We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“International feeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Grand Marina

Save Saved
You added Scandic Grand Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Grand Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Naantali, Finland
Top Contributor
455 reviews 455 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“International feeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Good location, right next to harbour, president's palace and many other major attractions. Walking distance from city centre. Hotel was full of international guests, which I guess is normal over there because other side of the street is big congress centre. Friendly frontdesk, in Helsinkin standards reasonably priced parking(some outside and then they have garage) and classy food in their restaurant. Room was big, but really cold at first and maybe little old(ish).

Room Tip: Go to breakfast about 9.30am and watch large cruiseship docking about 100m away :) and then another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    342
    173
    44
    12
See reviews for
142
185
70
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel is built in old harbour storage area right in the centra of Helsinki. A short walking distance from the presidental palace and the main shopping street and department stores and sight seeing. Easy access to the centre also with the tram. The hotel is spacious, nice restaurang. Only minus is a bit expensive parking for guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel is located a 10-minute walk from the port of Helsinki and Esplanade Park. Rooms are not so big, but clean and warm, TV Set with local and some international channels, mostly news. Movie channels are available for extra charge. Wi-Fi is free. The minibar has water, juices, beer and wine. Hairdryer in the bathroom, but no bathrobes or slippers. Breakfast is good and varied. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bar is open until 23, but you can buy beer or wine from the reception after closing. Tram stops are nearby. A taxi from the airport is about 40 euros.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here on the last leg of a week and a half long trip through Europe. We flew Finnair and decided to take a longer layover in Helsinki so we could see the city. The location is great, enough out of the way so you can sleep soundly, but it is just a short walk to the ferry terminals and the city center. The number 4 street car stops two blocks away from the hotel. We had a seaside room on the 7th floor, so the view was a bit restricted because of the size of the window. We didn't mind at all, but if you want a better view, request a different floor. The food options at breakfast were extensive and the quality was quite good. Staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: If you are set on a great view, don't get a room on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I wanted to like this hotel. It has a fascinating history, and I have written about it, but it just did not measure up well. I stayed there for a conference held across the street at the Marina Conference Centre. Obviously the convenience could not have been greater and that was a big plus; if I had come to see Helsinki, it would have been a bit out of the way, but still OK.

I credit the hotel for offering a wide choice of rooms at a wide spectrum of prices, some quite reasonable. I took the second most basic and reserved on line (which worked well). For that I was on the second floor, on the back of the hotel, in minimalist furnishings. There was an inadequate closet for hanging clothes and a total lack of hangers. I asked someone from housekeeping for some hangers, and eventually received three, one of which fell apart under the weight of a normal pair of trousers. I was eventually able to hang most of my trousers by doubling up. There was neither space nor hangers for my shirts, which remained folded for the week. The bathroom was almost okay - well lit and ample hot water. Each day I had a different number and selection of bath linens - one day there were not bath towels at all. A few fittings were hanging out of the wall, including the bar one was supposed to use to get into and out of the elevated shower stall. That was dangerous. The rooms were not made up until very, very late in the day. It was never done when I returned at lunch, and on three days it was still not done when I returned at 5 PM. On the good side, the room was quiet, the curtains were very effective at shutting out the light (important in summer), and the mattress was decent.

The prices for incremental expenses in the hotel were very high. I asked at the desk what the charge was for a telephone connection to make an outside call. I was told "I don't know but it's very expensive." Very. For four calls I paid almost a hundred dollars. That was just for the connection, not the calls, which I made on a calling card. Nor could they tell me the cost of dry cleaning until I got it back. Dry cleaning and laundry is always high in a hotel, but this was five times what I pay in the US. (They did a decent job on the clothes.) A simple bowl of soup was 6 Euros; a Pepsi was 4.6 Euros. Breakfast was included in the room price. It was decent, nothing special but not bad. Tip: Exit the hotel (either side) and walk toward town. About three blocks down on a cross street you will find a small grocery where you can buy food, drinks, and snacks. It's not cheap, but it's better than the hotel. Right nearby there is an ATM and a small shop selling coffee, pastry, etc. There was a bar in my room, and each day I put a soda in its fridge, which the staff did not seem to mind. it would have been impossible to get intoxicated from the bar. The alcohol was plentiful but the prices would have sobered you up in a heartbeat.

if you have not been to Helsinki, you may be wondering if I am making too much of the prices. It is, after all, a very expensive city compared with much of Europe. Even in that context, however, the prices were out of line. it is important to note, however, that I did not compare it with other hotels used by the conferees. I hope this review helps travelers headed for Helsinki, which is a fantastic city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Scnadic Grand Marina hotel is located at the harbour. From there you can reach most places in the city center within minutes.
Rooms are quiet, clean and provide all neccessary things you need in a hotel room on a business trip (free and well working WIFI), etc.
Staff was very friendly, Food at breakfast was good and the variety at the buffet was not bad either.
Why is it then just almost perfect? Well, it´s not a stylish super fancy modern luxus resort - "just" a pretty good hotel - not bad for business travellers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed for 1 night. Unfortunately checked in late and the room I got was sea view and 7th floor that had windows on roof and small one on wall. The only misfortune was it was a stormy night with heavy winds and rain that made it so noisy that sleeping was difficult. In normal situations the room would have been great. Close to centre, near the ferry terminal, friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Grand Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Marina

Address: Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Grand Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Brick-faced Hotel housed in restored 6-story warehouse dating from 1912. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Scandic Grand Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Marina Helsinki
Scandic Grand Marina Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Grand Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.