We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by housekeeping......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Messuaukio 1, Helsinki 00520, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Chelmsford, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Let down by housekeeping......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is located about 4km outside Helsinki city centre, but easily accessed by tram (7A/B outside the door) or train (Pasila/Bole about 500m). It was perfect for us as we were mainly visiting around the Kapyla area.

Reception staff were very good and always helpful with an excellent command of English as you would expect. Despite being there for a week we had to, on at least 3 occassions, recharge our room cards as they had failed to work (they also operate the lift.)

The thing that let the whole place down is the general room housekeeping. We had left the sign for the room to be cleaned when we were out but was not done for 2 days and for a further day when we mentioned it to reception. Hence that tea/coffee was not replaced either!!

The breakfast buffet was good and should appeal to all tastes. Free wi-fi on the first 2 floors needs to be extended to all rooms. You can use your lap tops in the rooms but not your mobile phone!!

Overall, a good hotel, just could do a little better. This hotel was booked for us by the company we were assisting during our visit. I like some others here, would prefer to stay in the City Centre given the option and travel from there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear EssexMackem,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. We appreciate your wonderful comment regarding our reception staff, breakfast and the Internet connectivity.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the poor housekeeping. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    64
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
9
11
6
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

What you see is what you get: a not so special city hotel, conveniently located near the train station and the city center, with clean rooms and good beds.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Fast and nice check inn, very polite staff. Room was clean, temperatura comfortable, but window is not possibile to open and air condition is not individual. Very good assortment of dishes on a breakfast buffet - everything you can wish. Just one serious problem - price of parking - 18 euro. But very close to hotel is a conference center, large parking, 7,5 euro per day.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

There is nothing positive to say about this hotel. The service was bad, things do not work (for example, the treadmill in the fitness center was broken, as was the safe in my room...it took multiple calls just to get someone to look at the safe, after which they promised to replace it and never did). They technically have room service, but charge 15EUR delivery fee, which is is crazy. We used the hotel for a large meeting, literally spending thousands of euros in total; we had a couple of people who needed to make last minute changes to their dates, and the hotel refused, citing the terms and conditions of our contract. We are working to get this hotel black-listed within our large, multinational company.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vehmas, Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Eric H,
Thank you for staying with us. We are truly sorry that you experienced your stay with us so unpleasant. I agree with you that as we promise something for our guest, we should do our best to keep the promise and find satisfying solution to any problem brought to our attention. We have had a meeting with front desk team and we have discussed about importance of good customer service.

We have had large update at the gym: all equipment at our fitness centre has now been changed. During the summer we have also changed safety boxes in most of the rooms. We are sorry that these updates weren´t made earlier.

You stayed with us as a part of a group that was booked by a travel agency. With travel agency groups our hands are tied and we are not allowed to make modifications or cancellations with guest directly. All the changes must be done through travel agency. When a group is booked directly via our sales department we can be more flexible.

Your feedback will help us improve our services. While we understand that your stay was not satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely
Timo Vehmas
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokia, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had an executive room, which was very nice.

Pity about the clueless person "welcoming" us in the reception. Otherwise, would have given five stars. She was like a robot with canned speech pre-recorded. She asked us if we had stayed at the hotel previously and when we told her we had not, did not enlighten us in any way. She could not or would not advice us on how the parking system worked causing us delays and gray hair. Ok, maybe not gray hair though. (The next person we asked about stuff & parking was very helpful!)

Lovely room with three bottles of free water and one (tiny) bar of free chocolate. Two pillows, on softer, one firmer, and information of three other kinds available on request! (Hah! But I *always* travel with my own neck pillow!) A free newspaper waiting us in the morning.

Very nice breakfast!

Air conditioing you could adjust in the room - in my other reviews I´ve mentioned how often there is just some kind of "central" air conditioning and you cannot choose whether your room is + 20 or 25 C! To my mind, most of the hotel rooms I´ve stayed in Finland have been too hot by far, especially for nighttime. I sleep best in a cool room, with a window open, if possible. Here, that wasn´t a problem. Bliss!

Well-stocked bathroom with tiny tootbrush set, shaving set, sewing set...everything you usually need to ask for specifically in the reception.

Coffee machine in the corridor. (Hubby loved this, and kept on enjoying lattes etc!) Also ice machine in the corridor.

We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I've spend two nights in the hotel at the beginning of the June. Room was pretty good, big and clean, bathroom also... For breakfast you have great selection of food and beverage.
Location of the hotel is ideal - not far away from the airport and the city centre and there is good transportation around it. And if you like ironing, you will have an opportunity…
It was amazing that all night you have day light! I knew it, but it is worth to have experience on that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at this hotel as I got a 2-for-1 rate.
Location is very good, very central and close to the train station. Our room was facing the bus terminal and I thought it was going to be noisy, being a Saturday night, however it was not.
Service was very good, staff spoke good English, room was clean and with a good size.
The bathroom was a bit dated as I could see stains on the sink and the shower, but it was clean. Wifi speed was good and if you have a fidelity member card you don't pay for wifi. Just fill in the form and you're set.
There are supermarkets very close to it and there are breakfast places about 5 min walk.
Since it was a 2-for-1 it was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center

Address: Messuaukio 1, Helsinki 00520, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the business district of Pasila in Helsinki and interconnected to the Helsinki Fair and Conference Center, the Holiday Inn Helsinki hotel is very popular with business and conference travelers as well as leisure travelers. With focus on flawless service, attention to detail, and impressive food and beverage offerings, the hotel s guests will leave with warm memories.The Holiday Inn Helsinki hotel is located just a few minutes from the Helsinki city centre and the beautiful architecture of Helsinki. Many sports and event arenas, such as Hartwall Arena, the Swimming Arena and Finnair Stadium are all close by the Holiday Inn Helsinki. Helsinki city centre: a few minutes by taxi, tram or bus. Helsinki Airport: 20 minutes by taxi.With this perfect location for business and leisure travel, this high-standard hotel offers 244 spacious rooms with complimentary internet connection. The hotel offers free access to Minigym and Finnish sauna. The Holiday Inn Helsinki has an entire floor with special attention and care taken for people with allergies. Recently renovated Restaurant & Brasserie Terra Nova serves a wide range of Finnish and International cuisine. The lively bar at the Terra Nova welcomes you for a cocktail or a glass of wine before dinner.The friendly and helpful staff looks forward to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.