We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boy it was cold - just what we wanted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Grand Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Grand Marina to your Saves list
Scandic Grand Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Birmingham UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Boy it was cold - just what we wanted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Spent an enjoyable weekend with friends in a bitterly cold Helsinki which functioned as normal despite the heavy snow.

The Scandic Marina Hotel is a splendid old building well placed close to the main ferry terminal and was formerly a warehouse now converted into the hotel. A good location the hotel was warm comfortable and well maintained. The rooms we had were on the 7th floor and whilst a little on the small side were clean, warm and very comfortable with excellent en suite facilities. The bar area in the lobby was very convivial with views out on to the snow covered streets. The breakfast buffet was typical for Scandinavian hotels, was well presented and plenty of choice to satisfy even the most fussy eater. Certainly a good trip but be warned - Helsinki is very expensive so take plenty of Euros.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    483
    230
    55
    19
See reviews for
210
247
104
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed in the hotel for 1 night in December 2010. The location was okay, I would say it's fine in the summer but too far from the city center in the winter. In our opinion the pros and cons for the hotel are:

+ the room was very well cleaned
+ service in the restaurant was fine
+ the price included the breakfast

- the room was tiny
-the bathroom was not working well :
1.)whole bathroom floor was full of water after taking a shower (the stall was not working)
2.)the bathroom stinked and toilet paper holder wasn't working so tp was on the floor all the time... not a serious flaw but pretty annoying
-it was cold in the room
-salad in the reastaurant looked nothing like a salad, there was nothing green
-the hotel chain promotes that they have breakfast bread also for coeliacs... and yes they have... unfortunately it is just very dry and nothing to be proud of

Therefore we think that hotel is fine if you just need to stay a night in Helsinki... if you are looking for anything more than "basic", this is not for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Totally average and professional. Good, but not personal service. Noisy central heater. Great breakfast buffet. Convenient location.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

It was like any other hotel!! Nothing exceptional! Rooms were pretty ok.
The Bar is fantastic.Breakfast too was fine!
Its a decent value for money.The location is very good.Right next to the main ferry terminal which was good for me as I had a cruise to follow in my itinerary!
All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globeseeker007
Top Contributor
1,000 reviews 1,000 reviews
176 hotel reviews
1,091 helpful votes 1,091 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

We stayed here for a night on a layover from Helsinki to New York. This place looks okay when you're in the lobby. However, once in the corridors leading to the rooms, one gets a sense of darkness and gloom. The room has no amenities such as coffee maker or tissues. The TV gets a few channels. There is a Greek restaurant about a block from the hotel that has pretty good food. I'm glad it was only for a night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Great value! The rate included a very good breakfast. The room and bathroom (shower only) were basic but clean and bright. The location is an easy 10 minute walk from town and close to the harbour.Very pleased with the free wireless. I wasn't traveling with my children this time but noticed the breakfast room even had a separate area for children with a play area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed in this hotel with our 15 month daughter.
We really liked our very spacious room, but the central heating wan't functioning (at least in our room) so it was a bit cool, but with the extra-heater things went quite good, also the staff offered us to move to another room but we thought better of it.
There is a wifi in rooms.
The hotel was fully booked, we didn't know about it and were very surprised to see a real crowd of people at breakfast. But there was enough of everything, so nobody was left hungry or thirsty.
But there was no children menu at breakfast and it was a shame.
We also liked the playground area in the hotel's restaurant.
Very useful thing - a microwave oven, right behind the lobby bar, you can warm there baby food, for example.
The lobby bar is quite cosy and they serve a very good coffee.
What I didn't like was a very strong wind outside, but what could you expect? It's November, the hotel is situated in the port area, also the weather was not very welcoming (it was raining all 3 days that we spent there). But the hotel is not far from the center of the city and it's useful if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Scandic Grand Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Marina

Address: Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Grand Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Brick-faced Hotel housed in restored 6-story warehouse dating from 1912. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Scandic Grand Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Marina Helsinki
Scandic Grand Marina Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Grand Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.