We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Arthur Hotel to your Saves list
Arthur Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Location is very good. Though not directly besides central train station, it is within walking distance. There is a metro station besides as well. The buffet breakfast is excellent in terms of options and quality. Service is good, room is clean and spacious. The room I got is on top floor and need to walk one floor after taking lift. It is a problem on the day of arrival and checking out. But in general, it is not a big problem. Comparing with the price of hotel in surroundings, this one is fair.

Room Tip: If you don't mind to take the luggage up one floor, top floor is great. It seems it is newly ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    231
    183
    68
    22
See reviews for
79
120
124
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed in a renovated room on the top floor. Fantastic. Large, clean and very comfortable - including the beds. Had to carry our suitcases up the final set of stairs which luckily were not too long. Bathroom spacious and clean. Would have liked some more information about using the A/C as it was so hot in the room. Good to have windows that we could open. Funny little lifts. Smokers outside front door unpleasant. Restaurant good- not open Sunday evening. Breakfast the same each day, but there was plenty of choice. Staff helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The location is very good. 300 m to the bus- and railwaystation. 50 m to metro and the main touristspot tram (3t+b)! The senate square is also just nearby. The hotel is on the end of a dead end street with the Botanic garden around the corner.

We stayed in a triple room that was VERY large with three comfortably single beds. The room was clean, bathroom ok, a little dated. TV and free WiFi. Waterboiler and coffee/tee in the room. A downside was that you could hear everything in the corridor.

Breakfast was variated and large and they got soyayogurt for me (allergic).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I've visited this hotel several times during the past 15-20 years. I had a bit high expectations as they advertise their recent renovation. Well, there are nice suites and superior rooms, but the standard rooms are far below the average Finnish ***-hotels. Tiny, worn-out bathroom, some holes in the walls, unconfortable bed and the room was hot already in May! (no AC). Also the hotel sauna was available only on extra fee - quite uncommon in Finnish hotels! The breakfast was very modest - which is unusual in Finland. The room rates are ridiculously over the standard. We chose this hotel as the other hotels in the area were sold out (and we had to stay in this particular area). If I had to choose now, I'd rather book in some other area (as the local transportation in Helsinki is good) or book Radisson Plaza Helsinki around the corner - well in advance of course to have an offer price. The only thing in this hotel (in addition to its location) is the friendly staff.

Room Tip: check out the renovated rooms and book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I had a triple room for my family. The room was large and it seemed as though it was recently renovated.However, the hallways were not clean and the carpet had stains.

The hotel's location is excellent and the proximity to the Central Station makes it convenient for travelers.

Buffet breakfast was pretty good too. Lots of choices for vegetarians too...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I gave it my number on booking.com. It took the money- which it really should not have done at all- twice, and except for "we can't be bothered to sort things out at weekends" (it is a Wednesday now) has offfered no explanation for either taking the money twice or failing to refund it,

If you must stay here- good location, ghastly coffee, pretentious impractical shower fittings- only pay cash

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Didn't like it really - old building, rooms need renovation, breakfast is just very average. Wasn't definitely worth 150 €/night for a triple room we've had.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arthur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur Hotel

Address: Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arthur Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Arthur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.