We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quality hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Grand Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Grand Marina to your Saves list
Scandic Grand Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice quality hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed at the Grand Marina for a week on business and it was a very nice hotel. Its my first time in Finland sinceI was a child so I dont know if the Finnish are quirky or maybe its just me. I arrived at reception to be greeted by someone looking as though they were off to the gym. It took me a second to realise she was the receptionist. The greeting wasnt particularly warm but it was efficient. The room was well laid out and the beds were comfy too. The bathroom was clean and had all the amenities except there was no bath. That doesnt bother me but I know some people like a soak.The thing that got me was the colour scheme. It was mixture of yellow and that off white/beige colour that you get when white paint has been exposed to years of cigarette smoke. It didnt look right but its just my opinion. Anyway there was the usual TV with cable channels with some in English with Finnish subtitles.
One thing to be wary of is that the walls seem to be paper thin. I am a light sleeper and have been woken by cupboards and doors banging along with the general TV/hairdryer.
The resturaunt was nicely appointed and modern looking. I chose to eat at the bar most nights as you can watch the world pass by the reception and look out of the windows at the front of the hotel. Breakfast was included in the stay and its a bit of a free for all. There were a lot of coach holiday makers who tended to come all at once but it was fun being in the thick of it. Sometimes you mind find it hard to find a table so people spill out into the bar area. There was the usual hot and cold breakfast buffet items and more types of bread than you can shake a stick at (or should that be breadstick!). There was free wi-fi included in my stay and I must say that it was so fast that I could not believe it. It was faster than at my house and I have the latest fibre optic line. Even the airport wi-fi was quick which just brings shame on us Brits.
If you wish to walk into town, its only a 10-15 minute stroll and you pass the marina area with all its boats before you hit the town. Once you arrive at the edge of town, there a lovely park with a glass house cafe which is lovely on those light summer nights. The town itself is full of different shops and boutiques which will keep the ardent shopper happy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    385
    196
    47
    16
See reviews for
160
209
82
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Although located next to Helsinki's pretty harbour, there is not much you can see of it, since the view from the hotel is blocked by a conference center.
The hotel has a nice industrial front but has to deal with boat loads of guests who pour out of the cruise liners right in front of it. It is big and fit to deal with huge amounts of people. This shows in the efficient but totally charmless atmosphere of the rooms, the breakfast and the lobby. Wifi works and is free. A concierge is badly needed to deal with all the requests. Staff are friendly, but sometimes overworked.The rooms are basic but have allright bathrooms, a desk and reasonable beds. The location is fine with direct access (tramline 4) to the centre of city. Helsinki is an expensive city and it shows in the price. Quality for money is just about allright.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side, the front side has the big lamps that illuminate the hotel facad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Very nice, clean and modern hotel. Very friendly staff. Excellent restaurant. Nice location. Internet works properly. I enjoyed my stay, reccomend and would stay again. The price was very reasonable . A great choice.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
403 helpful votes 403 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I booked at family standard room for our time in Helsinki at this hotel. I chose this as a family member had stayed here previously and had given a good report to us on it. We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel, it was about 50 euro and we knew there were cheaper ways to get there but for us it was the best option. The bathroom had a very large shower, basin and toilet but certainly not one of the nicest hotel bathrooms very bland. The room was clean. We had our bed, a sofa that converted to a bed & a cot. We ate dinner at the restaurant on site and the waiter was very accommodating for our two children even warming up the milk & preparing a dish that wasn’t on the children’s menu. We were impressed with the service in the restaurant where nothing was a problem. As a vegetarian the choices were limited but the chef did a special dish for me with no fuss so this was a very nice surprise. The breakfast had an excellent choice and one big win for us was there was a dedicated play area for the children to be entertained in so we could watch them play & have our table right next to that area. The breakfast was buffet style. So with breakfast included & children staying for free this was good value for us. There were not many options during the day to purchase a snack within the hotel but outside the market area and waterfront were nice areas to be in and that was a short walk away that we enjoyed taking. During our stay we needed to call the airline and the gentleman on duty at reception was so nice to recommend I go down to reception to make the call as the cost per minute was very high & there was a wait time. We also got a free late checkout and took a taxi to the airport on checking out. Even though the hotel was very busy during our stay we never felt crowded and the children loved the little area they could play in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I recently visited Helsinki with my work and I stayed at the Grand Marina for two nights. This hotel was what I expected. One word describes my stay, 'Average'.

Good: Great location. Semi friendly staff.

Bad: Very little flash, bland/dry food, rock hard bed. In all honesty, I was surprised the TV worked as well as it did.

Listen, if you find yourself in Finland, this is very typical of most hotels. Don't be disappointed. Set your expectations lower and you will find yourself happier with your accomodations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

It's large, it's a chain hotel and it's located close to the ferry terminal. There's not a lot that marks this hotel out from any other, with little personality or personal touches, but it's not far from the centre, spacious and includes a buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I went with my wife and our 2 year old son. The first impression was very good, a huge hotel, clean and good service. When we arrive to our room, over the outside border of the toilet had poo... yes, poo. The tub was very dirty and had many hairs. We complained to the reception and they only said "sorry" and sent a person to clean it.
The next days we saw that the maid was very bad. The first day we used a glass to give milk to our son, and that glass was not cleaned or changed during the 5 days that we stayed there. They never used the vacuum in all these days (we saw the same crumbs day after day). It seems that the cleaning is only stretching the bed.
The hotel is very big, many many rooms, but they only have two people to attend in the reception, so many times we had to wait to much time.
The breakfast was ok, many things to eat, but in short: was very dissapointment and not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Grand Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Marina

Address: Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki SF-00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Grand Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Brick-faced Hotel housed in restored 6-story warehouse dating from 1912. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Grand Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Marina Helsinki
Scandic Grand Marina Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Grand Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.