We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Grand Marina

Save Saved
You added Scandic Grand Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Grand Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel at the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We went here for a citytrip and stayed one night in this hotel. Staff was very friendly and the room was spacious and clean, we had a Nice view to the haven were we could see our cruiseship. Breakfast buffet was good, lots of choice. Short walk to the city centre.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    357
    174
    52
    13
See reviews for
127
163
66
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Good scandic design. Hotel situated near Viking line doc in quiet and beautiful seaside part of town.
There is all as you need in the rooms.
One thing that was no good for me is a two beds with two blankets and thin pillows

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Marina for 7 nights and all in all found in to be excellent. Our arrival didn't get off to the best start and we had to wait about twenty minutes in a queue to get checked in, but I never saw such a queue again so I think we may have arrived at a popular time. We were checked into an upper room which had a porthole window with excellent views, rooms were clean and well presented.
The Hotel is ideally situated for visiting Helsinki being as it is overlooking the Harbour, the main town centre is less than five minutes walk away and there is a tram stop towards the rear entrance of the hotel. The trams are an excellent way to get around Helsinki, we bought our week ticket from an automated machine At the railway station, but you can buy off the driver and at many other outlets. Just hop on the tram no need to show your ticket, we never got asked for our ticket the entire length of our stay.
This would now be my first choice of hotel in Helsinki based on value and location

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here for a conference. The hotel is well appointed and the rooms are fresh and clean. There were a number of touring parties staying and so breakfast was hectic. There were plenty of seats however. I didn't use the restaurant for dinner but the city centre is a short walk away and there are restaurants there. The hotel bar did seem to close quite early on Sunday night. Overall a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This slightly quirky ex-warehouse on the docks is fun! Close to the centre, it offered good rooms (we asked for a harbour view and got it. Breakfast was good and at the end of a bus tour of 15 days we enjoyed a well-presented dinner.

The reception staff were the best we encountered in nine countries of our trip, even if Finland lost their world ice-hockey game to the US.

Happy to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Scandic Grand Marina hotel is situated nearby the habour in a former storehouse built over 100 years ago. You can easily walk to the Helsinki city center. The rooms are clean and quiet. In the morning you can enjoy a very good breakfest. Have been here many times and I will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The only bright side of my stay was the proximity to the city center. The difficulties I experienced;
No late check-outs allowed, limited choices for breakfast, very very slow room service even though you pay 10 euros on top of what you order as the room service surcharge, overall cleanliness is not up to par ,etc., etc.,... (the quality of the rooms will remind you of your college dorm days!..)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scandic Grand Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Marina

Address: Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Grand Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Brick-faced Hotel housed in restored 6-story warehouse dating from 1912. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Scandic Grand Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Marina Helsinki
Scandic Grand Marina Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Grand Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.