We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and good location to discover the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Grand Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Grand Marina to your Saves list
Scandic Grand Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Bled, Slovenia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great hotel and good location to discover the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Really nice hotel at excellent location if you want to discover Helsinki. Room was perfect, breakfast was great and there is also a big public sauna. Gym is also big and nice. Very organised staff and helpful with organising taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    380
    193
    47
    15
See reviews for
157
207
78
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A very popular hotel and Nice location but heavily work out and room standard at a low level. Decoration?? White walls with lightbulbs. Carpets? Njet. I had to pay 30 euro extra for a non smoker room despite i had ordered one. Television hardly working. Breakfast was ok thou,nothing extra but on the level. Pillows too big and hard but mattress ok. Overall its acceptable but too expensive for the substandard they deliver today. Finland is famous for good design and quality and they should invest some money and put the hotel back at a top notch level

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We chose this hotel for our first visit to Helsinki and were very pleased to find that it ticked all the right boxes. Nice room with a sea view as requested. Yes the windows are small but that is part of the buildings character and charm as it is an old warehouse. The interior however is very modern, serviceable and pleasing to the eye. The included breakfast was excellent and couldn't be faulted, almost every European option was available.
The Grand Marina is excellently located right next to the harbour and around a 5-10 min walk to the city centre and some of Helsinki's main attractions. The tram stops just behind the hotel and bikes are available for free from reception so you can explore the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view (there is an option to request this when you book via the Scandic web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Only 5 mins walk from Kauppatori and 10mins from the city center. Not too bad for me. Room was small and outdated but clean and comfortable. Worked for me for one night I stayed during my stay. Free car park in the front of hotel!! Remember to ask voucher from the reception to avoid parking fee. Breakfast was typical Scandic selection = very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nicely located; about 10 minute walk from the Esplanade. Area seems safe enough. Historic area near dock and nearby Orthodox Church. Our room was cell-like - long and narrow. Small window which would only open 3 inches at the most. Plastic wood-look floor. Bathroom was modern and clean. Good shower. Beds OK. Absolute worst part was the breakfast: many families with out-of-control screaming kids, clean tables impossible to find, quality of food marginal. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Try your best to get an upgrade and avoid the cell-like typical rooms. Go to breakfast early to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Scandic, the reincarnation of a magnificently restored and updated industrial building about 100 years old, close to Helsinki's docks, is a city land-mark. This was my third visit. My hosts had arranged for me to stay in a suite (with sauna!), but it turned out to be very dark as none of the hotel's exterior could be altered to provide for modern features. To the consternation of the front desk, I asked to move, and did so to a smaller two-level suite with excellent light. In general, service was slow and sometimes grudging,. The hotel did not seem as sharp as on past visits. Breakfast is an assembly-chain and charmless business with ordinary food and, unusually for Nordic countries, sub-standard coffee. As my French school teachers used to write on my report-cards: "can do better"! And should, without much extra effort. Overall, though, the combination of building, location and originality is hard to beat in Helsinki, one of the world's most charming small capitals.

Room Tip: A regular double room is likely as good as a suite, judging from my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Western Finland, Finland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We selected this hotel because of the location near the Helsinki zoo ferry. We had a family room which was big enough for 2 adults and 2 kids. The room had a proper ac and was very clean. At the breakfast there were a good selection of choices. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and both the evenings we had our dinner at the hotel restaurant. We had the dinner buffet which we found a great value for money. Kids had their own mini buffet. There also is a la carte menu available. The kids' play corner was big enough that adults could finish their dinner. All the staff were kind and helpful. The hotel and restaurant was full booked but they arranged us a table at the first evening after all. Ask for a room with harbour view if you have small kids with you.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Grand Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Marina

Address: Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Grand Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Brick-faced Hotel housed in restored 6-story warehouse dating from 1912. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Grand Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Marina Helsinki
Scandic Grand Marina Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Grand Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.