We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special but okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Hotel

Save Saved
You added Anna Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Anna Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Annankatu 1, Helsinki 00120, Finland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special offer
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nothing special but okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Having in mind that the hotel is really located perfectly in the center of Helsinki, we certainly could have chosen worse than the Anna Hotel. Room was quite big, bathroom old fashioned but clean. Unfortunately no air condition, temparature was a bit high. TV was okay, but don't expect much more than some Finnich channels. W-LAN worked not very well neither in our room nor in the breakfast area, maybe one or two repeaters would be a good investment. Breakfast was standard in a very tiny room, only the available Nespresso coffee was a nice surprise. Reception staff looked pretty exhausted, we never saw them smile. So all in all, for the price it's okay but next time we would try anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    70
    29
    10
    2
See reviews for
11
17
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Helsinki visit was fantastic and Anna Hotel provided perfect location to explore the city. The tram line doing a figure eight around the city (3T) stops only one block away from the hotel and provides access to all the main tourist attractions.

Good;
- very friendly staff
- good location
- breakfast and WiFi internet included

To Improve:
- lack of air-conditioning in the rooms, we asked for a key to open the windows which alleviated the issue but situation will be very inconvenient during a heat hot
- parking is available but must be reserved in advance and costs 20 Euro a day

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I enjoyed my time at Hotel Anna and would stay here again. It is very convenient to public transport - within 1 block of tram 3B/3T, bus 14/18/17 and also bus 24 (plus others). Very easy walk to downtown and to many of the sights. I walked to/from the train station in ~15 minutes. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Plus the desk is staffed 24/7 so there is always a body at the front desk. Breakfast is good though each morning I went for breakfast they were already out of the hot food (eggs, meat, french toast) and it seems that they only put out one tray of the hot food and that's it. They serve breakfast for 3 hours each day and I typically got there in the 2nd hour but missed the hot food. But they also have cereal, a few items of canned fruit, a few fresh veggies, toast / bread / rolls, sliced cold meats and cheese, plus coffee and tea. Basic, filling but few protein choices. There were also several restaurants nearby. As pointed out by other reviewers, the rooms have no AC so they can get warm and stuffy. I was thankful for having 2 windows in my room that I could open so I could get some breeze. My windows faced toward the back which was quiet nearly all the time so I could sleep with windows open. I had a single room which had a twin bed and was perfect for one person. There is also a mini-frig, in-room safe, desk/chair etc. - very pleased with the room, the hotel and the location.

Room Tip: If you're visiting during warmer months (May - August), ask for a room with 2 windows that can o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari T, General Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and presentation of both the hotel and Helsinki. You gave us useful information that we have to look into, so we can improve our service and product for you and other guests to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

the hotel is very simple and the roooms are tiny - I visited during the heat 30 degree and it was unbearable. The hotel is lacking an aircon and sleep was impossible for 2 straight nights. In winter it might be an bargain but in this hot tempreture (which is seldom the case in Helsinki ) it was almost Torture. Choose the right time of the year !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Loved the hotel, had good service- which was not common anywhere else in Helsinki. Loved our room. Top floor and although no a/c the fan they had in the room sufficed. Breakfast was perfect with plenty of choices.

Location was ok. A few choices of restaurants nearby. But otherwise you need to cab to most places. Public transportation is hard to figure out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My parents always stay here when they come to visit. It's clean, well located and the people are friendly and efficient. There's a spacious corner room which has a nice view over the street and a playground. Short walk to good public transport connections and some very nice restaurants and bars.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Tiny room, tiny bathroom, somewhat short bed, excellent internet connection, good value breakfast. Stairs impossible to avoid. Friendly and helpful staff. near Design Museum. Some 300 m from tram stop (10) and cca 1 km to railway station.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Hotel

Address: Annankatu 1, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anna Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located cozy hotel on walking distance from major Department Stores. Situated in an area of Design Boutiques, Art Galleries and trendy Pubs and nice restaurants. Free WLAN internet connection for hotel guests. Hotel has a breakfast room, small sauna and meeting room for 12 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.