We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot in Helsinki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Hotel

Save Saved
You added Anna Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anna Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Annankatu 1, Helsinki 00120, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Irmo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Spot in Helsinki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great place to stay while visiting Helsinki. Walking distance to everything you want to do. Safe neighborhood. Fantastic breakfast to get your day started. We had the "family room" for 4 people which was plenty big. It was on the 6th floor and noise was not a factor at all. We tried to extend our stay, but the hotel was booked for the following night

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    70
    29
    10
    2
See reviews for
11
17
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel Anna enjoys a great central location in Helsinki. Rooms are small but comfortable, the staff is friendly and welcoming and the complimentary continental breakfast is tasty. A very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: We recommend a higher floor on the inside - - VERY quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel Anna is conveniently located within walking distance of Railway station and Market Square, and is easily accessible via trams and buses. The room is clean and well-equiped, albeit on the small side. Breakfast spread is good. Most importantly, staff are all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

arrived late evening, no communal lounge, no where to get a drink, or bite to eat, just my bed room,with a mini bar. Room was fine, and bed very comfy. Quiet, yet fairly central. Breakfast was good....... lots of choice.
Staff fairly friendly. No complaints!!!!

Room Tip: if alone ,worth paying a little extra for a bigger bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Having in mind that the hotel is really located perfectly in the center of Helsinki, we certainly could have chosen worse than the Anna Hotel. Room was quite big, bathroom old fashioned but clean. Unfortunately no air condition, temparature was a bit high. TV was okay, but don't expect much more than some Finnich channels. W-LAN worked not very well neither in our room nor in the breakfast area, maybe one or two repeaters would be a good investment. Breakfast was standard in a very tiny room, only the available Nespresso coffee was a nice surprise. Reception staff looked pretty exhausted, we never saw them smile. So all in all, for the price it's okay but next time we would try anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Helsinki visit was fantastic and Anna Hotel provided perfect location to explore the city. The tram line doing a figure eight around the city (3T) stops only one block away from the hotel and provides access to all the main tourist attractions.

Good;
- very friendly staff
- good location
- breakfast and WiFi internet included

To Improve:
- lack of air-conditioning in the rooms, we asked for a key to open the windows which alleviated the issue but situation will be very inconvenient during a heat hot
- parking is available but must be reserved in advance and costs 20 Euro a day

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I enjoyed my time at Hotel Anna and would stay here again. It is very convenient to public transport - within 1 block of tram 3B/3T, bus 14/18/17 and also bus 24 (plus others). Very easy walk to downtown and to many of the sights. I walked to/from the train station in ~15 minutes. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Plus the desk is staffed 24/7 so there is always a body at the front desk. Breakfast is good though each morning I went for breakfast they were already out of the hot food (eggs, meat, french toast) and it seems that they only put out one tray of the hot food and that's it. They serve breakfast for 3 hours each day and I typically got there in the 2nd hour but missed the hot food. But they also have cereal, a few items of canned fruit, a few fresh veggies, toast / bread / rolls, sliced cold meats and cheese, plus coffee and tea. Basic, filling but few protein choices. There were also several restaurants nearby. As pointed out by other reviewers, the rooms have no AC so they can get warm and stuffy. I was thankful for having 2 windows in my room that I could open so I could get some breeze. My windows faced toward the back which was quiet nearly all the time so I could sleep with windows open. I had a single room which had a twin bed and was perfect for one person. There is also a mini-frig, in-room safe, desk/chair etc. - very pleased with the room, the hotel and the location.

Room Tip: If you're visiting during warmer months (May - August), ask for a room with 2 windows that can o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari T, General Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and presentation of both the hotel and Helsinki. You gave us useful information that we have to look into, so we can improve our service and product for you and other guests to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Hotel

Address: Annankatu 1, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anna Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located cozy hotel on walking distance from major Department Stores. Situated in an area of Design Boutiques, Art Galleries and trendy Pubs and nice restaurants. Free WLAN internet connection for hotel guests. Hotel has a breakfast room, small sauna and meeting room for 12 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.