We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i liked it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Grand Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Grand Marina to your Saves list
Scandic Grand Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“i liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

came here a while ago but didn't get round to reviewing.

location is near the ferry terminal & away from the noise of the town.
the building is big and i liked the way they have converted it.

really liked the bar which we spent some hours in after a long day shopping & traipsing through snow.

i would come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    365
    187
    47
    14
See reviews for
153
200
75
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kayseri, Turkey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

It was clean, comfortable and elegant... Breakfast was so delicious and there was many kind of food... Especially salmon fish varieties were good.. Rooms were small but comfortable.. Its location is good.. Not crowded district so there was silence..

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

It looks imposing but this hotel suffers from its size and it's inability to cope with the number of people staying.Tables at breakfast were full of debris with a couple of surly, giggly waiting staff who were not able to or unwilling to cope with the mess created by so many people. The room was comfortable but grease marks on the shower walls and dirt marks on the walls did not inspire me to rebook again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Reasonably pleasant stay in Helsinki. One of the biggest ones I believe in Helsinki. Stayed four nights on a city break. Rooms average with no ironing facility in room which one would expect in this price range. Used the self service laundry for both laundry and ironing.
Breakfast was good with good selection.
Free wifi. Car parking quite pricey in the underground car park

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naantali, Finland
Top Contributor
465 reviews 465 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I've been here before on a business trip and this time we chose this hotel, because it was near Kauppatori(Main Market Square) harbour and Finnair Ferris Wheel where we had tickets. Scandic hotels usual keep their good standards and this time too room was clean with good air conditioning and FREE Wifi. Last time they had great breakfast, but unfortunately now they didn't have enough staff. Lots of empty trays in buffet, only one juice "station" was working and there were so much dirty plates and glasses on the tables, that customers had to clean tables. And then same thing in reception, long queues and only two clerks behind desk. They offer check out via e-mail or text message, but that doesn't help you if you have to pay parking, restaurant bills or leave your luggage to storage room. Price was good, only 97€ which is a bargain in 4(?) star hotel in Helsinki in high season. Parking was 25€/night, but parking spaces in their garage are way too small for todays cars. So great evening and night, but not that good morning.

Room Tip: Take room from seaside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Colorado
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This supposedly upscale hotel is located across from a convention center and near the Viking Lines terminal in an otherwise quiet neighborhood on a peninsula about a ten-minute walk from the harbor and Market Square or 15-to-20 minutes from downtown Helsinki. It is a large, long, 7-story hotel, apparently converted from some old warehouse. The location is relatively convenient. A tram stop is about a block away, as is the ferris wheel. A sauna is available but no pool.

Our room was oddly shaped, more than 4 times longer than it was wide. It was difficult to squeeze between the wall and the end of the bed. There was a combination tub/shower, but the straight curtain rod was positioned inside the edge of the tub, so the curtain uncomfortably engaged the body of a person taking a shower. The toilet seat was loose. There is a safe and a mini-fridge with a marginal supply of drinks. The wifi internet connection worked well. There is a small window, less than 2 feet wide; it is not equipped with adequate window covering to keep the room dark during the never-totally-dark nights in June and July, when the sun sets after 10:30 p.m. and rises before 4 a.m. There is a small wardrobe and additional hangar space. King beds are not available in "standard" rooms; we had two twins pushed together. One of our electrical outlets ceased to function one day. There are small lights that can be aimed at the desk or your book while in bed without disturbing another sleeping person.

There is a new-fangled TV, which claims to have an alarm-clock function, but the on-screen directions do not work. An engineer came up to inspect it and seemed confused. We followed his directions and it failed to sound the next morning. During our 9-night stay, it was worse than unreliable, sounding less than half the times we set it. This is important since the hotel will NOT provide wake-up calls (we had forgotten to bring the charger for our cell-phone alarm). One night, the TV could not be turned off, no matter how many times the power button on the remote was pushed; it wasn't on a channel, but the screen glowed throughout the night. The wiring to unplug the TV was not easily reached.

Housekeeping was marginal. Our used glasses were never exchanged without asking. We were told that our room would be made up at requested times and often was not. The temperature controls seemed to work well. Our key-cards periodically had to be replaced. The elevators were erratic, with down elevators going up, or room-key-cards not working. Laundry, promised to be delivered to our room, generally was not. There are too few self-service washer/dryers.

Staff at Reception were friendly but inept (except for Manager Lauri who recognized an urgent situation and worked to resolve the problem). Most information provided was incorrect or the staff didn't know the answer to an obvious question. An example was Sunday lunch, when we phoned to say we were coming down for lunch at the hotel restaurant and hoped to have our room made-up while there. They didn't reply that no lunch was available. Though we had been told at check-in that the hotel restaurant is never open for lunch, they said that an abbreviated bar menu is available. But the bartender said "no, not on Sunday." We went to Reception to ask where we could get lunch (there are few restaurants in the neighborhood and the one at a nearby hotel is unaccountably "closed for lunch during summers"). We were told we could get lunch at the bar! Well, no. (The bar does serve the ubiquitous Finnish salmon-and-potato soup.) Reception also could not tell us where the restrooms in its large restaurant were located (they are in an unmarked, small hallway). It was rumored that the problem is that "everyone" in Finland goes on vacation during the summer, starting at summer solstice in late June, and that the staff were new; they certainly were untrained.

There are huge quantities of the rather limited selection of breakfast foods available and the buffet is continually restocked.. There is cut-your-own pineapple, scrambled or boiled eggs, mini-hot-dogs (the only sausage available), a variety of breads and rolls, etc. No omelette chef. Nothing changes from day-to-day except the flavor of the pickled herring. Breakfast was generally crowded with tourists and lots of children (there is a play area designed just for children).

The hotel reservation system seemed to work poorly. We wanted to stay a couple of nights before the conference began at the Grand Marina Congress across the street but were told (4 months beforehand) that the hotel was full on those nights. They would not put us on a wait-list for our first night because they said it was impossible that rooms would become available, so we booked another hotel for our first jet-lagged night (inconvenient). A few days before departing for Finland we checked the Grand Marina website and rooms *were* available, so we were able to extend our stay...but the hotel never informed us that the situation had changed.

There must be better places to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for a week during a conference at the venue across the street, and I liked it. The single room was small, but adequate, and there was a nice view of the ships from my window. Others in the same hotel reported different windows and views, but mine was very nice. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom had all the necessities (including shampoo and soap dispensers), and the wifi was easy to access. The hotel desk has bikes you can check out and ride around without additional charge. As far as I'm concerned, the real attraction of this hotel is the amazing breakfast included with the room: there were terrific fruits, salads, cereals, hot items, fresh-baked breads, and the buffet was always well-stocked. In the restaurant area, there is even a playground for small children to enjoy if the adults get boring.

One challenge in the summer is that the restaurant closes before it gets dark, so you have to remember to get food before they close, though they do have a small fridge of items available to purchase from the front desk after hours. This hotel is easily accessible from the #4 tram, and in walking distance of the port, most ferries, and a nice market. The desk staff were friendly and helpful and there are plenty of places to sit in the lobby. Our meeting overlapped with the world cup and there were always groups watching the games in the lobby.

I wouldn't say this is a luxury hotel, but it is very comfortable, clean, and has everything you need. I think the building was renovated from an old factory/warehouse, which to me adds to its charm (but also makes the room layout a little variable). I recommend staying there!

Room Tip: I liked the side with the water view, and most of the larger ships are tall enough to see even from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Grand Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Marina

Address: Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Grand Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Brick-faced Hotel housed in restored 6-story warehouse dating from 1912. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Grand Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Marina Helsinki
Scandic Grand Marina Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Grand Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.