We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Grand Marina

Save Saved
You added Scandic Grand Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Grand Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Great place and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night while on a tour. The rooms are clean comfortable and modern. The free wi fi is really high speed. This is one of the few hotels on this trip that has adequate lighting in the room. There is a nice desk with with double outlets and a lamp. Adequate closet space and a spacious bath with modern shower a fully closing shower door, rare in Europe, make this place a great one for travelers staying more than a couple days. Wish we could have stayed longer. Located right off the waterfront it is a short walk to most of the sights in the city. Very nice breakfast rounds out the great features of this place. Would definitely return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    342
    174
    44
    12
See reviews for
142
185
70
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

this is a perfect hotel , exelent location, and you can walk to Helsinki center, I have been visiting Helsinki during 15 years nearly every working week and tghhis is fist time I am staying at Scandic Grand Marina , not the best for me in my job but nice for any turist

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had to pay extra to get early check in but otherwise very comfortable and well located. Staff helpful. Guest laundry also useful. Rooms not overly large but well appointed. lLose to harbour area for tours and markets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for catching a Finnair flight back to New York the next day. We thought that it would be a hostel type of hotel just for tourists to catch a flight or a cruise. We were only partially right, being there are many many rooms in the hotel, it does look like a hostel. However the design of the rooms are well done and the service was good.

1) the cleaned wooden floor instead of carpets impressed me. It gave me a sense of security that there are no bugs hiding there.

2) the bathroom is quite small, but the design is very efficient. Clean one piece porcelain sink counter with a shelf underneath to put your toiletries . The water flows from the shower n sink were strong n even. The soap n shampoo were in stationary pump bottles mount on the wall, therefore no need to fish for the tiny bottle of hotel shampoo after slipped off from the shower caddy gaps. And, also environmentally friendly. The towels were thick n white.... Placed on the electric towel rack, how luxurious !

3) this is the first hotel that I found sufficient lightings in the room. The reading lights were LED lights that would not glare into your eyes yet bright enough to read the small prints on the map.

4) despite of the large size of the hotel, the staff was friendly. I ran out of shampoo in the shower. So I got out of the shower to call housekeeping. Before I was fully dressed, the housekeeper was at the door with the new cartridge :)

5) there was fast Internet, no stingy restriction on usage like those hotels in vienna.

6) the location is convenient with the open market, the restaurants all within walking distance.

Why do I give only a four star rating ? Well, it lacked a kettle or coffee Pot in the room. As a tea lover, I have to go downstairs to fetch hot water from the bar. The bar keeper was very willing to fill my thermo for me. Also the hotel is getting a bit old. The wooden floor, though clean was scratched from heavy usage.

The breakfast variety is not really gourmet, but enough to go not hungry.

But all in all, the stay had been very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului, Hawaii
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Hotel is very close to the port, "flea" market and main shopping street in Helsinki, so it offers the visitor great easy access to activities, restaurants and shopping! The hotel has comfortable rooms, nice restaurant and bar area. The hotel was busy during our stay so felt the services were not up to par and it was a bit noisy. But overall, the property is nice and its location is great for a Helsinki visitor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Wa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Have really enjoyed this hotel. Rooms are well appointed with a comfortable chair for reading, a small desk, even real bins for recycling. Double bed was actually two twins that could be configured either way successfully. Very convenient to the Market stalls along the waterfront, though those end at the end of September, but also just a short walk to the Esplanade with its restaurants and shopping. Very good buffet breakfast included in room rate. Staff were all friendly and helpful, whether answering questions such as how to find BBC on the TV, to making special wake up call arrangements for my sister who is hearing impaired. Didn't try the sauna but understood it was a good one. Note: There is a small grocery store just a block away. Fazer chocolate bars there are almost half as expensive as those old at the hotel desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Scandic grand marina. I was boarding a Viking Line ship from the port and it was in a very convenient location where I could walk 5 minutes to the ship, very easily and safely. The walk into town is about 10 minutes, else you can get a tram which stops just outside the hotel.
The room was clean and fresh, also the bathroom was lovely. The breakfast in the morning was huge! Such a variety to choose from. It took me a while to find my way around! Also you can sit outside in the sunshine which is lovely.
The sauna is good, but only open at certain times.
The staff are very friendly, speak very good English and are eager to help.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Grand Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Marina

Address: Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Grand Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Brick-faced Hotel housed in restored 6-story warehouse dating from 1912. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Scandic Grand Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Marina Helsinki
Scandic Grand Marina Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Grand Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.