We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice centrally located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Anna Hotel to your Saves list
Anna Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Annankatu 1, Helsinki 00120, Finland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special offer
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice centrally located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

If you're looking for a centrally located, quiet and affordable place, look no further! The hotel is within 10 minutes walking distance of most sites (ok, Helsinki is small but still) yet it is situated in a quiet street which means one can sleep with the window open without being disturbed by noise. The breakfast is very decent too. All this at a very affordable rate. One low point: I went when Helsinki was experiencing higher than normal temperatures and the room was very hot. The little fan didn't do much to cool the room down. Hopefully this shouldn't be a problem too often.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    74
    29
    11
    2
See reviews for
11
18
45
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
B-Town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Both myself and my husband stayed here along with another backpacking friend. We had a triple private room. It was clean and the bathroom was a good size. Linens and towels are included in the price. It is close to the train/bus station (which by the way is excellent) and is in walking distance to all major sightseeing areas. There is no air conditioning for those who are travelling in the summer. The breakfast is fantastic in terms of quality and amount so I recommend you get up for it. Helsinki has beautiful parks in all areas of the city the main park is close to the water way and is an excellent place to buy cherries and strawberries, sit on a blanket and enjoy the day. There is live music in the park and tons of icecream stands and cafes. Beware of the seagulls they are nuts and will dive bomb you for your food...not joking!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I did a lot of looking around for hotels in Helsinki before finally settling for Hotel Anna. The reviews for the hotel were good but I was worried the location may be a bit outside Helsinki city center.

My room was a decent size and included a safe, table-chair, mini bar, TV and en suite bathroom and toilet. Given the warm Finnish summer weather, the hotel also had a table fan in the room, which I had on the entire time I spent in the room!

The hotel is well maintained, clean and tidy. The location is just a couple of street away from Bulevardi and Esplandi . Central station is about a 10 mins walk. Helsinki is a very compact city and all the major attraction are easily reachable on foot from Hotel Anna.

Breakfast is served from 7AM to 10:30 AM and included in the room price. The breakfast spread is good.

Further, the hotel benefits from being just around the corner from Iso Robertinkatu which has numerous bars and clubs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This hotel was reasonably priced for Helsinki, it's about a 10-15 minute walk from the train station and quite central. The rooms were a fair size and were clean & tidy. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I like this little hotel. It is located in a quiet street centrally in Helsinki. I stayed there for the third time in March, and the receptionists have been friendly every time I have been there. The single room I stayed in the last time was very small, so if you like spacious rooms, you should ask specifically for that (I think they have them in different sizes). The breakfast is a bit simple, but absolutely sufficient.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne, Ireland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

This is a simple hotel just 15-20 minutes walk from central train station in Helsinki and some 15 minutes from the Olympia terminal(ships to Stockholm).Tram 10 runs just 1 minutes from hotel providing easy access o to city center.The Hotel is quite old, yet, as most hotels in Finland, clean, tidy.Has free Wifi, very good TV at rooms.The Bathroom was only a shower, and some maintenance would have been nice, but all was just fine.A Mini bar in the room and free digital safe.Sauna is warmed on demand.Breakfast just fine!There are many restaurants and shops just nearby.Paid €65 for a single room with breakfast..hmm could be a bit less, yet Finland is expensive!

Room Tip: Any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

If I have to rate my worst stay ever in Helsinki, I will count this hotel. Though hotel building is located at a prime location in the south district, it is badly managed and overly priced for nothing. We had to stay in this hotel, as we had no other option (all hotel rooms were booked for the Finland Germany soccer match going to be held in Helsinki). The hotel staff, including receptionist was not a professional at all. The rooms were cramped and internet not working, though it was promised to be working. We had a bad time managing our activities. While leaving, we wanted to put our luggage in the common storage room, and we found it heavily filled with one bag over the other.

Overall, the hotel is overly priced for the facilities it provides.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talikko, General Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
Most of our guest have chosen to stay with us and that makes a small differnce in how they experience their stay. It is nice to see that you have found that the hotel building is located at a prime location, despite your otherwise less flattering experience. We are sorry that we did not met up with your expectations and that you could not use the WLAN. It happens that the storage room is sometimes full of luggages especially when the hotel has been fully booked.
Thank you for keeping us awake and reminding us of that we can always improve our performance.

Kari Törmä
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Hotel

Address: Annankatu 1, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located cozy hotel on walking distance from major Department Stores. Situated in an area of Design Boutiques, Art Galleries and trendy Pubs and nice restaurants. Free WLAN internet connection for hotel guests. Hotel has a breakfast room, small sauna and meeting room for 12 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;