We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Viking Line passengers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Grand Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
You added Scandic Grand Marina to your Saves list
Scandic Grand Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Convenient for Viking Line passengers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel is very close to the Viking Line terminal, so it's convenient for cruise and ferry passengers. You can store your luggage in the luggage room before check-in and after check-out. Good breakfast buffet (very crowded at peak times). On the harbor, close to the tourist market, Uspensky cathedral and other landmarks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Thank I K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
385 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were on a tour, and unfortunately, only stayed here one night.
Very good location - we were less than 10 minutes to Kauppatori Market Square, which was one block away from Senate Square. Uspensky Church was on the way to Market.
Showers were easy to step into, with complete glass doors (so you don't drip water all over the floor!), and knobs easy to 'figure out' quickly and use when hands are slippery, unlike many other hotels in Europe. (Never can understand the half-glass doors in showers, hard to step up, no bathmats, knobs hard to turn with soapy hands, not to mention you need to read 'instructions' on how to use the knobs!!!)
Bedrooms were roomy.

On the negative side: No water heater, so we could enjoy a cup of tea or coffee in our room without having to go downstairs and ... pay 1.50 Euros for hot water!!!! Unbelievable!!!!!

It was good that they had two PCs for guests to use, as well as a shared printer. On the negative side, no chairs, so had to stand up to use them. Also, people at the service/reception area, though friendly and trying to be helpful, had NO idea of how to get English using Hotmail! Nothing seemed to work. You couldn't just set the computer to English language, which should be an option, and have the PC stay in English! I was fortunate in that I could use Gmail, rather than have to depend on Hotmail alone. Unfortunately, next day, the same situation and the same people at service desk still didn't know how. You'd think that this is part of a job. I know if I didn't know, I would make an effort to learn, so next time a guest asks, I would be able to help - but that's just me.

Breakfast was very good, lots of selections, and they were nice enough to open up the dining area a bit earlier since we were leaving early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
1 Thank dragon789wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
214 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

In town for six nights a part of a group. Rooms are typical Scandinavian hotel, but maybe a bit small. Wireless good. Close enough to walk to many attractions. Good breakfast buffet. Small bar area in lobby that serves food, which is helpful as the restaurant wasn't always open when you needed a bite and it's a couple of blocks to someplace else to get food. It was chosen for us by the organizers of the hockey tournament we were in town for; I'd look for something smaller and more quaint if in town again, but this isn't a bad choice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Tangobangomango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great and beautiful location in Helsinki. Staff wonderful and so helpful. Brilliant choice of good food and healthy options for children. Bedrooms well appointed. Views from the front bedrooms overlooking the harbour were stunning. Stayed a number of times over the past 4 months and hope to do so again quite soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Some front rooms have a stunning view of the water/boats sailing by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
1 Thank esmaralda01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The locaton of this hotel is quite a long walk to the city centre - healthy to exercise but not convenient. The photo is misleading ; we could not work out how the picture had been taken, as there is a building directly opposite the hotel which blocks the view of the water, and it was never lit up like that when we stayed.
it is actually a long, drab, dark building which has been converted into a hotel with small, strangely long and narrow rooms crammed in on every floor. Our window was tiny and did not open sufficently to let in enough fresh air. The curtains however, were covering the entire wall where the window was, causing one to believe there would be a window behind it. The room was not clean enough - dirty walls, dust and hair at the head of the bed, unwiped bedside tables. The pillows were small and insufficient.
Our room was not made up for our number when we arrived and was not actually cleaned the whole time we stayed there (10 days), only the beds "made" and bins emptied and sometimes the towels were changed. One evening I sat down on the bed, only to get the fright of realising the "cleaner" had kindly left a hairbrush in it!
The double bed had one of those smelly bedcovers which doesnt get washed between stays - we removed it, folded and stored it on top of the too- small wardrobe, only to have it put back on the bed the next day.Glasses were left dirty, teabags and paper cups not replenished.
We asked to borrow an adaptor at reception, and only found out we had been charged 20 Euro for it when we went to pay the bill. The recptionist refunded the money when we challenged her about it.
Breakfast was a nightmare - Piccadilly Circus. People cutting their fingers trying to prepare pineapple (including small children) - totally unacceptable in every way. People handling bread products, then putting them back into the baskets. One flask of hot milk for scores of people. Dirty tables and floors.
Mostly lazy, rude, untrained staff who clearly were not happy working there, unwilling to help and unable to take initiative.
This place needs a new mangager - with more staff and proper training it would improve, but we will not be returning to find out.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
3 Thank Discerningmutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarfalla, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I visited this hotel a few years ago. The reason for visiting it again was pure “logistic” or close to a business meeting. Nothing has changed really. It´s a medium quality business hotel or upper medium tourist hotel depending on how you see upon things and very big with long long corridors.
Quality of sleep is very good since it is placed outside the city centre. So there are very few things, heavy traffic or other annoying things, that can disturb you apart from your room neighbours. But rooms seems to be more or less sound proof. Couldn't hear a thing from the corridor. If you get a room facing the entrance street (harbour) you might even get some sea glimpse.
It is about a 15 min. walk to the shopping area and the central station.
There is no bus or tram close to the hotel. A taxi from the airport is 40-50 Euro one way depending on traffic. There is no fixed taxi price as it can be in other Scandinavian cities. Credit cards always accepted on taxis.

The room is ok, but the room size for a single room that I booked was slightly below average. For a night or two it is OK. Years have gone by and you could see that refurbishment was some time ago. Bed comfort was above average and nothing in the room needs an immediate updating. Everything worked and was well kept and clean. For wi-fi nerds, nothing to complain about. The hotel chain was one of the first in Europe to introduce free wi-fi with high speed. No annoying passwords or anything. Just connect.

Breakfast was, as in all Scandinavian countries, well above average and of very good quality. Hot and cold dishes and the usual stuff. More than you can plug into your tummy. Go ahead and skip lunch if you want.

The only complaint was that it seemed to be a little under-staffed. There was a long waiting line when checking out in the morning, so check out time took a while. Or maybe I was unlucky.

Was it worth it ? Paying 170 Euro a night with your own taxed take-home pay, it is not really worth it. But whether business trip or tourist, it is hard to find higher quality for a lower price in Helsinki. Stick to a week-end if going as a tourist. Usually the price level is lower Sat-Sun.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
1 Thank neufdupape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Big hotel in a calm area of Helsinki. Walking distance to centre but there is a tramstop by the hotel. The gym is free and ok. Breakfast has a good quality. Staff is friendly. The hotel standard is good but has a need of renovation. It looks quite old

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Axel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#4 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Scandic Park Helsinki
#15 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#30 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#14 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 999 reviews
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Grand Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Marina

Address: Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Grand Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice seaside location close to Helsinki city center in an old ware house building from 1912 in Katajanokka, close to Helsinki SkyWheel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Low Cost Holidays, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Scandic Grand Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Marina Helsinki
Scandic Grand Marina Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing