We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Messuaukio 1, Helsinki 00520, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #37 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

With a chain hotel you should know what you're getting, and this Holiday Inn delivers a good standard business hotel. Rooms are a good size, with a desk and two lounge chairs. Room safe, iron and ironing board, refrigerator, tea and coffee making. Good wifi in rooms. Friendly and efficient service on the front desk (though don't try phoning in the evening, as the sole person on duty may be busy and unable to answer).

Breakfast is provided by an independently-run operator. It is pretty comprehensive, but the breakfast room isn't a nice place to be in the morning as it is next to their industrial kitchen and they leave the connecting door open so you can hear all the crashing plates and noisy dishwashers. The staff are noisy as they go around the breakfast room picking up crockery and cutlery.

The hotel is out of town but on two tram routes, and a short walk from a station and bus routes, so is a reasonable base for exploring Helsinki. Its main purpose, though, is accommodation for the adjacent congress centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying in Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Your feedback is much appreciated and very valuable for us in our continous effort to better our customer service and product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    84
    38
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
15
10
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oulu
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A good quality hotel, fullfilling all average standards but nothing special. Benefits are congresscenter and meetingrooms fi needed. Location 5km from citycenter, but direct connections via trains appr. 10-15mins.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Pauli30,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We’re glad that our location and facilities were suitable for your business travel. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more pleasurable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. Thank you for posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in our establishment.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed here with my colleague on April 2014 when we participated in workshop in Messukeskus. This hotel is very well located and there is an easy access to Messukeskus. Very convenient.

We were part of a bigger group and our travel arrangements were made for us by a travel agent. When we signed up for this workshop, the travel agent asked us with whom we would like to share a room with. When we were checking in in the morning, a receptionist, with a quite bad attitude, told us that roommate wish list from the travel agent hasn't gone through, so not everybody will not have the roommate that was wished for. We kindly asked that if she could put us into a same room since our other roommates were not checked in yet. At least to us, it felt like rather easy thing to do. She pointed to us very unpleasantly that what we were asking is too much of a hassle and she is not going to be doing so. She just continued that when our roommates will check in, then we can change the rooms the way wanted by ourselves... hmmmp! Why bother doing any check-ins if that is the case... For us, it seemed that the roommates were allocated alphabetically, so no one had the roommate that they wished for. This roommate problem was solved in the afternoon after the organizer intervened. Then the receptionist did what we asked her to do in the morning.

The room was average, I found it to be a bit worn out but that is just a matter of a opinion. The bed was good and I got a good night sleep. The breakfast was very nice, a little bit different than normal Finnish hotel breakfast buffet which was very positive matter.

Summa summarum, if you are going to be visiting Messukeskus, this hotel is very well located and you will benefit from it. You will probably be able to sleep well and get a good start for the day with good breakfast. I was very disappointed by the service with the room mate issue, for that reason I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Nevamarja

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write us a review. I am deeply sorry for the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel while checking in. The confusion with the roominglists was due to the fact that the travelagency produced us wrongly made name lists for the very large group in which you participated. It took us unfortunately considerable time to sort the list again after the mistake was noticed by one of the organizing member.

Despite of this bad experience I do hope that we will see you in Holiday Inn Exhibition & Convention Centre in the future.

Best Regards

Patrick Mitzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location for the exhibition centre as it's in the same building. Very high standards of service and the rooms are clean and well serviced. We stayed on a B&B basis and the buffet style meal was well stocked, well presented and plenty.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

During my business trips I've visited several different hotels. In Helsinki I find Holiday Inn the best. For me the location is really good but the best part is the cleanines and overall quality. And of course the details. I think Holiday Inn are the only hotels where you can choose your pillow type, and I just love it!

Room Tip: Don't take a room close to elevators (good tip in any hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Holiday Inn in Pasila is a very well located conference hotel, if you're attending anything in the conference complex right next to it. We weren't, but that didn't matter as we were just staying there for one night.

The hotel facilities are in good shape, although you can see the hotel is a bit worn. That didn't matter, though, as the room was clean and the staff very friendly.

The breakfast isn't actually prepared by the hotel, but a Fazer restaurant within the building and it was very good. Definitely one of the better breakfasts I've had in Finland.

There's a parking garage right under the hotel, although a bit tight, there was plenty of free spots when we were there. It's very convenient, as you can take the elevator straight to the reception and to the rooms.

If I'd be going to a conference in Pasila and needing a hotel there, I'd definitely first check the Holiday Inn. If you're going to the city center, you can, the railway station is right next to the hotel, but I'd probably go for a hotel closer to the center.

Room Tip: The view from the hotel north is basically the roof of the conference center. You can't really s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I chose to stay in Pasila, the business district, because it was most convenient for my meeting. It was very quiet but the district is a short but easy ride by either tram or train into Helsinki city centre so I didn't feel at all disadvantaged by staying there.
The staff were friendly and efficient. The accommodation was good, and clean. My bed was comfortable and my pillows were generous.
The food was a surprising highlight. It was excellently cooked and there was a good menu. There was free wifi in the hotel and it was easy to log onto.
All in all, a good stay in a pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#34 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center

Address: Messuaukio 1, Helsinki 00520, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#28 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the business district of Pasila in Helsinki and interconnected to the Helsinki Fair and Conference Center, the Holiday Inn Helsinki hotel is very popular with business and conference travelers as well as leisure travelers. With focus on flawless service, attention to detail, and impressive food and beverage offerings, the hotel s guests will leave with warm memories. The Holiday Inn Helsinki hotel is located just a few minutes from the Helsinki city centre and the beautiful architecture of Helsinki. Many sports and event arenas, such as Hartwall Arena, the Swimming Arena and Finnair Stadium are all close by the Holiday Inn Helsinki. Helsinki city centre: a few minutes by local train, taxi, tram or bus. Helsinki Airport: 20 minutes by taxi. With this perfect location for business and leisure travel, this high-standard hotel offers 244 spacious rooms with complimentary internet connection. The hotel offers free access to Minigym and Finnish sauna. Restaurant & Brasserie Terra Nova serves a wide range of Finnish and International cuisine. The lively bar at the Terra Nova welcomes you for a cocktail or a glass of wine before dinner. The friendly and helpful staff looks forward to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.