We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if attending convention center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Messuaukio 1, Helsinki 00520, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #37 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great if attending convention center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This holiday in is right at the convention center and perfect for those attending an event there. There is an attached restaurant that serves nice food, though pricy. The staff were friendly. Free wifi - just ask at the desk for a code. The desk also loaned us electric plugs to convert our US devices to the European chargers. Breakfast is included and wonderful in variety. Did have some issues with loud neighbors one night, but the staff did go by and ask them to quiet down. Easy tram ride (20 min) to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    84
    38
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
15
10
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband was at the conference centre for 4 days but we found it tedious going back and forth in daytime and then at night to the city on the 20 min tram or taking the train. Next time would stay in the city near train station and let him commute for conf ( he agreed). Hotel clean (rather generic) and OK. Staff friendly and breakfast if included in your rate very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear chris.travelbug,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I recently stayed here for a week-long conference. The hotel was booked by the departmental secretary using a corporate credit card. She e-mailed at the time of booking several months ago to let the hotel know that I wouldn't have the card with me at the time of booking but had no response to this e-mail. On checking in, I was informed that payment could not be taken from this card and they were now planning to charge me the rack rate not the discounted rate originally booked. The reception staff member dealing with us was incredibly rude and did not try to apologise at any point for the problems we were experiencing. We continued to be hassled daily about this payment despite the fact that it was a weekend, and the Monday was a bank holiday so I had told them that noone would be in my department to sort it out. The payment issue was finally sorted out (at full rack rate). The hotel itself is quite old-fashioned although facilities are adequate. It is quite far from the city centre, but has good tram connections. It is also obviously very convenient for the conference centre. The restaurant is overpriced but the staff there were friendly and helpful in preparing something for us which was not on the menu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Nilanjana T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry for the confusion surrounding your reservation and for any inconvenience caused you. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Again, many thanks for the feedback and our apologies for the shortfalls.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Helsinki in June for a conference. Very nice staff throughout the hotel. The price is reasonable for Helsinki. It was unseasonably hot and there was no air conditioning but the staff provided a fan which helped a lot. Excellent public transport to the city center, tram and bus stop directly in front of hotel and the train station is two blocks away and a 10 minute ride to the center. As others have noted, the hotel is a bit isolated but the restaurant serves very good food but the menu is limited. The bar is actually rather inexpensive considering where you are. When we return to Helsinki on holiday, we will probably stay in the center but for a conference, it is hard to beat this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Reasonable price. It is 20 minutes on tram from town centre, but great for business district. Very nice bar and restaurant, but like everything here, its expensive. Rooms are specious and staff are very helpful and friendly. If you are spending £100 for a hostel in the centre, then try this..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Booked executive room 2 nights Friday to Sunday and Sunday 12.00-20.00 .I have to first say i dont understand the policy that you want to leave in the evening and you pay 140euros for 8 hours!Come on! Your hotel in sundays is not full booked.I still recommend this hotel because that was only bad thing.Great cleaning,breakfast,nice room and restaurant with good food and drinks.
Nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Side, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, very good breakfast for reasonable price (91 euro for single big bed room) . Staff is very friendly and helpful.
But there is no good restaurant within reasonable distance (1km).
Recommend for business trips.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#34 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center

Address: Messuaukio 1, Helsinki 00520, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#28 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the business district of Pasila in Helsinki and interconnected to the Helsinki Fair and Conference Center, the Holiday Inn Helsinki hotel is very popular with business and conference travelers as well as leisure travelers. With focus on flawless service, attention to detail, and impressive food and beverage offerings, the hotel s guests will leave with warm memories. The Holiday Inn Helsinki hotel is located just a few minutes from the Helsinki city centre and the beautiful architecture of Helsinki. Many sports and event arenas, such as Hartwall Arena, the Swimming Arena and Finnair Stadium are all close by the Holiday Inn Helsinki. Helsinki city centre: a few minutes by local train, taxi, tram or bus. Helsinki Airport: 20 minutes by taxi. With this perfect location for business and leisure travel, this high-standard hotel offers 244 spacious rooms with complimentary internet connection. The hotel offers free access to Minigym and Finnish sauna. Restaurant & Brasserie Terra Nova serves a wide range of Finnish and International cuisine. The lively bar at the Terra Nova welcomes you for a cocktail or a glass of wine before dinner. The friendly and helpful staff looks forward to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.