We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Grand Marina

Save Saved
You added Scandic Grand Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Grand Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
pa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here one night on our way back home. It was more adequate. It has free wifi, and the hotel was once a warehouse so it is interesting and unique in some ways. It is within walking distance to an outdoor market. This was nice to walk around. There are restaurants within walking distance and a very nice park. The rooms were extremely small, but for one night it was more than adequate. The rooms were clean. They do seem to cater to tour groups, so the breakfast area was quite small. They did serve cream with there coffee. I did not see this much on my tour! I was grateful this. The breakfast was ok. It rains quite a bit there, and I had wishes they had a gift shop of some type in the hotel. They do not. This would have been a plus for the hotel I would think.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    340
    171
    44
    12
See reviews for
140
184
70
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kouvola, Finland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The location of the hotel was nice and the staff friendly but otherwise the hotel and the hotel room were only mediocre. The hotel was clearly over-booked: you would need to queue for everything and the hotel breakfast was a disaster. The were not enough tables for breakfast guests and so it took about 20 min just to find an empty table. At that time our two small children were starting to be very hungry and anxious. Once we found a table, there was not much to eat anymore. Almost the same happened at dinner, too: at first we queued for 20 minutes to get a table, and then did not get any service at all. So, more staff needed, especially in the restaurant!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Grand building and foyer, friendly staff, free wifi and printing access. Short walk to the city centre, a block from the harbour craft and food market.
Breakfast buffet included was incredible, with an extensive buffet of cooked and continental foods served in two large well-appointed dining rooms.
Rooms small but quiet and satisfactory. Would recommend to friends and for business.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

By virtue of its location near the ferries, this hotel caters to groups. Desk personnel were friendly and helpful. The room, however, was very small, and the bathroom had one particularly awkward feature: the sink was at one end of the long counter, and the soap dispenser at the opposite end, meaning that you were likely to dribble soap on whatever was on the counter beneath it.

Breakfast was adequate, but platters tended to stay empty rather than being refilled in a timely manner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halton Hills, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very clean hotel with friendly employees. Hotel was situated in a great location, this hotel also had great food. The gift shop within the hotel was also a nice bonus. The rooms were very clean and I had a good sleep every night of the trip. I felt very safe in this hotel which is always a good feeling when you're travelling.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed at the Grand Marina 3 nights for business. I usually come to Helsinki twice a year and stayed at different hotels before, never at this one. It is located close to the harbour, about 15 min walk to the shopping area. After checking reviews on tripadvisor I expected something different. We got a pretty good rate but for this I got a very basic room, pretty old, not clean, ongoing noise from ventilation and only very few TV channels which were English or German. The bed though was very comfortable. Breakfast was horrible, never saw such food served in a hotel of that category. Made me feel like back in school. I skipped it after the first day and just took a few croissants. If I have a chance to choose the hotel I will go for a different one next time I come back....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We went here for a citytrip and stayed one night in this hotel. Staff was very friendly and the room was spacious and clean, we had a Nice view to the haven were we could see our cruiseship. Breakfast buffet was good, lots of choice. Short walk to the city centre.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Grand Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Marina

Address: Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Grand Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Brick-faced Hotel housed in restored 6-story warehouse dating from 1912. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Scandic Grand Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Marina Helsinki
Scandic Grand Marina Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Grand Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;