little more welcoming!

Breakfast buffet was standard mid-range hotel fare but none the worse for that. Service was friendly and efficient at reception.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. There are flexible rates at Hotel Arthur and depend of the season.

Kind regards,
Ilona
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arthur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur Hotel

Address: Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arthur Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Arthur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.